Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The genuine, original and best Dark Shadows movie
Don't waste your time on that CGI laden, mickey-taking Tim Burton remake - treat yourself to the original Dark Shadows movie, directed by Dan Curtis, the creator of the original series. Why waste your time on a pale, pointless copy when you can have the real thing? Curtis wanted to make a film that was accessible to casual viewers, as well as die-hard lovers of the TV...
Published on 30 Jan. 2013 by Christopher Nash

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars let there be light on this dark shadows
saw this movie when it first came out in the 70s and thought at the time it was the best none hammer vampire movie out.i never liked the tv show but loved the movie so when i heard the blu-ray was coming out i got it straight away.i love b movies but looking at this one now it plays like a tv movie some of the acting is as wooden as the stakes watch the scene were they...
Published 22 months ago by B FAN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The genuine, original and best Dark Shadows movie, 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Dark Shadows [DVD] [1970] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Don't waste your time on that CGI laden, mickey-taking Tim Burton remake - treat yourself to the original Dark Shadows movie, directed by Dan Curtis, the creator of the original series. Why waste your time on a pale, pointless copy when you can have the real thing? Curtis wanted to make a film that was accessible to casual viewers, as well as die-hard lovers of the TV series and he makes sure that anyone can enjoy it, fans and non-fans alike.

Barnabas Collins is a vampire who was chained in his coffin 200 years ago - now he's free and returns to Collinwood, the ancestral home. Here he meets a young lady called Maggie Evans, who he believes to be a reincarnation of his lost love, Josette. Barnabas' undead nature is suspected by a couple of scientists, one of whom falls in love with him and tries to cure his vampirism. She succeeds, but when she realises that Barnabas is only interested in Maggie, she betrays him - with horrific consequences.

Faithful to the series, but expanding his canvas with widescreen photography, lavish sets and exteriors, and the kind of bloody violence (for it's time) that was out of the question on the TV show, Curtis has fashioned a most entertaining modern day vampire movie.

Incidentally, the product details on Amazon say it's 4:3 and 1.33:1, but happily this is incorrect. It's a solid 16:9 anamorphic transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barnabas on Blu-ray and Region Free!, 15 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If like me you are a fan of your 'old school horror' and own copies of the books 'The Movie Treasury of Horror Movies by Alan Frank' & 'The Pictorial History of Horror Movies by Dennis Gifford (yes, the one with the green cover!) then this film is for you. A worthy entry in the early 1970's horror genre and one that sits quite comfortably alongside other contemporary modern day set vampire films like Count Yorga Vampire, Blacula & Dracula A.D. 1972. The original cast from the horror television series 'DARK SHADOWS' reprise their roles in this gory big screen version of the hit TV show. Jonathan Frid in the title role of Barnabas Collins is a delight to watch as he despatches with many of the cast in his search for his long lost love Josette.... Although hugely popular in the U.S. where it was shown daily on television as a 'Soap Opera' in the late 60's to early 70's, Dark Shadows never caught on over here in Great Britain which is a real shame.
However, as a stand alone movie in its own right 'House of Dark Shadows' works very well and keeps its finger on the pulse in all the right places with some memorable imagery too. A nice edition to any Blu-ray horror collection and yes I can confirm that this American Blu-ray disc will play on your Region B coded player. Snap it up whilst you can. Rejoice, night creatures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic fun, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Dark Shadows [DVD] [1970] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Ignore the remake, this is the real "Dark Shadows". The cast of the original TV show having a great time, throwing every horror cliche in the book at the screen.

It's pretty dated, so don't expect modern effects or production values, but it's a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars let there be light on this dark shadows, 21 Sept. 2013
saw this movie when it first came out in the 70s and thought at the time it was the best none hammer vampire movie out.i never liked the tv show but loved the movie so when i heard the blu-ray was coming out i got it straight away.i love b movies but looking at this one now it plays like a tv movie some of the acting is as wooden as the stakes watch the scene were they corner the female vampire and the actors are looking on the floor for there marks were to stand dont get me wrong i stil enjoy this movie but not as much as i remembered it by the way the disc is a nice transfer and you get a trailer as an extra this wb disc is marked reg1 but is a reg free disc if you enjoy vampire movies none hammer from the 70s try count yorga vampire return of count yorga vampire or blackula okay they are cheap movies but are still fun to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was a good film back in the 70s so it should be good in 2015...., 11 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. Jeffrey J. D. Norman "Jeff Norman" (St Pauls Cray Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Dark Shadows (DVD)
Haven't watched it yet, so I've rated it in the middle for now, although I did see it back in the 70s when it was on at the cinema along with all the old Hammer films of that time and I remember it being good then. I wasn't sure if it would play OK on my DVD/VCR player so I was taking a bit of a risk ordering it, but when I received it I put it in to see if it would be accepted OK and it was, so I will be watching it in earnest some time in the near future. I believe it was revived fairly lately with Johnny Depp playing the role of Barnabus Collins, so to see it advertised with the original Barnabus Collins played by Jonathan Frid, who was quite scary in the style of Count Yorga from the same period, was another reasoin for ordering it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too late for garlic - we've already dined, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Dark Shadows [DVD] [1970] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A superlative production with excellent atmosphere and suitably horrific vampiric menace, presented in high quality and proper theatrical form. Therefore reject pallid imitations, forget crosses and embrace this unholy DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Time To Vacate., 7 May 2015
By 
Paul Barrett (PENARTH, VALE OF GLAMORGAN, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Dark Shadows [DVD] [1970] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The worst and the very least of the Dark Shadows movies. See it only if you are a completest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting film based on the Dark Shadows series, a must see for horror fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars inaccurate information, 19 Oct. 2009
By 
R. Yewdall (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The video product House of Dark Shadows turns out to have no audio. This was not revealed in the product description. It seems that the product is quite rare. It should be digitally enhanced and brought out on DVD. The film is worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews