Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful for size, and bassy
Despite the "for Kindle Fire and Kindle Fire HD" mentioned in the product description, this is just a generic small powered speaker, which connects to any device with a 3.5mm headphone jack - so that's pretty much every media player, phone or tablet out there.

First impressions of this product were good - it's fairly heavy, and feels well made and solid. The...
Published on 30 Nov. 2012 by David Precious

versus
64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea - not quite there yet
Sound improved the Kindle's tinny sound a lot. For music it is bassy and not enough top - the settings probably reflect dominant music tastes I suppose. The main prob. is that the jack is not long enough to go into the Kindle through the cover - you have to remove it. Apart from that - great for travel.
Published on 17 Jun. 2013 by Battlefield Betsy


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful for size, and bassy, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
David Precious (Stevenage, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Despite the "for Kindle Fire and Kindle Fire HD" mentioned in the product description, this is just a generic small powered speaker, which connects to any device with a 3.5mm headphone jack - so that's pretty much every media player, phone or tablet out there.

First impressions of this product were good - it's fairly heavy, and feels well made and solid. The weight of it helps stop it bouncing around to the bassline if turned up loud, and if placed on a suitable surface (a table or similar), it seems the surface helps it to produce louder bass, too (naturally - if it's heavy enough to stay put, some of the vibrations will transfer to the surface it's on).

Sound quality is impressive, with decent volume from such a small unit. I think I'd have been more blown away by it if I didn't already have an X Mini capsule speaker (a similar item) to which I'd naturally compare it. However, if you haven't played with these kind of speakers yet, the sound level achievable from such a small unit is quite remarkable.

Compared to the X-Mini device, the maximum volume attainable without major distortion is similar, but this product seems slightly bass-heavy than the X-Mini (perhaps a little *too* much with some songs, in fact). As long as the player you're connecting it to has tone controls/equalizer, you can compensate for that happily. The previously-mentioned weight of this unit helps it produce some bass without bouncing around excessively; the lighter X-Mini unit can often be observed to bounce along the surface it's on, moving a little with each beat!

Two features I miss from the X-Mini device which are missing in this product are a volume control and a built-in audio lead. Whatever you connect this to will almost surely have a volume control to use, so it's not the end of the world, but I did find the X-Mini's simple volume wheel useful; it seems odd to exclude a cheap and easy to add control. The X-Mini also has a built-in short audio input cable which stows neatly in the base of the unit, so you needn't carry a separate cable unless you want more distance between the source device and the speaker (which can, admittedly, be handy). This product has only an audio input, with no built-in cable, so if you should forget to bring the cable with you, you can't just fall back to the built-in one.

Finally, the X-Mini device has a "buddy jack" feature, where you can "chain" multiple units together for increased output; whilst that feature is missing here, it's something I hardly ever actually used, so it's not too sorely missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea - not quite there yet, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sound improved the Kindle's tinny sound a lot. For music it is bassy and not enough top - the settings probably reflect dominant music tastes I suppose. The main prob. is that the jack is not long enough to go into the Kindle through the cover - you have to remove it. Apart from that - great for travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Lead!!!, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Despite saying for use with a kindle fire it does not come with a suitable lead for it!!! what a complete let down and I have returned it immediately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for hotel rooms, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I spend a fair amount of time away from home and want something portable so I can listen to music or audiobooks while cooling my heels in a hotel. This fits the bill.

It's very small, but surprisingly capable. It's ideal for small quiet rooms such as hotel rooms, but would struggle outdoors or in a noisy environment. Audio fidelity is hardly high-end, but that's not the purpose here. It's perfectly serviceable and does the job.

The speaker does not have its own volume control; the volume is controlled by the source device, with the speaker amplifying whatever it receives. If the source signal is too high the sound will distort; the built-in amplifier is actually a bit too strong for the speaker. The ideal volume "sweet spot" will likely vary from source device to source device, so some experimentation will be called for.

The battery life is fine for me; the most I've ever used it for at any one time is 2 hours, and it still didn't need recharging. I don't know how well it would fare for longer use.

Finally, the colour is delightfully garish, so I'm unlikely to lose it among the myriad black devices which litter my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mini speaker for my kindle fire, 10 May 2013
This portable speaker is ideal for traveling or somewhere that there is no electric supply eg beach, garden. The charge lasts for over 5 hrs and the sound is better than you would expect from such a small speaker, and can be charged from your kindle wall/electric charger. One thing I would point out, do not try to open it as far as it shows on the instructions, the speaker only opens slightly. I bought this for my kindle fire and I'm very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't do what it says, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Doesn't work on the kindle and thats why I bought it. Seems to be ok on phone and TV but that is not why I purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batteries not included alas, 19 Dec. 2012
By 
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a solid sturdy piece of kit. Very well made, it sits solidly on the desk and produces (to my ears anyway) an excellent level of sound from laptop and MP3 player.

There are only two drawbacks:

1: The battery life is poor, needed charging on a daily basis.

2: The lead. The USB lead is tiny, meaning that if you want to charge it direct from an adaptor plugged into the wall, you have to put the speaker on the floor.

As a speaker though it is excellent, the negative points taking a star from the 5 it would get for sound alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marware Upsurge mini speaker for Kindle Fire and Kindle Fire HD, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
Tone: "Historical Fad" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with this very neat mini speaker, which can be carried in a pocket. as one can see in the photo of the item iy can be opened or closed making it compact. Just what I wanted for use with my Kindle Fire, Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great sound quality when it works, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've found this speaker to be temperamental and will suddenly stop working even when fully charged. Also have had to shut down and restart my Kindle Fire to get the speaker to work, sometimes I have to do it 2 or 3 times to get the speaker to work. I can't even get the speaker to work when I listen to the radio on my Kindle. I hadn't read any reviews about this happening, so wonder if others have the same experience. When it works, it's great, but it's too temperamental and not reliable. I'll try it for a bit longer but I'm not very optimistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work with Kindle!, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marware UpSurge Rechargeable Mini Speaker, Black (Accessory)
Bought this speaker for my new Kindle Fire but unfortunately could not get it to work though it was fine with my son's mp3 player. Also the cables were far too short so have sent it back! In future I will read all the reviews before buying any accessories as this seems to be a common problem with this bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews