Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read - I've become a Diamond fan
First Sentence: An alert shattered the silence in Harrods, a piercing, continuous note.

Ex-CID Peter Diamond missed seeing a small Japanese girl hiding in the furniture department of Harrods, resulting in his being fired. He can't forget the girl, particularly after finding out she doesn't speak, is being labeled autistic and no one has claimed her...
Published on 4 Jan. 2010 by L. J. Roberts

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as entertaining as book one
The second Peter Diamond mystery is quite different to the first. Diamond is working as a security guard in a page shop when he tumbles into a mystery surrounding a found child.

The first book had a classic crime-novel plot but was written in an interestingly different style. This one has an interestingly different plot, but reads more like a traditional...
Published 16 months ago by Jim J-R


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read - I've become a Diamond fan, 4 Jan. 2010
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Diamond Solitaire (Hardcover)
First Sentence: An alert shattered the silence in Harrods, a piercing, continuous note.

Ex-CID Peter Diamond missed seeing a small Japanese girl hiding in the furniture department of Harrods, resulting in his being fired. He can't forget the girl, particularly after finding out she doesn't speak, is being labeled autistic and no one has claimed her.

Japan's top sumo wrestler offers unlimited funds to Diamond for finding the girl's family, but she is kidnapped by a woman, later found murdered. Diamond is committed to finding the girl's family and learning why is so important to someone.

As relevant today as when it was written, Lovesey presents a depressing, but realistic analysis of the pharmaceutical industrial.

Peter Diamond is great character. A big, fat man with a soft heart who is self-effacing, loves his very understanding wife, is dogged in pursuit of his case and tough as a diamond when he needs to be.

The story was completely engrossing in spite of a couple small bumps. There was an error of equating a derby with a trilby hat (very different styles) and a major premise that was a bit questionable. However, the sense of place, dialogue, suspense and action were very good.

I am delighted to know many more Diamond books await me.

DIAMOND SOLITAIRE (Unl. Inv.- Peter Diamond-England/NYC/China-Cont) - VG
Lovesey, Peter - 2nd in series
Mysterious Press, 1992, US Hardcover - ISBN: 0892965355
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Japan, New York and Harrods, 11 Jun. 2010
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Peter Diamond is working as a security guard at Harrods in London when a small Japanese girl sparks a security alert when she is discovered hiding in the furniture department. Diamond gets the sack and the girl is taken into care because her parents cannot be traced. That should be the end of Diamond's involvement in the story but he is puzzled by the fact that no one has come forward to claim her and that she doesn't speak. He manages to talk his way into the special school where she is being cared for - it is thought she is Autistic - and starts to build a tenuous relationship with the girl.

What follows is a fast paced story involving a trip to New York and an equally sudden trip to Japan as Diamond follows Naomi - as she has been named - when she is snatched by a Japanese lady following a TV appearance. There are some memorable characters including the silent Naomi and a Sumo wrestler. I thought the relationship between Diamond and Naomi was very well done and extremely touching. Diamond of course was just how he was when he was in the police force - tenacious and curious and definitely not taking no for an answer but also very charming when he wants to be.

This is a well written story not quite in the usual vein of police procedurals with a very complicated plot which few readers will unravel before the exciting conclusion. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as entertaining as book one, 28 Oct. 2013
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diamond Solitaire (Peter Diamond series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The second Peter Diamond mystery is quite different to the first. Diamond is working as a security guard in a page shop when he tumbles into a mystery surrounding a found child.

The first book had a classic crime-novel plot but was written in an interestingly different style. This one has an interestingly different plot, but reads more like a traditional novel. There were key moments though where the plot became unbelievable, and I found it hard to stay engaged, particularly through one large deus ex machina which makes the rest of the plot work.

Having said that, it's where this plot device kicks in that the plot starts to pick up the pace and get interesting - it starts very slowly, and I wondered for a while whether the slow pace was going to continue throughout. There are some interesting character moments in the first half, but it doesn't make up for the unequal distribution of action.

This novel really didn't grip me as well as the first, and I'm not sure at this point whether I'm going to continue reading the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Solitaire (Peter Diamond series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Struggled to finish this - only reading it as I wanted to read the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Solitaire (Peter Diamond series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A great fan of Peter Lovesey says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'll be going back for more, 17 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Diamond Solitaire (Peter Diamond series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A prominent female author recently said that there are far too many indie publications and that their continuing popularity was causing standards to fall. I've had a couple of disappointing indie reads of late and thus turned to this novel by an author with a long-standing reputation.

I enjoyed the story featuring former policeman Peter Diamond, who can't seem to keep away from investigating. There are two very distinct threads here : some strange goings-on at an international pharma company and the case of a seemingly autistic girl Diamond feels obliged to look after.

Lovesey does extremely well to bring the threads together. The story is both well-written and well-developed. There is a bit which is a little too convenient and, at times, one needs to stretch the imagination to accept what is going on.

But there is nothing outlandish here as a caring yet awkward and difficult former policeman tries to do the right thing by a child in need. This is a colourfully written novel which doesn't rely on technology, super-human effort, nonsense or other props to make it work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, 11 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Solitaire (Peter Diamond series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second in the Peter Diamond Mystery series and I found it more enjoyable than the first. It is what I call easy reading! I shall read the next in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He rally is a great thriller writer and keeps you guessing right to the, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Solitaire (Peter Diamond series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
this was my second Peter Lovesey book. He rally is a great thriller writer and keeps you guessing right to the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start of a terrific series, 4 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
Diamond is (if you'll excuse the pun) a gem. Like Dalziel, he is a very human detective, flawed and often short-tempered, but the books are a real pleasure and should appeal to anyone who enjoys Reginald Hill, Charlie Pawson or Ian Robinson.
I assume that the one-star reviewer intended to be more generous, since his review is actually very positive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Lovesey, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond Solitaire (Peter Diamond series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Totally hooked on Peter Lovesey. Have read them all back to from the 'Last Detective'. Won't know what to do with myself once I've read every Peter Diamond
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews