Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets and Lies
This volume reprints the New 52's Green Lantern issues #1-6, which continue straight on from the pre-New 52 storyline, where Hal Jordan has been sacked from the Corps and Sinestro has been given his ring. Neither is happy at this turn of events, but Sinestro goes off to `protect' his sector of space, and free his homeworld of Korugar, currently dominated by the remnants...
Published on 15 May 2013 by Squirr-El

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average start to the New 52
One thing that I know for certain is the Green Lantern comics wrote by Geoff Johns are some of the best comics I have had the pleasure of reading. The universe he has created over the past 10 or so years has ushered in one of the most vast and incredible story settings I have ever seen. Its intricate, very well thought out and quite often breathtaking. Time and time again...
Published on 27 May 2012 by James Stark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets and Lies, 15 May 2013
By 
Squirr-El (The Metropolis, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This volume reprints the New 52's Green Lantern issues #1-6, which continue straight on from the pre-New 52 storyline, where Hal Jordan has been sacked from the Corps and Sinestro has been given his ring. Neither is happy at this turn of events, but Sinestro goes off to `protect' his sector of space, and free his homeworld of Korugar, currently dominated by the remnants of the Sinestro Corps, while Hal Jordan invites Carol Ferris out on a date. Neither activity goes well.

Sinestro comes to earth to recruit Hal Jordan to yet another Sinestro Corps, this time a Green Lantern-powered one, as Sinestro demonstrates why he is the greatest Green Lantern, by creating a new power ring for Hal Jordan, showing him the proper way to rescue a collapsing bridge, and revealing hitherto unknown powers belonging to the ring. Then off to Korugar to clean up Dodge City... while the Guardians are busy mind-wiping Ganthet, the Guardian with a conscience, and are plotting yet again...

There is plenty of full-speed action, but with enough character-building scenes to balance the intersecting stories - there's never a dull moment in the Corps, whatever colour it happens to be this month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the rehash you think it is.!, 25 Jan. 2013
I do wonder how many people have seen this front cover of Sinestro clearly as a GL and knowing that he started out in continuity as a GL and this is the first volume of the `new52' continuity, presumed - as I did - that this is a return to the roots of the old GL continuity and passed this series by thinking they'd seen it all before...?
I mean - how many people thought - so, Sinestro is a GL - he'll no doubt go through the first volume training and disapproving of novice Hal Jordan and....yawn...seen it all before - maybe I'll wait for later volumes...? I did. In fact I felt quite annoyed that the past several years of involving long-term plotted events throughout the GL universe , such as the Sinestro Corps War and Blackest Night, were to be wiped in favour of this `new 52' revamp - especially if the `new' was going to be a retread of the oh-so-old.
But wait! It's not that obvious! The `new' continuity doesn't seem much different to the old - all the coloured Corps are still around, even Carol Ferris was still recently a Star Sapphire.
What this actually is, IS a `jumping-on point' so often promised and very seldom delivered - with some knowledge of previous events enriching the experience for those of us that like that sort of thing.
Trust me - pick this up - you haven't seen it all before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hal Jordan takes a back seat., 29 May 2012
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Thankfully this is one title that doesn't suffer from too much change thanks to the DC reboot.

Whilst still in the "new" DC universe, the storyline pretty much stays faithful to what was going on in the previous run. However the biggest change is the central character to the book. Hal Jordan is now powerless and relegated to a roll of reluctant sidekick to Sinestro. It's great to see Johns give Sinestro the time and space he deserves as a lead roll for once especially being one of the good guys for a change! However Sinestro is still Sinestro - cold, logical and somewhat arrogant but it leads to great dialogue between him and Jordan, never the best of friends. As per usual for Geoff Johns, he is still weaving plot threads in the background which hint at bigger things to come. Certainly one of the new 52 titles which is easy to slip into - providing you were reading it before the changes, if not its no biggy and still very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still high quality GL stories from Johns, 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro (The New 52) (Kindle Edition)
A book that raises more questions than it answers... and is all the stronger for it. Even though this story follows on from the pre-New 52 Green Lantern tales such as Blackest Night, Brightest Day and War of the Green Lanterns, it really does feel like a genuine Volume 1. The focus has changed, the threats have changed and it feels like the start of something big. The only thing that stopped me giving this five stars was the fill-in art on the final 'issue' by Mike Choi. Really dull, flat and uninspired. Managed to make Hal and Carol both look about 21! Not a patch on his work on X-Force. Worth buying all the same though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So good that it was the only DC not rebooted in the new 52, the story just carries on! as it should!, 22 Feb. 2015
People are always surprised when I say my favourite DC superhero is Green Lantern but thats because they base it off the movie.
Geoff Johns is the best DC writer in terms of creating a universe for his character with its own rules (and for Green Lantern, that is probably the most challenging.)
Sintestro can be such a generic villain but he is one of my favourite and likeable, a good example of someone who does horrible things but you can understand due to good writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well this is the best graphic novel I have ever read, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been reading comics for years and I have a fairly big collection of graphic novels from superman, flash,batman and justice league and of course plenty of marvel. Well this is the best graphic novel I have ever read. Geoff johns has made Sinestro and Hal Jordan the best duel act work haha you will actually feel sorrow for Sinestro. Great to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great starting point for new readers, 25 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Lantern Vol. 1: Sinestro (The New 52) (Kindle Edition)
I've been into Green Lantern for a while now but this is the first graphic novel of his read where I haven't been totally overwhelmed by countless references to past stories. I highly recommend this for people who are new to the character and really want to get stuck in. The novel is also really written and pencilled. Hope you enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a really well though out book with excellent artwork., 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I tried the Green Lantern series as a new interest looking to get away from my favourites of the bat family etc, this book examines the relationship between Sinestro and Hal Jordan and Jordans dependency on the ring. It is a really well though out book with excellent artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not much has changed with the New 52 Green Lantern!, 16 April 2014
By 
mrdubyadee (somewhere in time) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the few characters that hasn't changed that much since DC changed their universe around in 2011.Great characters and an alright beginning(?)for Hal,Sinestro and the rest of the GL characters.Looking forward to catching up with the rest of the story so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Onw of the best parts of New52, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is definetly worth a try, the storyline is great, very enjoyable, the characters are likable and funny when needed, the art is fantastic, it’s good to look at. I recommend this book to anyone who loves comics or just interested in getting to know the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews