Customer Reviews


254 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch Mike work his magic ...
'Magic Mike' works on a construction site by day and as a stripper by night, but what he really want to do to start his own furniture business. When new boy in town Adam (The Kid) joins the dance troupe, Mike also meets and gets to know Adam's sister. She likes him but not his stripper lifestyle ...

This is an extremely enjoyable film. Yes, it has hot guys with...
Published 23 months ago by Pink-Lady

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Magic Mike? Don't know about Mike but there is no magic in this film!
If it wasn't for Matthew McConaughey, Channing Tatum, Matt Bomer and Alex Pettyfer taking their shirts off to show off their great toned bodies, there would be literally nothing to watch in this movie.

I am giving it a single star merely for the fact that you do get to see some fit bodies and good looking guys. Nothing else. Essentially, it's a film about a...
Published 17 months ago by Chatterbox


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch Mike work his magic ..., 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: Magic Mike [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
'Magic Mike' works on a construction site by day and as a stripper by night, but what he really want to do to start his own furniture business. When new boy in town Adam (The Kid) joins the dance troupe, Mike also meets and gets to know Adam's sister. She likes him but not his stripper lifestyle ...

This is an extremely enjoyable film. Yes, it has hot guys with fit bodies and amazing dance routines. But also an enjoyable story too. The seedier side of this life is touched on but does not take over the film. Channing Tatum is amazing in this and he can certainly move, and of course we know this is loosely based on his time as a real-life stripper. Alex Pettifer and Matthew McConnaughey are also very good.

Easy watching, enjoyable and full of guys who are easy on the eye. Great entertainment! The DVD even has some extended dance scenes and a dance play mode where you can watch just the dance routines. What's not to like?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magic Mike [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Well, where should I begin. I knew this film was going to be pretty sexy, but I still wasn't prepared for the heat that From the very first time I saw the trailer, I knew that this was a film I had to see. Four extremely hot strippers? Hell yes. When I found out that Magic Mike is in fact, in part, based up Channing Tatum's own experiences as a 19 year old stripper, I was even more intrigued by this film. Whilst on the surface this may look like a superficial film designed to attract women to their local cinemas for a legalised strip show, there are actually some deeper themes explored within this movie. Tatum's character is one who is only in the stripping industry to earn money so that he can start up his own business, so it's not all about women, money and sex.

The story is basically about a guy, Adam, a slacker who moves to Tampa to find work whilst sleeping on his sister's couch. On his first day of work at a construction site, he meets Mike, who is less than pleased to be working with him. The very same evening, Adam is wandering the streets and bumps into Mike outside a club and after a some persuasion, Mike agrees to get Adam in. Mike decides to string Adam along, subtley getting him to help draw in customers for that night's show in return for a little money. When Adam finds out what sort of business Mike is in, he's startled to say the least, but after a small taste in the limelight and lots of money to show for it, Adam decides to give it a real go. Mike and Adam soon become the best of buds, but it's not long before they run into some trouble.

The acting was absolutely brilliant in this film, not to mention the tantalisingly sexy dancing. Channing Tatum is well known for his epic dance skills having appeared in numerous Step Up movies and the like, but he really surpassed himself with these cool and sexy moves and I honestly do not understand how he can make his body move the way he does. Tatum has really shown himself to be an incredibly talented actor of late, being able to pull off sexy, cool and funny but also, serious, moving and thoughtful. I was a little dubious about the dancing/stripping skills of Alex Pettyfer and Matthew McConaughey, but they showed audiences that they're not afraid to take their clothes off and get down and dirty either. Matthew McConaughey might be getting on in years, but he's still as sexy as ever. You can see that Alex Pettyfer is trying very hard to move away from any sort of movie aimed at teeangers as he's played quite hardcore bad boys in his recent films. I was quite impressed by the level of maturity that he was able to convey through his character, Adam, and I'm sure that we'll be seeing him taking on roles in even bigger and even more mature films in the future.

If you're one of those people that can't even say the word 'sex' without getting extremely hot and bothered, then this definitely isn't the film for you. My seventeen year old friend who is the most naive and sexually-clueless being to ever walk the earth came out of this film extremely flustered, repeating 'there was humping'. If you think you're one of those people, don't watch this movie, you will probably die of embarassment about half way through the film. If, on the other hand, you love watching guys taking their clothes off and getting hot and sweaty, then this is the movie for you. A considerably large part of this film is dedicated to their 'performances' and the like so prepare to be fully entertained! The dances are brilliantly choreagraphed and executed perfectly. Now I have absolutely no issues with on screen sex or nudity, but even I was slightly taken aback at some of the 'dance' moves. This movie really is very, very sexual. Whilst the first part is all fun and games, things start to get serious in the second half as Adam runs into trouble and Mike finds himself caught up in it too. Mike isn't in the industry because he's too lazy to find a real job, on the contrary, he's doing it because it pays well and he's saving up so that he can start his own furniture business. As the film goes on, you can see that Mike is becoming less and less satisfied with his night time job and this is where the 'deeper' elements of the film come in. These parts allow Tatum to showcase another side to acting, which is the complete opposite of the funny, sexy Mike from the first half.

All in all, I was really impressed with Magic Mike. One of the only reasons I went to see it was because it looked so damn entertaining, but in fact there was actually a deeper story running underneath those naked bodies. I was slightly disappointed at the end of the movie because I didn't feel like that film had really come to close, but there will be a sequel, so hopefully we'll find out a bit more about where Adam and Mike end up later on. I would highly recommend this movie if you're in the mood to be entertained because it's laugh-out-loud funny but also heartbreaking at times. The acting is absolutely spot on and the dancing is pure perfection so this film is real quality, despite its sleazy look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MAGIC MIKE directed by Steven Soderbergh, 2 Oct 2014
This review is from: Magic Mike [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
A male stripper finds his life in crisis after he takes a young man under his wing.

On the surface this is a glossy film about male strippers: the drugs, the easy sex, the Florida sunshine and the all-night partying. The routines themselves are inventive and well staged if symbolic of a degraded culture.

Underneath that however it's a much more interesting film about the intersection of sex, capitalism and masculinity in the modern world (even if the original script was more explicit about these, with far more detail).

So the protagonist is a man who finds himself selling images (stripping is sex without the reality or the connection) because traditional jobs like furniture-making and roofing don't pay...until the images fades.

Similarly, his life of casual sex only leads to him being betrayed or discovering that he doesn't care (not enough to remember names anyway). The climax of the film therefore is the beginning of a real emotional relationship, not sex.

As ever with Soderbergh, it's a nicely calibrated film that's well shot if slightly too emotionally cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magic Matt more like, 2 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. A. J. Richards "yourbiteall" (Weston Super Mare) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic Mike [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
To all heterosexual men...get past the whole 'I can not put myself through this because its men in thongs dancing so it must make me something i am not' approach..and you may just find yourself engrossed in a light, art disguised as a frothy blockbuster little drama with lashings of surreal and hilarious comedic moments. The dance scenes are, not only expertly shot from an asthetic technical standpoint, but are absolutely side splitingly funny.

The story however is not as deep or as philosophical as it thinks it is or as Soderbergh thinks he can make it but it is slightly more enticing than your average rom-com lets say. And kudos to Channing Tatum, who for someone i have unjustly discriminated against in the past, really is quite fantastic in this. Not to mention Matthew McConaughey who is sensational as a 'T.J. Mackey light' person of some merit to the scripts neat dialogue.

Magic Mike isn't revelatory but it does feel somewhat real and fluent in telling a basic rags to riches story and then turning that idea on it's head near the end. Theres too much titillation in this medium.. so, hell!, its time the ladies enjoyed the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Magic Mike? Don't know about Mike but there is no magic in this film!, 16 July 2013
This review is from: Magic Mike [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If it wasn't for Matthew McConaughey, Channing Tatum, Matt Bomer and Alex Pettyfer taking their shirts off to show off their great toned bodies, there would be literally nothing to watch in this movie.

I am giving it a single star merely for the fact that you do get to see some fit bodies and good looking guys. Nothing else. Essentially, it's a film about a male stripper (Tatum) who decided he wants something more out of life than taking his shirt off. Yes, it could have been more promising than this film but, in the end, what it did show was that there is only so deep that a stripper can get, which isn't very deep at all. Trust me, if it wasn't for Channing Tatum's great body and good looks, there would be no magic in Magic Mike at all.

No offence to strippers. I am not saying that strippers can't search for meaning in their lives or have their own dreams. All I am saying is that, in this movie, there is no depth and all characters are so shallow, they could drown in a saucer. Not recommended at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Pants Dance, 29 July 2012
This review is from: Magic Mike [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
It is a truth universally acknowledged that there are few things more entertaining in this world than good-looking men enthusiastically ripping off a pair of tearaway trousers. It's just funny.

Plot, character, meaning, blah. Tearaway trousers. Sexy dancing. A sense of humour. I fully intend to wear my copy of this DVD out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrendous, 5 April 2014
This review is from: Magic Mike (DVD)
Bad acting, no plot, no good - what a waste of time - kept hoping it would get better but it only got worse, what a stinker!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more please!!!, 25 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Mike [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I saw this film at the cinema with a group of friends, and we all loved it!!! OMG, fit bods abound, cute guys, funny lines, and oh, yeh there was a storyline in there too!!! I pre-ordered my copy and am eagerly awaiting it to arrive. Especially if there are 'extended' scenes (fnar fnar!!) and outtakes! Cant wait!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 29 Sep 2014
By 
DOUBLE 'L' (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Magic Mike [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I watched this last night on Channel 4. I think it's always an indication if a film makes it onto TV within a short space of time from it's release date that it isn't going to be very good.

I'm not much of a fan of Channing (I don't think he's much of an actor) but I do like Matthew McConaughey and he was the only thing that kept me watching...just!

The lead actress was terrible and plainly miscast. I gave it 2 stars for the dancing but there is really no particular storyline. What they call in the business 'a turkey'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so magic - more melodramatic, 16 Dec 2012
This review is from: Magic Mike [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I like most of the actors in this film and it was delivered quickly. However the plot was dull, the script was predictable and equally boring, acting was flat & dance routines weren't anything special. Don't expect fireworks or entertainment, it could & should have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic Mike [DVD] [2012]
Magic Mike [DVD] [2012] by Steven Soderbergh (DVD - 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews