Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marware Upsurge mini speaker for Kindle Fire and Kindle Fire HD
Very pleased with this very neat mini speaker, which can be carried in a pocket. as one can see in the photo of the item iy can be opened or closed making it compact. Just what I wanted for use with my Kindle Fire, Great.
Published 20 months ago by Tone:

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea - not quite there yet
Sound improved the Kindle's tinny sound a lot. For music it is bassy and not enough top - the settings probably reflect dominant music tastes I suppose. The main prob. is that the jack is not long enough to go into the Kindle through the cover - you have to remove it. Apart from that - great for travel.
Published 15 months ago by Battlefield Betsy


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea - not quite there yet, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sound improved the Kindle's tinny sound a lot. For music it is bassy and not enough top - the settings probably reflect dominant music tastes I suppose. The main prob. is that the jack is not long enough to go into the Kindle through the cover - you have to remove it. Apart from that - great for travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marware Upsurge mini speaker for Kindle Fire and Kindle Fire HD, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Tone: "Historical Fad" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with this very neat mini speaker, which can be carried in a pocket. as one can see in the photo of the item iy can be opened or closed making it compact. Just what I wanted for use with my Kindle Fire, Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great sound quality when it works, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've found this speaker to be temperamental and will suddenly stop working even when fully charged. Also have had to shut down and restart my Kindle Fire to get the speaker to work, sometimes I have to do it 2 or 3 times to get the speaker to work. I can't even get the speaker to work when I listen to the radio on my Kindle. I hadn't read any reviews about this happening, so wonder if others have the same experience. When it works, it's great, but it's too temperamental and not reliable. I'll try it for a bit longer but I'm not very optimistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work with Kindle!, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Bought this speaker for my new Kindle Fire but unfortunately could not get it to work though it was fine with my son's mp3 player. Also the cables were far too short so have sent it back! In future I will read all the reviews before buying any accessories as this seems to be a common problem with this bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mini speaker for my kindle fire, 10 May 2013
This portable speaker is ideal for traveling or somewhere that there is no electric supply eg beach, garden. The charge lasts for over 5 hrs and the sound is better than you would expect from such a small speaker, and can be charged from your kindle wall/electric charger. One thing I would point out, do not try to open it as far as it shows on the instructions, the speaker only opens slightly. I bought this for my kindle fire and I'm very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Lead!!!, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Despite saying for use with a kindle fire it does not come with a suitable lead for it!!! what a complete let down and I have returned it immediately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful for size, and bassy, 30 Nov 2012
By 
David Precious (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Despite the "for Kindle Fire and Kindle Fire HD" mentioned in the product description, this is just a generic small powered speaker, which connects to any device with a 3.5mm headphone jack - so that's pretty much every media player, phone or tablet out there.

First impressions of this product were good - it's fairly heavy, and feels well made and solid. The weight of it helps stop it bouncing around to the bassline if turned up loud, and if placed on a suitable surface (a table or similar), it seems the surface helps it to produce louder bass, too (naturally - if it's heavy enough to stay put, some of the vibrations will transfer to the surface it's on).

Sound quality is impressive, with decent volume from such a small unit. I think I'd have been more blown away by it if I didn't already have an X Mini capsule speaker (a similar item) to which I'd naturally compare it. However, if you haven't played with these kind of speakers yet, the sound level achievable from such a small unit is quite remarkable.

Compared to the X-Mini device, the maximum volume attainable without major distortion is similar, but this product seems slightly bass-heavy than the X-Mini (perhaps a little *too* much with some songs, in fact). As long as the player you're connecting it to has tone controls/equalizer, you can compensate for that happily. The previously-mentioned weight of this unit helps it produce some bass without bouncing around excessively; the lighter X-Mini unit can often be observed to bounce along the surface it's on, moving a little with each beat!

Two features I miss from the X-Mini device which are missing in this product are a volume control and a built-in audio lead. Whatever you connect this to will almost surely have a volume control to use, so it's not the end of the world, but I did find the X-Mini's simple volume wheel useful; it seems odd to exclude a cheap and easy to add control. The X-Mini also has a built-in short audio input cable which stows neatly in the base of the unit, so you needn't carry a separate cable unless you want more distance between the source device and the speaker (which can, admittedly, be handy). This product has only an audio input, with no built-in cable, so if you should forget to bring the cable with you, you can't just fall back to the built-in one.

Finally, the X-Mini device has a "buddy jack" feature, where you can "chain" multiple units together for increased output; whilst that feature is missing here, it's something I hardly ever actually used, so it's not too sorely missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't do what it says, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Doesn't work on the kindle and thats why I bought it. Seems to be ok on phone and TV but that is not why I purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batteries not included alas, 19 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a solid sturdy piece of kit. Very well made, it sits solidly on the desk and produces (to my ears anyway) an excellent level of sound from laptop and MP3 player.

There are only two drawbacks:

1: The battery life is poor, needed charging on a daily basis.

2: The lead. The USB lead is tiny, meaning that if you want to charge it direct from an adaptor plugged into the wall, you have to put the speaker on the floor.

As a speaker though it is excellent, the negative points taking a star from the 5 it would get for sound alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Performer, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Nick Flynn "NickF" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Hand on heart, I wasn't expected such great results from this powerful little speaker. I have in the past forked out nearly this much for a plastic light weight version (using the same bellows principle and the results were just OK.

The Marware UpSurge is in an altogether different class ... weighty, well designed, and with care should last years ... ideal for traveling, and here is my only negative comment ... for something so well designed for travel, why is there no case ... or even on-board cable storage ... even the plastic version had that.

Getting back to the positives ... the unit charged using a USB to mini USB lead in no time at all, and if you are boosting up the often flat performance of a laptop speaker set up ... you can charge and play at the same time. There is a claimed run time of 5 hours ... not fully tested to verify that, but I have used it twice for an hour or so and still going strong.

The sound is reasonably crisp and clear and if you put it on a hard surface like wood or glass you get a better base response. The volume was fine for me, and distortion free all the way up to the limit on my players.

I'm not sure why Marware are aiming their marketing for this unit specifically at the Kindle user ... it has worked perfectly with laptops, iPads, iPhones and other mp3 players.

Great for holidays and it would be churlish to dock a star for the lack of a case. Would love to see this as a stereo unit ... maybe fitting together with a magnet and including storage for the lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews