Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marware Upsurge mini speaker for Kindle Fire and Kindle Fire HD
Very pleased with this very neat mini speaker, which can be carried in a pocket. as one can see in the photo of the item iy can be opened or closed making it compact. Just what I wanted for use with my Kindle Fire, Great.
Published 15 months ago by Tone:

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work with Kindle!
Bought this speaker for my new Kindle Fire but unfortunately could not get it to work though it was fine with my son's mp3 player. Also the cables were far too short so have sent it back! In future I will read all the reviews before buying any accessories as this seems to be a common problem with this bit of kit.
Published 6 months ago by Maureen


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marware Upsurge mini speaker for Kindle Fire and Kindle Fire HD, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Tone: "Historical Fad" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with this very neat mini speaker, which can be carried in a pocket. as one can see in the photo of the item iy can be opened or closed making it compact. Just what I wanted for use with my Kindle Fire, Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Performer, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Nick Flynn "NickF" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Hand on heart, I wasn't expected such great results from this powerful little speaker. I have in the past forked out nearly this much for a plastic light weight version (using the same bellows principle and the results were just OK.

The Marware UpSurge is in an altogether different class ... weighty, well designed, and with care should last years ... ideal for traveling, and here is my only negative comment ... for something so well designed for travel, why is there no case ... or even on-board cable storage ... even the plastic version had that.

Getting back to the positives ... the unit charged using a USB to mini USB lead in no time at all, and if you are boosting up the often flat performance of a laptop speaker set up ... you can charge and play at the same time. There is a claimed run time of 5 hours ... not fully tested to verify that, but I have used it twice for an hour or so and still going strong.

The sound is reasonably crisp and clear and if you put it on a hard surface like wood or glass you get a better base response. The volume was fine for me, and distortion free all the way up to the limit on my players.

I'm not sure why Marware are aiming their marketing for this unit specifically at the Kindle user ... it has worked perfectly with laptops, iPads, iPhones and other mp3 players.

Great for holidays and it would be churlish to dock a star for the lack of a case. Would love to see this as a stereo unit ... maybe fitting together with a magnet and including storage for the lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket power!, 17 Nov 2012
By 
TheRedBlueBlur (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This pocket sized marvel is outstanding! Considering it's only one speaker and no bigger than a pot of vitamins or a jar of ink, it packs quite a punch!

We put it on the arm of the sofa initially to test it out, and you could feel the bass vibrate through the whole thing. It seems to not only be pretty powerful on its own, but borrows the surface it's placed on to amplify sound even more.

If you're looking for a sturdy, well built, pocket sized speaker for your iPhone, Kindle, laptop, or indeed anything with a mini jack, then you're probably not going to find much better than this little guy. Love it! I used to take an iPod and dock into college to play music to the class, but this thing is far superior and whole lot more portable.

My only gripe, and this is more to the manufacturer than about the device, is that considering hardly anyone actually reads the instructions on these things (well most blokes anyway), having a diagram showing the device being stretched under the words "Before Use" is a really bad idea! When it is actually open, you can only see about one crease of the diaphragm unit, but the diagrams show it with four and the warning diagram makes it look like a mini accordion. So Mareware, fix your diagrams and put a big warning X through the warning one! Seriously it currently looks like and instruction to do the very thing it's warning against!

That said, awesome speaker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work with Kindle!, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Bought this speaker for my new Kindle Fire but unfortunately could not get it to work though it was fine with my son's mp3 player. Also the cables were far too short so have sent it back! In future I will read all the reviews before buying any accessories as this seems to be a common problem with this bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great sound quality when it works, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've found this speaker to be temperamental and will suddenly stop working even when fully charged. Also have had to shut down and restart my Kindle Fire to get the speaker to work, sometimes I have to do it 2 or 3 times to get the speaker to work. I can't even get the speaker to work when I listen to the radio on my Kindle. I hadn't read any reviews about this happening, so wonder if others have the same experience. When it works, it's great, but it's too temperamental and not reliable. I'll try it for a bit longer but I'm not very optimistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


187 of 205 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars great speakers, shame cable not compatible, 27 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
was excited when this arrived same day as my kindle fire. opened the package to discover the cables not compatible. this is very annoying as it is a recommended accessory and now i have the bother of finding yet another cable. this should be pointed out in the blurb when you buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
I bought this for my KindleFire HD as it was advertised as suitable, not a peep out of it although the connection appeared to fit, tried it on other devices and it worked very well [so gave it 2 stars] but not on my KindleFire HD, why, any ideas?? I have returned it, can anyone recommend a speaker that works??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small, clear and quite impressive, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "edz314" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's a portable speaker for tablets and phones. It's designed for the kindle fire but works well with other kit (I haven't got a kindle fire you see). Really clear nice sound, good volume and very easy to use. A perfect size for pocket or bag and a really nice tactile thing to have. Cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Lead!!!, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Despite saying for use with a kindle fire it does not come with a suitable lead for it!!! what a complete let down and I have returned it immediately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not wok with the Kindle Fire!, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately this did not work with the Kindle Fire. It did however work with my IPhone but the sound was terrible. The 1 star I awarded this product is for the colour. I am in the process of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5a1680c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews