Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good!
Excellent packaging and prompt delivery!

Bought these to replace two failed Seagate drives ( won't be getting those again )

So far so good, installed in synology NAS without issue!

Update March 2014. All three are still working flawlessly in my NAS.
Published on 30 April 2013 by Ayhan Dursun

versus
58 of 65 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Woefully inadequate packaging = DOA Drive
When your drive arrives in a grand total of:-

One static bag covered by one cheap eco lite jiffy bag and one standard Amazon cardboard fold-over pack you know things are not hopeful for your drive.

Put me down for one dead drive (NAS recognises that there is a drive in the bay but cannot do anything with it). Its a shame as I already have one of...
Published on 3 May 2013 by Neil Jones


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good!, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Excellent packaging and prompt delivery!

Bought these to replace two failed Seagate drives ( won't be getting those again )

So far so good, installed in synology NAS without issue!

Update March 2014. All three are still working flawlessly in my NAS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seems to do its job!, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
I bought this drive to install into a HTPC. My HTPC can hold up to 6 3.5 inch drives to store movies, music and any other relevant media files so acts as a media server for the home network (as a NAS would).
I understand that this drive is intended for use in a NAS which is operational 24/7 which is not the case in my system so I cannot comment on reliability over prolonged periods. At the same time, reliability for storing large files (movies) takes priority over speed for my intended purposes so this drive seemed the ideal choice.

For those of you who are unsure between this and the 3TB Seagate Barracuda (slightly cheaper, quicker read/write speeds but shorter reported lifespan) I also own one of those installed in the same machine alongside the WD Red. All I can report is what the technical stats already tell you; the Seagate seems to spool up faster when accessing. That's literally the only difference in operation. The proof of the pudding will be lifespan and reliability but at the moment, both haven't missed a beat.

So to summarise, I have no issues with this drive for my uses. No dodgy noises, no read/write errors, decent access speeds when viewing the content via Windows. For the application it was designed for, it seems great so far. I have only awarded the drive 4 stars because it's still too early to confirm if WD's claims of reliability and longer lifespan are justified.

One final thing... Be wary of negative reviews about dead drives and early failures from other reviewers when shopping for hard drives. From experience, the people who make an effort to log on to have their say are usually the people who have a gripe, so that can sway the ratings unfairly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Designed Specifically for NAS Storage, 2 Sept. 2013
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
The Western Digital's Red range of SATA hard disks is designed specifically for use in home and small business NAS devices. With this purpose in mind, the WD's are built for durability, power efficiency and low noise levels of just 23dB(A). Western Digital's `Intellipower' system, which uses caching, promises faster throughput than you'd expect from a 5,400rpm disk.

There is however a small downside, the poor slow file write speed means that these disks are less than ideal if, for instance, you want to habitually back up lots of documents to your NAS, But this has to be balanced by the Red's low power consumption, low noise levels and three year warranty make it well suited to its intended purpose - NAS storage. You could buy the Western Digital Caviar Green 3TB for slightly less if performance isn't so important.

Review update: 27.10.2013

Important note - I managed to attend IP EXPO at Earls Court recently and managed to speak to Western Digital people about the WD Red NAS drives, and they have confirmed what I have read on the WD website - that you should only have between 1 to 5 drives in anyone single NAS unit. If you, let us a say, have a unit like the Synology 1813+ (an 8 bay unit) you are strongly advised not place any more than 5 WD Reds in the unit. As clusters of above 5 drives will give vibration issues that can lead a drive to believe that it has `failed'. For that reason I am reducing my WD Reds in the 1813+ down from 8 to 4. The remaining 4 bays I will `populate' with WD Se 4TB drives. Obviously the decision is yours on what types of drives you use - I have decided on the WD Se drives as they have very good specification and the extra outlay is just about within my budget. Now I know, on the internet, there is some debate out there in the `forums' and blogs about this issue and its `validity' of the five drive maximum- but this is what I have heard from WD and thought best to share.

------------------------------------------------UPDATE 11/08/2014---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No issues or problems with these drives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast but watch out when you register the warranty., 15 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (South West Enland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
The drive is everything that I expected it to be so far. I bought the drives to to in a Drobo 5N NAS box and the RED drives, which are recommended for this box, are fast. It is obviously too early to tell if they are reliable.

One heads-up that people should be aware of is the warranty. You get 3 years from Western Digital, and they have a dedicated customer support line just for the Red drives. Registering the drives online at their website is quick and easy, but in the case of the drives that I acquired via an Amazon Marketplace vendor it said "OUT OF REGION - Product is outside the region (Americas, Europe-Middle East-Africa, or Asia-Pacific) where it was originally shipped." What it means is that the Amazon Marketplace vendor didn't buy the drives directly from WD in EMEA, but instead sourced them from the Americas or Asia-Pacific. Luckily this isn't a big deal for a home user because your product is still covered by the full 3 year warranty, but you are limited to 5 RMA's per year for out of region products.

Are my 5 drives going to cause 5 RMA's in one year? I hope not! If you had 50 drives you may have an issue though as any good engineer knows the chance of drive failure increases in proportion to the number of drives that you have.

So buyer beware - get a product direct from Amazon and I guess it will be officially sourced. If you do get an out of region product from a Marketplace vendor you will still get support but there will be caveats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 65 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Woefully inadequate packaging = DOA Drive, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
When your drive arrives in a grand total of:-

One static bag covered by one cheap eco lite jiffy bag and one standard Amazon cardboard fold-over pack you know things are not hopeful for your drive.

Put me down for one dead drive (NAS recognises that there is a drive in the bay but cannot do anything with it). Its a shame as I already have one of these HDD's and it is great. However this was sent by a seller/fulfiller that knew what they were doing.

So back to Amazon for a refund this one goes. So a warning, if the description states Amazon frustration free packaging DO NOT RISK IT,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well but look out for faulty disks, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a direct replacement for a disk (of the same model and spec) that arrived faulty. I have purchased 5 of these disks for a new Drobo disk array. Of the 5 purchased one was faulty. But upon reporting the faulty disk to Amazon, they replaced very quickly (within a week). So overall I am happy with the service from Amazon, and happy to say that my Drobo 5D and its mix of 3TB and 4TB disks are working well after 4 weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 123 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Returned Drive DOA - Packing was a brown envelope ?, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Length:: 0:08 Mins

Just Returned Drive DOA - It was sent in a tan bubble mailer envelope.

Just concerned about ordering another from AMAZON if the are sending out Hard Drive like this ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WD 3TB SATA3 NASWare 3.0 - Great Price, Excellent Packaging which arrived in a Secure Shell., 31 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
This is the 4th Western Digital Red 3TB NAS Disk I have purchased over the past year or so. This is the second unit purchased from Amazon which was delivered had a much more proficient method of protection for transit as compared to the deliveries I received from other suppliers.

This Disk drive arrived in a protective anti-static wrapper which is then contained in a hard plastic caddy, which kind of suspends the disk within the containing outter box, as seen here:- [...]

I am almost certain this disk was subject to minimal movement from within its boxing during transit and this goes a great way to providing peace of mind regarding my HDD lifespan if it were not for this kind of extra care to the detail about the protective means to ensure safe transit.

This disk comes with a healthy 3TB of storage space and 64MB Cache SATA 3 - NASware 3.0.
A Very Happy customer !!
This is a great machanical hard-drive with great cost per GB ratio and a nice 64MB of cache. Highly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Packaging leads to early failure, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
**Update 3 weeks after purchase.

Drive has now failed. Looks like the poor packaging may well have contributed to it's demise. Amazon's service upon replacing it was diabolical too, I have had to take my business elsewhere. Whole episode has left a bad taste in the mouth. Will never buy a HDD from Amazon again.

*******************

Bought two of these drives now to go into my unraid box and they perform better than my hitachi 5k3000 drives which were my favourites until WD released these.

the amazon packaging leaves a little to be desired in my opinion but the drive arrived and works fine. it's currently undergoing a 7 day stress test before it enters my array.

i get around 140MB/s read and write speeds and the temperatures are in the lower 30s. very good drive, in my opinion worth the slight extra over the greens purely due to extended warranty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great drives, but packaging varies, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
I bought 4 of these 3TB drives to replace some ageing 2TB seagate drives that had started to show issues after clocking up about 3 years of "Powered Up" time.

The drives were delivered promptly, but the packaging varied in quality. 2 drives were packaged in small boxes offering no real protection. The 2 other drives were packaged in larger boxes, with plastic inserts "suspending" the drive in the packaging, which is what I would have expected. All drives were sealed in anti-static bags.

I installed the drives in my HP MicroServer N40L running Windows Server 2012R2 and the drives were detected without issue. They are very quiet in operation and seem speedy. I've used Windows Storage Spaces to create 2 mirrored pairs offering ~6TB of usable storage. After a weeks use, I've used Powershell to check the disk stats and there doesn't appear to be any excessive "Load/Unload Cycles" which can affect some drives and is reported for the 4TB variant of this drive.

I registered the drives successfully with WD, although bizarrely the remaining warranty seems to vary between the drives despite entering the same purchase date for each drive. For example, 1 drive seems to have a full month more warranty than another.

All in all, great drives and a great price. Good peace of mind that these are certified to run 24/7 and have a decent warranty.

Lost a star due to the inconsistent packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM
£85.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews