Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful for size, and bassy
Despite the "for Kindle Fire and Kindle Fire HD" mentioned in the product description, this is just a generic small powered speaker, which connects to any device with a 3.5mm headphone jack - so that's pretty much every media player, phone or tablet out there.

First impressions of this product were good - it's fairly heavy, and feels well made and solid. The...
Published 24 months ago by David Precious

versus
40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea - not quite there yet
Sound improved the Kindle's tinny sound a lot. For music it is bassy and not enough top - the settings probably reflect dominant music tastes I suppose. The main prob. is that the jack is not long enough to go into the Kindle through the cover - you have to remove it. Apart from that - great for travel.
Published 17 months ago by Battlefield Betsy


‹ Previous | 112 13 1420 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars excellent little speaker, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Fot its size and cost this is brilliant. Convenient size and good sound. Robust and unobtrusive would definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful for it's size!, 19 Dec 2012
By 
A. Kwabula (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great little speaker. It delivers a balanced sound. I have this speaker along side the X-Mini Max. So I compared the output for each speaker. I was expecting the x-mini to eat the Marware UpSurge Mini Speaker for breakfast, so I was really surprised when it became clear that this lone speaker is just as good, and I mean just as good, in one cylindrical body. It performs well even with my HP Laptop with Dre's Beats Audio though I mostly use it with Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc S.

For what it costs, it's really value for bucks and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mini speaker, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
nice size and sounds great for the price only criticism is the length of cable supplied now need an extension to go with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marware UpSurge Mini Speaker, 30 Nov 2012
By 
12stringbassist "....." (NorthWest, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is really excellent value for money! It works with anything that will pop one of those 3.5 mm mini-jacks in. So It's nice to be able to pop the ipod on without a docking station. The rechargeable battery is a very nice touch. The sound quality is very good indeed with a volume power and bass response I wasn't expecting. I am very impressed with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good indeed, 23 Nov 2012
By 
Doug "Doug" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am on the road a lot and whilst I do have speakers they are large and heavy to take with me everywhere.

This is so small it can fit in a coat pocket or laptop bag.

However portability is no good if the sound quality is poor.

I am amazed at the quality of sound (and volume) that comes out of this little gem. it does have a tendency to distort if the volume is turned up too high.

The speaker has an inbuilt battery which is charged via the USB, it would ave been a nice touch if a 3 pin USB adapter plug was included, but I charges fine from a laptop.

I do not have a Kindle, and am surprised the product is so specific, but it has worked very well on all my products with a 3.5 jack socket.

The build quality is good, however the expanding joint as others have pointed out could be an issue, so care is required.

My only other negative is that it would have been nice if the supplied leads were just a little longer.

Otherwise this is going everywhere with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stonking little speaker., 22 Nov 2012
By 
L. W. Newton "lwn83" (Nottingham, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Considering the size of is this tiny speaker I was not expecting nothing too fantastic, but I'm astounded what this little device can do.

I don't have a Kindle HD to plug this speaker into so plugged it into my Nokia Lumia phone, as the instructions state this speaker should be used when pulled open (just be gentle here!) and place on a table or alike to act as a sound board, I put the speaker on our table and played some Joe Bonamassa , Driving Towards The Daylight and was immediately struck by this tiny device, it is quite incredible.

The built in digital amplifier is fairly powerful, but starts to degrade at higher volumes, having said that this UpSurge Mini speaker can fill a small room with sound quite easily. The speaker has just an on-off switch , USB socket and a 3.5mm input socket, you use the volume control on the input device for volume up/down.

Charging the speaker is done via a USB port on a computer or a USB mains charger which is not supplied.

Build quality seem very good and the speaker is deceivingly heavy, I like the aluminium case but not the vacuum cleaner esk expanding joint, this is going to be a weak point I feel.

I would like to see this speaker become linkable(future idea??), in other words link two together to get stereo.

The speaker is supplied with a USB lead for charging and a 3.5mm plug to plug lead that is around 50cm long.

This is a great little speaker for taking away on holidays or just using around the home, it is extremely portable, I can see this being a great stocking filler for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality small USB speaker, 22 Nov 2012
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The quality of this item is clear as soon as you pick it up. It is reassuringly heavy and well made. It comes with a short phono plug lead and a USB lead for charging.

There is a small amount of audible hiss when the speaker is active. This is a good thing because it shows that there is no high filter, as found on many cheap speakers, and the sound is clear and open. Speech is natural sounding.

The speaker is also sensitive to too high a level of input and there is noticeable distortion if you turn the volume too high. Again this is a good thing because it indicates that there is none of the compression that is built into many tiny speakers to allow high volume.

With modern popular music the bottom driven bass is snappy and effective - especially on a firm surface. This does not mean that the sound is muddy or indistinct.

For music where more faithful reproduction is important this is also very acceptable, though you are always aware that this is not hi-fi. Importantly, listening for long periods does not result in fatigue.

It works well with the Kindle, as suggested in the description, but also with any other suitable source. For example it makes an excellent laptop speaker.

The open sound is ruthless in exposing poor quality material though.

As other reviewers have said, be careful when you open it - just a twist is all that is needed.

It can't recommend this highly enough, it is the first micro speaker that I have seen that I am happy to use regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very small, but with good sound, 21 Nov 2012
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a small unit, a cylinder about 55mm in diameters and 55mm high when stowed or 65mm when open for use. It charges from a mini-USB cable (supplied) and has a 3.5mm jack input (3.5 to 3.5 jack cable supplied) so can be plugged into the headphone jack of a lot of devices (laptops, MP3 players, tablets etc). There's an on-off switch and a light/LED (red = off/charging; green = on; yellow = on/charging), so it's pretty simple to use. Volume control is via the tablet or other sound source. The unit has an integrated Li-on rechargeable battery, which the company claim will provide 5 hours of listening time on 70% volume. I haven't tested this rigorously, but imagine mine was switched on for 3-4 hours before it ran out of charge.

The bass sound is pretty good: better than a lot of integrated speakers in portable computing devices, which are designed for low-weight/smallness rather than good sound. Some electronic noise is audible, but at a fairly low level. I would say this is a good device for travelling with when space is at a premium in your computer bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solidly built, clear punchy sound, 20 Nov 2012
By 
A. J. Gauld (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have a much cheaper clone of this product which quickly runs out of steam and often sounds badly distorted. This speaker by contrast goes much louder before overloading and sounds very clean and natural. It obviously has a limited bass response due to its small size and it's not going to fill a room with party level dance music, but for listening to mp3s in a hotel room while travelling it's ideal. It is heavier than you might expect because it's a metal case but the extra sound quality and volume makes up for the few extra grams. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sound, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
I love this little speaker that is so original and has such a great sounnd. I bought it for my new fire hd which already has good speakers but this little inkpot lookylike is good for your ipod too and other devices. It is so light and easy to carry about once charged, and so enhances the sound which makes for a much better listening experience altogether. Nice for films and music and I suspect audiobooks.

It comes with a usb charger which doesnt take too long, but have yet to find out how long a charge lasts for if its turned off after use?

I agree with the reviewer that mentioned about the plastic packaging you have to cut off, its awfull. Someone should invent something new to take its place. Otherwise, no problem at all (as they say).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 1420 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews