Customer Reviews


1,701 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,353)
4 star:
 (245)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it days on the tin
It's an HDMI cable. It's a long one. It's a cheap one. So if you want a long HDMI cable at minimal cost that will work just as well as any other cable, then this is what you want.

There's no need to be misled by monstrous claims that some HDMI cables are better than others at transmitting your data; that's just a combination of marketing and ignorance of basic...
Published 15 months ago by Mark Goodge

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I brought these cables to eliminate the need for all my appliances to be hard wired to my router like amazon claim
THIS ITEM DOES NOT DO AS ADVERTISED, I brought these cables to eliminate the need for all my appliances to be hard wired to my router like amazon claim, I wanted to use this cable on my PlayStation 4 so I could get rid of the connected Ethernet cable, I could not get the internet going through it, took it to my local Sony store where my friend works, they could not get it...
Published 6 months ago by Mr Richard Edgington


‹ Previous | 1 2171 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it days on the tin, 2 Dec. 2013
By 
Mark Goodge (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable 25 Feet / 7.6 m Supports Ethernet, 3D, Audio Return (Electronics)
It's an HDMI cable. It's a long one. It's a cheap one. So if you want a long HDMI cable at minimal cost that will work just as well as any other cable, then this is what you want.

There's no need to be misled by monstrous claims that some HDMI cables are better than others at transmitting your data; that's just a combination of marketing and ignorance of basic physics. The only two things where paying more can get you better quality are a) the standard of construction (how likely is it that the cable and its connectors will fall apart), and b) how thin the cable is.

Despite being cheap, this cable is well-made and robust, so you're unlikely to experience any problems on that score. The only thing that gives it away as being a budget product is that it is fairly thick and inflexible by comparison with some. If that matters to you, then something a bit more expensive may be more appropriate. But for a situation where flexibility isn't hugely important (such as a permanent connection between two items that don't move much) then this is perfectly fine. If all you care about is getting ones and zeros from one end of a wire to another, then this will do the job with absolutely no problems at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, good quality and future proof, 20 Dec. 2014
By 
leftfooter "leftfooter" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have had several AmazonBasics products before, and always found them good. These cables are no exception. They come in a simple padded envelope and the only packaging is small plastic caps to protect the plugs on the end. As noted by many other reviewers, since HDMI is a digital signal, you do not need super-duper expensive cables to get 100% perfect transmission. These ones will do the job, at a very reasonable price.
As with other Amazon cables, the plugs at the end of the cables are really solid, with nice "shoulders" to make sure that the end of the cable cannot kink where it joins the plug.
These cables are only 3 feet, which makes them perfect for joining equipment sitting in a typical TV cabinet - DVD, PVR, games console, etc., without leaving metres of cable hanging around to be tidied away. Be aware though that these cables are relatively stiff, so do not expect them to bend at tight angles around awkward furniture.
In case you do not know technicalities, these cables support HDMI v1.4, which means that they are cable of taking signals up to that for a 4K television, and also have a separate connection for Ethernet. What this means is that, suppose you have a PVR box plugged into your router - rather than have to connect your smart TV separately to the router, you can just connect the HDMI cable to your PVR box and it can receive internet content over the HDMI cable (i.e., one less cable cluttering up the space behind your TV. Obviously, you also need to make sure that both your TV and whatever else you connect support HDMI v1.4 too!
However, the cables are backward compatible, so you can happily use it for normal HDMI connections now, and know that later when you upgrade your TV or other equipment, you have something that will still work as well (or even better).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seems as good as any, 22 Nov. 2012
By 
John A. Stedman (Rye UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
HDMI cables are like the Emperor's new clothes it seems. You can spend an absolute fortune on such a cable (and I am talking hundreds) and yet I defy the average man in the street to tell the difference in either audio or video quality between a well made cable such as this, and another costing many times as much. Yes the expensive cable will look nicer and will feel good, but that - to me - is not the point. It's going to spend its' life stuffed in the back of your DVD or BluRay player, where nobody will see it.

I use this cable to feed the video signal to my projector in a home cinema. I needed a quick replacement for a rather more expensive cable which I - er - broke. My screen is a bit larger than most at 3 metres wide (a bit more diagonal). I project a high definition signal from a BluRay source.

Trust me - this cable is absolutely fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on cable, 5 Jan. 2014
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this HDMI cable to go with my son's new bedroom TV. He can now connect the love of his life aka the Xbox to his new telly and decapitate zombies, call air strikes in, fight Loki as The Hulk and worryingly steal a car and mow down innocent bystanders on GTA!

This cable is 3 feet long and feels very well made/not flimsy at all. The connections are good/solid with a nice tight fit. There's no 'wiggle' once it's in!

Apparently air strikes have never looked so good!

Recommended.

PS - Never pay more than a fiver for any HDMI cable. They're pretty much all the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed., 29 Dec. 2010
There simply isn't any need for expensive HDMI cables when there is stuff like this on sale. Works a treat between the PC (output from an ATI 5770) into the TV, picture and sound transmitted without any issues. Superb quality cannot fault it.

One tip, if you have an ATI card you need to open the catalyst control centre and set overscan to 0% in order for it to fill the TV screen. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AmazonBasics High Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet, 6 July 2011
By 
Mr. O. F. Samaan "SamS" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What do I say...... it just works well.

As it's HDMI 1.4 compliant its compatible with the latest developments including 3D. I use one to connect a Panasonic plasma 3D TV to a Virgin Tivo HD box and another to a Panasonic 3D blu-ray player, and the results are great.

Cable quality is good and it has gold connectors. Its billed as AmazonBasics, but is anything but basic.

Other HDMI cables that I bought have been up to three times the asking price for this one. At the price you can't go wrong, it's a bargain.... this is a good value cable that does the job well, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The cable arrived quickly and does the job. A longer HDMI cable at a reasonable price. I use it to connect my laptop to the TV screen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality product, why pay more, 13 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wanted three leads and was about to buy singly when I spotted they were available cheaper in pairs. Ordered two packs so I had a spare in event I end up buying another AV accessory. They arrived two later with the connectors sealed in plastic to prevent damage . The leads are thick and sturdy and the ends are colour coded to reduce risk of mixing-up connections. They meet the latest HDMI 1.4a standard and do what is required. Bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap n cheerful, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I don't comment on the Ethernet support capability of this cable as I only used it as a link from my free-view box to the TV.

Don't be fooled into buying expensive HDMI cables. In the days of analogue signals then you would get a better picture with gold connectors and heavy shielding etc. However, in the digital world the signal is binary - either a 1 or a 0 and as long as a reasonable signal gets through, then the receiving equipment will replicate it perfectly.

This cable transfers the signal to my TV as good as any £50 HDMI cable. Admittedly, if you are going to be repeatedly pulling this cable in and out of equipment then it may not last long, but for most, once plugged in, it is not likely to be ever be removed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, realistic price, 11 Aug. 2012
By 
Mr. Jr Hopkins "James Hopkins" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great product from Amazon, good picture and audio quality, used on Virgin HD and Apple TV. Not used the Ethernet part, but as another reviewer has said, it is part of the HDMI connector, not a separate connector. Good to see a quality product offered at a good price, Currys you can keep your £35 cable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2171 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews