Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (167)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


106 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A detective with a difference
I enjoy detective dramas and I was intrigued by this one, and it did not disappoint. The character of Salvo (Montalbano) is portrayed so well by Luca Zingaretti as a man whose personal life falls apart whilst the demands and obsessions of his work as a police inspector take him over completely. Well, not completely - food also has a strong grip on his passions (an...
Published on 1 Nov. 2012 by Marie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Series finally now spoiled by Catarella's predictable crashing into Montalbano's door
The Montalbano series has a lot going for it but we have now stopped viewing it for one simple reason alone: The Catarella character with his predictable and repeatedly crashing into Montalbano's office door, claiming he has slipped. As if that was comical. Once may have been slightly funny but 3 times in many episodes is too much too take. It has simply become...
Published 3 months ago by Phillip Marlowe


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

106 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A detective with a difference, 1 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Montalbano: Series One (5 Disc DVD) (DVD)
I enjoy detective dramas and I was intrigued by this one, and it did not disappoint. The character of Salvo (Montalbano) is portrayed so well by Luca Zingaretti as a man whose personal life falls apart whilst the demands and obsessions of his work as a police inspector take him over completely. Well, not completely - food also has a strong grip on his passions (an invitation on New Year's eve by his housekeeper proves more attractive than a trip to Paris with his lover, Livia ('Adelina's cooking Arangini, and I have to go to Paris!')

He is driven by a strong sense of justice for the victims and he will not allow political pressure to deter him from getting to the truth, yet paradoxically he can lie to Livia with no qualms. Livia will always find him out, but she says 'You get away with it because you know what makes me happy'.

If you like humour with your detective stories, and you appreciate the beauty of Sicily, seasoned with a dash or two of Italian passion served on a bed of Mafia corruption , I recommend Montalbano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem, 13 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Montalbano: Series One (5 Disc DVD) (DVD)
I caught Series 2 on BBC4 by accident...what a gem, so when the complete series one box set of DVD's came out I had to get it and I'm glad to say it doesn't disappoint.
Although it has English subtitles, I find the native language adds to the atmosphere, together with the sunny Sicilian locations and great characters. It may not be to everyone's taste so try and catch an episode on TV or iplayer first.
The perfect antidote to the X factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Montalbano is engaging- honest, decent, loyal & has his own way of doing things, 3 Dec. 2012
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Inspector Montalbano: Series One (5 Disc DVD) (DVD)
Our Inspector Salvo Montalbano, who works in the fictional town of "Vigàta", in the equally fictional district of "Montelusa" in Sicily. Where the Sun is bright and life treads at a different pace, amongst classic bleached white villages and towns that would look out of place in a tourist guide book. In this almost Mediterranean idle there is darkness, decay and at times murder.

He and the members of Vigata's small police force, namely Mimì Augello, Montalbano's second-in-charge, Fazio, Gallo, Galluzzo and the incredibly stupid yet very likeable Catarella, who mans the station's phones, among other minor tasks. While his whole team have suffered from his out bursts, and sometime strange management style he cares for them and in turn they are all very loyal to him, none more so than his girlfriend of 8 plus years. Salvo is a foodie, with a passion, and he rarely permits anything to get between him and good meal, including other social commitments. He is also an avid swimmer; so much so, his apartment is set on the beach front. While his girlfriend, Livia, has to compete with his detective work, we find in the latter series that he will take Livia on a short romantic holiday, although he is using this pretext to further his investigations. He also brings the new love of his life, in the form of a big black shaggy dog. As it turns out, this dog is the key to his latest case.
Luca Zingaretti who plays the major role really brings the detective to life; his characterisation for me is spot on. His case work always varied, and never what you would expect to happen happens - there are red herrings and misdirection!
In Salvo's work nothing is black and white; mainly his cases are in the grey zone. As one reviewer put it his cases do not have happy endings, while his investigations sometimes leads to organized crime, his stories rarely get totally focused on the Mafia rather they are part of the landscape and environment of where he works in and around.

The last few years have seen a plethora of foreign detective series from around Europe each series of any real credit brings fresh cultural nuances, behaviour and identity of their own. After years of British and American detective series these shows, are like a new revelation. While some may hate subtitles I can assure you that to see and hear these shows as they were originally broadcast is always best and I find them all the more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest men in a dishonest world., 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Montalbano: Series One (5 Disc DVD) (DVD)
Montalbano and his team try to be honest men in a dishonest and corrupt Sicilian world. The crimes are often dark, complex and absorbing. The TV series follows the books fairly closely and captures Andrea Camilleri's atmospheric story telling.
Luca Zingaretti's Montalbano is younger, fitter and less grumpy than the book version, he also has some wonderful facial expressions, especially if deprived of food! Catarella is also more likeable.
The picture format is 15/16x9 letterbox (RAI seems to have been a late adopter of genuine widescreen).The picture quality improves markedly over the first four episodes.
The series is very entertaining indeed, the complexities of the stories means, that they can be watched several times, each viewing revealing something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking stories, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Montalbano: Series One (5 Disc DVD) (DVD)
Loved the couple of stories I originally saw on the tv.
Found out that all the stories were avialable on Amazon so ordered this set. Yes I know that they are sub titled but thats part of the pleasure also the setting is great.
Camilleri's writes a great detective story, so much so I have ordered a couple of epubs to read the original translated stories.
Think I might go visit the island for a holliday some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rather like the Swedish Wallander, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Montalbano: Series One (5 Disc DVD) (DVD)
Rather like the Swedish Wallander, I discovered Inspector Montalbano thanks to BBC Four, who have aired at least the first two series. I bought series 1 and 2 on the back of that, simply in order to enjoy them again. I confess I have not read the books, so my review is purely based on the TV series here and so I watched these with no pre-conceptions. Great story lines (although 1 or 2 are tricky to follow with sub-titles - I'm not sure Italian always translates into English too well - probably more to do with culture and subtlety than actual language). I clearly need to improve my very limited Italian, so I could appreciate them more. However, a lack of Italian is no barrier to enjoying these episodes. Montalbano has a great cast of characters: the womanising Augello; the younger and less experienced Fazio with a keen eye for detail, the clumsy, but loyal and eventually life-saving Catarella, Livia (Montalbano's girlfriend played by the lovely Katharina Böhm) and not forgetting Luca Zingaretti in the title role, with a wonderful slightly over-the-top performance. The plot lines are good and the Sicilian architecture, scenery and sunshine that provides the backdrop is wonderful. There is great pathos in these films combined with humour. I love the Italian atmosphere they create so well: a great love of food and appreciation of the joys of life (here of course together with it's dark side) that could only be Italian. Quite unique and quite wonderful. Pure magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining viewing, 19 Oct. 2012
By 
Bibliophile (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Montalbano: Series One (5 Disc DVD) (DVD)
I missed the TV showing of the first series and only caught it as the second series started.
I probably watch it mainly to enjoy the sunshine and light of Sicily. Enjoy the various characters, but there never seem to be many people about!
Montelbano is a very different character to other Italian police I have come across in literature and on TV. I quite like the way in which you have to work out the Italian legal system, rather than having it spelled out for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
This review is from: Inspector Montalbano: Series One (5 Disc DVD) (DVD)
I was given SeriesOne for Christmas as I enjoy the books. I have tried to make them last as long as possible, still have one to watch, they are a wonderful antidote to the bitter weather. Inspector Montalbano is compassionate, intuitive, funny, brilliant, the setting is glorious and the crimes exciting. The rest of the police force are entertaining and the dvds have all been perfect. A fabulous Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Montalbano: Series One, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Montalbano: Series One (5 Disc DVD) (DVD)
If you saw Series Two on BBC 4 and missed Series One this is a must. All the same characters Mimi, Fazio,the downtroden Livia, and of course Salvo. Ten episodes and worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars montelbano beginning, 3 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector Montalbano: Series One (5 Disc DVD) (DVD)
Brilliant value, well worth the view if you enjoyed series 2. These dvd's have all the background that make up what Salvo is in series 2. Small town Italian life bang on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inspector Montalbano: Series One (5 Disc DVD)
Inspector Montalbano: Series One (5 Disc DVD) by Luca Zingaretti (DVD - 2012)
£24.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews