Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read
Felix Riley was interviewed on my local BBC radio station recently and I was intrigued by what he had to say about the recent/current banking crisis. He has a background in banking and his insight into the practices and attitudes in that sector gives him a wonderful base for this book. I was constantly wondering where reality ended and fiction began - and that is both...
Published 22 months ago by Reg Pearce

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A long-winded thriller
This novel starts well with some good action sequences, but it soon becomes bogged down with too much explanatory detail about banking and its connections - well-known to many readers, no doubt - to organised crime. There are some torture scenes that are unnecessarly detailed and very sadistic and, therefore, off-putting to the normal reader. But this 'thriller' is far...
Published on 23 Oct 2012 by Chris Ludlow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Inside Job, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inside Job (Kindle Edition)
First time experience of this author. Really enjoyed it. Plenty of action and interesting people. A plot very appropriate in todays banking chaos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inside Job (Kindle Edition)
Felix Riley was interviewed on my local BBC radio station recently and I was intrigued by what he had to say about the recent/current banking crisis. He has a background in banking and his insight into the practices and attitudes in that sector gives him a wonderful base for this book. I was constantly wondering where reality ended and fiction began - and that is both worrying and fascinating. Don't hesitate to buy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars james bond meets the saint, 5 April 2013
This review is from: The Inside Job (Kindle Edition)
fast paced special agent action not quite 007 as a bit dark like the saint. up to date banker type stuff which makes us normal people quite cross. could not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would make agreat movie!, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inside Job (Kindle Edition)
Byrne is a supercop! The story stays credible and it would translate well to the silver screen. Highly recommended if you want action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 16 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Inside Job (Paperback)
I met Felix Riley at a Literary Event and liked his talk. Bought his book which he signed. Usually I read two books at a time, picking the one to satisfy my mood at the time. This book I read without putting it down, because it is a well researched illumination of the tricks that bankers are getting up to. Strong plot, great characters and plenty of action. The only negative for me was the absence of action in the love/sex scenes, which seemed to be glossed over pretty rapidly. I guess Secret Service agents don't have much time for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inside Job (Kindle Edition)
Flex Riley takes you on a journey that your happy to go along.
You actually find yourself cheering for the hero.
A good fast pace story I enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncanny phrophetic gripping tale - right on the nail, 5 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inside Job (Paperback)
Felix Riley seems to have an uncanny ability to foretell what is unfolding right now in the Banking Industry (but hopefully not the violence) and kept me reading well into the early hours with a mixture of bloodcurdling terror, admiration for his eye opening rationalisation of how deeply immoral that industry has become, and enjoyment of his colourful characters. Really excellent and can't wait for his next topic that I hope will be a thriller about uncovering the sordid underside of the ruling elite from Florida to Azerbaijan - and all the seedy spots of corruption in between, or the role of the plutocrats in mugging democracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 13 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Inside Job (Paperback)
Just finished reading this and I loved it. It's as good as any thriller on the action/excitement front but what I really liked was the plot. The whole dynamic of Byrne and his colleagues having to defend bankers whom they don't particularly like creates a great tension and without wanting to ruin it for people the cross-over of the banking world and the gangster world is superbly conceived. Best thriller I've read in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a thriller with a message, 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inside Job (Paperback)
I was looking forward to Felix Riley's follow on from 'The Set Up' and was not disappointed. His hero Mike Byrne is in action again and the world of finance provides the background. A very fast moving action packed thriller combined with excellent explanations of how the banks have ripped us off and a bit of love interest. Once you've started it you wont want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent page turner from Felix Riley, 6 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inside Job (Paperback)
Having loved The Set Up I was eagerly awaiting Felix Riley's second novel and definitely was not disappointed. Another fantastic page turner. The Mexican drug element couldn't be more up to date, and ditto the bankers bonuses. The author manages to educate us as well as taking us on a thrilling adventure with fantastic characters. Well done Mr Riley. Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Inside Job
The Inside Job by Felix Riley
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews