Customer Reviews


226 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OEM WD Red HDD - Out of Region - Solved.
Before install take a few .jpegs of HDD model no: and serial no:
Scan invoice.

Yeah register via WDs web portal, you'll get a message saying "Out of Region" and an warranty expiry 3yrs from registration date.

At this point use the portal to raise a WD "ticket" and simply explain the situation, include your .jpegs and copy of...
Published 9 months ago by cheezdawg

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Review for WD20EFRX-68EUZN0 with Express extended warranty
This review is specifically for the product shipped by Amazon (not third party supplier)

Product supplied is WD20EFRX-68EUZN0 which is a drive with no recognised Western Digital warranty.
Ironically the Express extended warranty which extends to 4 years, cannot be applied to the supplied drive as it is an OEM drive.

Therefore the product...
Published 14 months ago by uumode


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Review for WD20EFRX-68EUZN0 with Express extended warranty, 26 Jan. 2014
By 
uumode (berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is specifically for the product shipped by Amazon (not third party supplier)

Product supplied is WD20EFRX-68EUZN0 which is a drive with no recognised Western Digital warranty.
Ironically the Express extended warranty which extends to 4 years, cannot be applied to the supplied drive as it is an OEM drive.

Therefore the product combination is an invalid one, you will have an extended warranty that you cannot use. The warranty is only one year of Amazon warranty, not 4 four years of WD warranty.

On the bonus side the drives I ordered came with a plastic holder in a drive box, which was in turn packaged in another box with scrunched up paper as further packaging protection. Not the jiffy bag and single layer of bubble wrap reported in some reviews. (that was a relief). But returned mine as I was wanting 4 years WD express warranty (24 hour service), not Amazon 1 year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OEM WD Red HDD - Out of Region - Solved., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 2TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Before install take a few .jpegs of HDD model no: and serial no:
Scan invoice.

Yeah register via WDs web portal, you'll get a message saying "Out of Region" and an warranty expiry 3yrs from registration date.

At this point use the portal to raise a WD "ticket" and simply explain the situation, include your .jpegs and copy of invoice.
If you can't add pics and invoice via WD portal,just wait till WD reply to the ticket you raised, and again explain along with your pics of model and serial no's: and copy of invoice.
WD will make the HDD valid in your region with the 3yr warranty we expected.

Also these HDDs are whisper quiet (anti vibration & intellipower 5400rpm - 5900rpm) compared to the 2 Hitachi Deskstars (7200rpm) that I was previously spinning....

Regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 120 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE "OUT OF REGION" WARRANTY, 1 Jan. 2013
By 
J. Leighton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 2TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Western Digital 2TB 3.5inch SATA6 Internal Hard Drive - Red

The drive was received inside a box with loads of scrunched up brown paper inside another box. The drive itself was inside a sealed anti-static bag, wrapped in bubble-wrap.

The drive has been incorporated into an unRAID NAS after pre-clearing and exercising to ensure it has no errors. It is currently holding about a terabyte of data built from the parity drive after a 1 terabyte drive died on me and is currently being RMA'd to Western Digital.

OUT OF REGION WARRANTY

However, on registering this drive with Western Digital, it said it was "Out of Region". Their web site explains what this means but in essence it means it does not have a Western Digital warranty so you would have to send it back to Amazon for replacement. Now Amazon say they will only give it a 1 year warranty. So I have been conversing with both Western Digital and Amazon to try and get this sorted out. The product description does not say anything about a reduction in the length of warranty. If I buy a genuine Western Digital "RED" drive I expect to receive the "RED" warranty of 3 years. I am currently asking for recompense for the reduced warranty period or a replacement drive with a genuine Western Digital "RED" warranty of 3 years. Unfortunately, you cannot tell if the drive is "Out of Region" or not until you register the product.

I will update this review when I hear from Western Digital and Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE - no warranty from WD, 16 Feb. 2014
By 
andymo (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review focuses on the unit as advertised, not the actual performance of the HDD itself.

It arrived promptly and well packaged. The first thing I did was go onto the WD website to register it and input extended warranty code (this comes in a booklet with a scratch panel). This is where the problems started, as once the HDD serial number was input it was then reported as "NO LIMITED WARRANTY". According to the WD website this means the product was originally sold to a system manufacturer - i.e. Not a retail product!!!!

Amazon's response was to send a replacement which, when I tried to register it, gave the same status from WD.

I reported the situation with the second HDD to Amazon, and they said they would look into it - but here I am 4 weeks later none the wiser. WD have dragged their heels on this as well. I raised the issue directly with them when nothing was forthcoming from Amazon, and I've had to provide photographic evidence of the unit along with copies of the receipt as proof of purchase. They say they are chasing this up with Amazon, but meanwhile I'm left waiting to know if the HDD does actually have the extended warranty I specifically chose and paid for before I can use it - or indeed any warranty at all!!!!

Shameful service all around, and the cost of telephone calls to customer services has added a significant premium to the total cost of the product. I did read the reviews of others who had experienced similar, but naively though Amazon would have sorted this - clearly not.

CAVEAT EMPTOR!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, a NAS ready drive at a sensible price, 8 Sept. 2012
This review is from: WD Red 2TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
For a long time there have been 2 sectors of the hard drive market.

Domestic drives, which offered good value for money, but were not specified to run 24 hours a day, and increasingly had lousy warranties, often just one year.

Enterprise drives, which were specced to run in servers, RAID arrays and the like, had 3 to 5 year warranties, but cost significantly more than their domestic counterparts. They could cost double or 3 times what a basic drive would.

WD has spotted the gaping hole in the market, those of us who want to build a small network attached storage unit, but didn't want to rink putting cheap drives with their 1 year warranties inside.

Hence the Red series. These drives are specified to be used in NAS devices, with a 3 year warranty and - it's claimed - improvements to the hardware to increase life expectancy. The price premium for the Red series seems to be about 20% above the domestic equivalents, which, if they deliver, seems reasonable.

So far I've installed 1 2tb drive with no problems. Let's see how reliable it proves to be, but Red seems to be just what many of us have been looking for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Designed Specifically for NAS Storage, 25 Oct. 2012
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 2TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
The Western Digital's Red range of SATA hard disks is designed specifically for use in home and small business NAS devices. With this purpose in mind, the WD's are built for durability, power efficiency and low noise levels of just 23dB(A). Western Digital's `Intellipower' system, which uses caching, promises faster throughput than you'd expect from a 5,400rpm disk.

There is however a small downside, the poor slow file write speed means that these disks are less than ideal if, for instance, you want to habitually back up lots of documents to your NAS, But this has to be balanced by the Red's low power consumption, low noise levels and three year warranty make it well suited to its intended purpose - NAS storage. You could buy the Western Digital Caviar Green 3TB for slightly less if performance isn't so important.

Review update: 27.10.2013

Important note - I managed to attend IP EXPO at Earls Court recently and managed to speak to Western Digital people about the WD Red NAS drives, and they have confirmed what I have read on the WD website - that you should only have between 1 to 5 drives in anyone single NAS unit. If you, let us a say, have a unit like the Synology 1813+ (an 8 bay unit) you are strongly advised not place any more than 5 WD Reds in the unit. As clusters of above 5 drives will give vibration issues that can lead a drive to believe that it has `failed'. For that reason I am reducing my WD Reds in the 1813+ down from 8 to 4. The remaining 4 bays I will `populate' with WD Se 4TB drives. Obviously the decision is yours on what types of drives you use - I have decided on the WD Se drives as they have very good specification and the extra outlay is just about within my budget. Now I know, on the internet, there is some debate out there in the `forums' and blogs about this issue and its `validity' of the five drive maximum- but this is what I have heard from WD and thought best to share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for 3-platter versions, instad of 2-platter, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 2TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
I ordered 4 (four) of these 2TB version which are advertised as weighing 599 grams, which would imply 2 platters of 1TB. I knew there are 3 platter version in the wild weighing more (around 640g), with the exact same product number as the 2 platter version, i.e. WD20EFRX-68AX9N0, but when I saw 599 g in the Amazon details, I happily ordered 4 of them.

Sadly, I received the 3 platter version instead, which weigh 640 g, make more noise and perform worse than the 2 platter version (the platters on the 3-platter version are 750 GB). I have the 3TB version which is a 3 platter drive, and they weigh exactly the same and make the same noise (note that I had 4 drives of each to compare against).

Be warned when you order. There is more info on the WD Red 2TB platter lottery here: rml527.blogspot.ca/2010/10/hdd-platter-database-western-digital-35_9792.html

3 stars because of the misleading information. They are all going back. Amazon should post the correct information! This is causing a waste of time and money for everyone (return post, opened item, etc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DOA rate is quite high, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
D. Cousins (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 2TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Bought two of these, both arrived well packaged in their own little boxes with trays. Unfortunately one arrived completely dead. My NAS doesn't recognise the drive and my two desktops try but fail. Searching around the web, it seems like this is quite a common thing with these drives. WD do offer a good RMA process though and they will ship a new drive to you before you send the dead one to them, provided you furnish them with a valid credit card number.

The drive that is working is fine, with good speeds and very low noise and power usage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drives arrived & I've been getting SMART errors from one of them, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 2TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Drives arrived & I've been getting SMART errors from one of them. I bought these disks to replace 2 drives I was worried about failing, only to be given drives that ARE failing.

Plus with the out of region warranty I'm having major problems knowing if I can get them replaced. I have NO peace of mind with Western Digital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a hard disk, 6 Jan. 2015
By 
Chris B (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 2TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
It's a 2TB hard disk. It stores data.

Many people write negative reviews of hard disks when they fail. They threaten never to use that manufacturer again. The inescapable fact is that drives do fail and every manufacturer will have some dead on arrival. I buy about 2000 drives per annum, and failure rates are pretty consistent amongst all the major manufacturers.

What I prefer to judge hard disk manufacturers on is how quickly they'll get a replacement disk out to me if one should fail, and in this regard WD and Seagate are amongst the best: it's usually no more than 10 days from my dispatching a defective disk to receiving a new one back.

Oh, and make sure you have a good backup strategy that you test periodically :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WD Red 2TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM
£74.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews