Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast but watch out when you register the warranty.
The drive is everything that I expected it to be so far. I bought the drives to to in a Drobo 5N NAS box and the RED drives, which are recommended for this box, are fast. It is obviously too early to tell if they are reliable.

One heads-up that people should be aware of is the warranty. You get 3 years from Western Digital, and they have a dedicated customer...
Published 9 months ago by Cheesy Mike

versus
91 of 104 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Returned Drive DOA - Packing was a brown envelope ?
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:08 Mins
Just Returned Drive DOA - It was sent in a tan bubble mailer envelope.

Just concerned about ordering another from AMAZON if the are sending out Hard Drive like this ....
Published 15 months ago by Uotinam


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast but watch out when you register the warranty., 15 July 2013
By 
Cheesy Mike (South West Enland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
The drive is everything that I expected it to be so far. I bought the drives to to in a Drobo 5N NAS box and the RED drives, which are recommended for this box, are fast. It is obviously too early to tell if they are reliable.

One heads-up that people should be aware of is the warranty. You get 3 years from Western Digital, and they have a dedicated customer support line just for the Red drives. Registering the drives online at their website is quick and easy, but in the case of the drives that I acquired via an Amazon Marketplace vendor it said "OUT OF REGION - Product is outside the region (Americas, Europe-Middle East-Africa, or Asia-Pacific) where it was originally shipped." What it means is that the Amazon Marketplace vendor didn't buy the drives directly from WD in EMEA, but instead sourced them from the Americas or Asia-Pacific. Luckily this isn't a big deal for a home user because your product is still covered by the full 3 year warranty, but you are limited to 5 RMA's per year for out of region products.

Are my 5 drives going to cause 5 RMA's in one year? I hope not! If you had 50 drives you may have an issue though as any good engineer knows the chance of drive failure increases in proportion to the number of drives that you have.

So buyer beware - get a product direct from Amazon and I guess it will be officially sourced. If you do get an out of region product from a Marketplace vendor you will still get support but there will be caveats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Individually packaged and nested in substantial amounts of foam, 20 July 2013
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
The first two examples I purchased were via Amazon but supplied by a third-party retailer. I had previously purchased numerous internal hard drives of various brands and capacities, some supplied directly by a retailer and often in OEM anti-static envelopes, others in various 'Retail' packages but many more on-line. Some were supplied in the same OEM packaging but a few have been nested in similar types of boxes as were those. The packaging used here was certainly fabricated by the retailer and could probably accommodate 4 drive units if each was less well protected. Both individual cartons for the two drive units ordered were contained within a much larger outer and was filled with a reasonable amount of packing paper. The outer carton was slightly damaged on arrival but the inner cartons were well isolated from the point(s) of contact and were completely pristine when extracted.

I have seen similar damage to other external packaging used for some hard drives ordered in the past but have yet to have one that was D.O.A. due to transit damage that penetrated to the internal containers and to the drive(s) within.

The Western Digital Red drives are intended for any usage that is more intensive than 'normal'. Hence, if employed in any form of server that is 'on' 24/7 and for long periods at a time, in NAS devices or even in a desktop PC where usage demands and expectations are high, they are ideal. They offer an MTBF (Mean Time Before Failure) far higher than is offered by WD's other drives which should translate to higher reliability over longer periods of time. Sometimes offered at much higher prices than are currently available, they are currently sold for little more than a comparable lower-spec alternative of the same capacity. Another feature is a claimed improvement to the spindle bearing design which results in a very low noise engagement. However, if employed in an enclosure that is fan-cooled, the fan(s) may themselves be sufficiently noisy to be noticeable in a quiet environment.

A direct alternative to other products which they could replace if their higher reliability or lower noise is essential and where the price premium can be overlooked.

They have now been in use for about 2 weeks in a NAS enclosure. I have not been aware of any noise emanating from the drives or the enclosure but I have other RAID/JBOD enclosures quite close by which are in simultaneous use and where there is an active fan within each enclosure. Although not completely silent, there is a slightly audible hum from those fans and an occasional mechanical vibration that can also sometimes be heard from one which would mask any sounds that may emanate from these drives. However, placing my ear close to the enclosure, I have yet to hear anything.

POSTSCRIPT @ 08-2013

I have since purchased several more directly from Amazon for RAID use. All arrived in WD-branded packaging, with each drive contained in a small carton and nested between two plastic moulded sleeves that hold them safely and securely. The individual cartons were contained within a much larger outer and surrounded by yards of packing paper. Subject to two separate orders, all the drives arrived safely and there was no damage to either of the outers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 104 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Returned Drive DOA - Packing was a brown envelope ?, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Length:: 0:08 Mins

Just Returned Drive DOA - It was sent in a tan bubble mailer envelope.

Just concerned about ordering another from AMAZON if the are sending out Hard Drive like this ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good!, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
Excellent packaging and prompt delivery!

Bought these to replace two failed Seagate drives ( won't be getting those again )

So far so good, installed in synology NAS without issue!

Update March 2014. All three are still working flawlessly in my NAS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon shipped used drive, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
The drive Amazon dispatched (in a sealed box) had previously been screwed in to some drive rails and installed in someone else's system. Check carefully that you receive a new model from Amazon and the sides of the drive aren't scuffed.

The drive itself was delivered with no padding, which is rather worrying for the long-term health of the drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Packaging leads to early failure, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
**Update 3 weeks after purchase.

Drive has now failed. Looks like the poor packaging may well have contributed to it's demise. Amazon's service upon replacing it was diabolical too, I have had to take my business elsewhere. Whole episode has left a bad taste in the mouth. Will never buy a HDD from Amazon again.

*******************

Bought two of these drives now to go into my unraid box and they perform better than my hitachi 5k3000 drives which were my favourites until WD released these.

the amazon packaging leaves a little to be desired in my opinion but the drive arrived and works fine. it's currently undergoing a 7 day stress test before it enters my array.

i get around 140MB/s read and write speeds and the temperatures are in the lower 30s. very good drive, in my opinion worth the slight extra over the greens purely due to extended warranty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet and still performs well, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
I have this as a 3gb data drive alongside my SSD in a server I use for backup and streaming. The price was slightly higher than the WD green drives, but overall performance is slightly better in terms of speed. I found it still to be very quiet when being accessed. One advantage over the green drives is the longer warranty.

Pros
- Longer warranty than green drives
- Fast but still quiet

Cons
- Slightly more expensive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reliable drives for NAS( once the Dow ones are returned, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
I purchased 2 of these to go into a Synology Ds213+ NAS box, I had some real issues in the beginning with failures and ended up having to get 3 replacement drives from WD before I got 2 stable drives, what I will say is that WD were very easy to deal with and replaced all faulty drives within a week each time but at my expense for shipping, these drives perform well now and are very quiet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish Packaging and delivery, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
I was looking forward to receiving these drives and trying out my new Synology....

The box was dented on collection, was surprised to see drives so poorly packaged.
There was no Fragile warning or anything on the box either.
Both of the above probably contributed to dead on arrival state for one of the 2 drives.

The second drive seemed to work ok but was skeptical so returned both.

Very very dissapointed. - WD red drives may be v good, who knows... however doesn't matter how good they are if a delivery monkey from City link throws it around the warehouse and around his van...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Two DOA in a row - put off, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM (Personal Computers)
I do have one of these in a USB enclosure serving as a timemachine target - only been in for 2 weeks so far, but fingers crossed. The other two I purchased for a NAS, and both were DOA - Spun up but simply would not communicate either to the Synology NAS or when installed in my Mac pro, or connected via an external enclosure. I understand there is a bad batch of these out there at the moment, and it looks like they are piled up on Amazon's shelves. For the time being, have opted for something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad556e58)

This product

WD Red 3TB for NAS 3.5-inch Desktop Hard Drive - OEM
92.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews