Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous Value
I have lots of books on relativity: many at advanced undergraduate level, some graduate level. I learnt GR in the first place by working through the final chapters of Schaum's 'Vector Analysis' - curvilinear co-ordinates and basic tensor analysis before enjoying working through all of Foster and Nightingale's 'Short Course', Schutz's 'First Course in GR' and then...
Published 5 months ago by Andi H

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Once again the Kindle digital book format fails, as ...
Once again the Kindle digital book format fails, as the equations are just too small to be readable, especially the subscripts and superscripts. A pity, as so far I am impressed by this book. I may buy the print edition.
This is not the first time I have bought a Kindle book that is unreadable. The format is only suitable for text.
Published 5 months ago by Mr. C. M. J. Little


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly rare case of complex science explained in simple terms., 29 Nov. 2014
By 
T. A. Bentley "Terry" (Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Most Incomprehensible Thing: Notes Towards a Very Gentle Introduction to the Mathematics of Relativity (Kindle Edition)
The most incomprehensible thing about this book is how it makes the maths so comprehensible. I have been struggling to get to grips with similar maths for work reasons and this book has incidentally been a great aid, as well as a fantastic read. I very rarely write reviews but I felt I had to for this truly amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book I have been looking for.
Simple, concise and complete (fully solved problems very appreciated).

Probably the best way out there to get a basic understanding of General Relativity, especially for full-time professionals that do not have much time to study graduate books directly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars equations and tables so I recommend buying the paperback version (I don't think people can ..., 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thanks to Peter Collier (the author) for providing people with an opportunity to understand relativity as simply and cheaply as possible. He has managed to publish 300+ top quality pages at a budget price through typsetting the book himself using LaTeX. The book contains a lot of diagrams, equations and tables so I recommend buying the paperback version (I don't think people can expect a good reading experience with the kindle version, which seems to be supported by the one-star reviews). The book has excellent coverage of a lot of mathematics topics which is worth the price of the book alone, before it even touches on relativity. Many people could take something useful from this book, e.g. school mathematics students, university physics students, engineers, scientists, or anyone who is interested in this important subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Most Incomprehensible Thing: Notes Towards a Very Gentle Introduction to the Mathematics of Relativity (Kindle Edition)
Amazingly well put together, comprehensive from start to end. I admit I didn't understand all of it but then how many people really do? If you are studying relativity, astrophysics or cosmology then go for it. Also very readable preamble on the supporting maths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars but very good so far, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Most Incomprehensible Thing: Notes Towards a Very Gentle Introduction to the Mathematics of Relativity (Kindle Edition)
Still working my way through it, but very good so far, everything very clear and well laid out. Though latest update of kindle on android seems to have made the equations very small, the kindle itself is fine though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Recommend whole-heartedly, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Most Incomprehensible Thing: Notes Towards a Very Gentle Introduction to the Mathematics of Relativity (Kindle Edition)
Excellent. Recommend whole-heartedly. Very good nice clear style. It brings within reach lots of mathematics and physics.
Just exactly what I'd hoped it would be.

There is an issue with the typesetting of the mathematics.

The paperback edition is just fine . The Kindle edition is barely readable - but a strain on my old eyes. Kindle edition on a non Kindle device is pretty well unreadable for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehending the incomprehensible, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Most Incomprehensible Thing: Notes Towards a Very Gentle Introduction to the Mathematics of Relativity (Kindle Edition)
Always wanted to understand the general theory. A unique book. Well done the author. Only three months to read and only 118 pages of written notes. Now for a second reading for complete understanding. A gargantuan effort to the summit but we'll worth the view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best book on general relativity ever, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Most Incomprehensible Thing: Notes Towards a Very Gentle Introduction to the Mathematics of Relativity (Kindle Edition)
This book clearly explains many ideas in gr which others rarely give. I cannot praise it enough.
Some of the basic maths I did not need but appreciate that others will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MOST EXCELLENTLY written physics book, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Most Incomprehensible Thing: Notes Towards a Very Gentle Introduction to the Mathematics of Relativity (Kindle Edition)
For years I have tryed to find a book on this subject that cover it like this one does. This book covers the topic from the ground up, unlike many books on this subject that seem to believe you have (or should have) a range of knowledge on certain areas already. But it does not stop with just the very simple stuff it keeps going to give a great general covering of subject.

What realy makes this book special is the way it is written and the tone it is written in. I hope that Peter Collier is writing another book (on physics or any other subject).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Once again the Kindle digital book format fails, as ..., 17 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. C. M. J. Little (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Most Incomprehensible Thing: Notes Towards a Very Gentle Introduction to the Mathematics of Relativity (Kindle Edition)
Once again the Kindle digital book format fails, as the equations are just too small to be readable, especially the subscripts and superscripts. A pity, as so far I am impressed by this book. I may buy the print edition.
This is not the first time I have bought a Kindle book that is unreadable. The format is only suitable for text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews