Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


186 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an omnibus edition of classic page-turning suspense
As its title suggests, this edition brings together in one volume all the adventures of John Buchan's hero, from his first appearance in The Thirty-Nine Steps (1915) to his swan-song in The Island of Sheep (1936). Here is the perfect book for those who may have met Richard Hannay in his first and most famous outing - either in print or in Hitchcock's famous movie -...
Published on 4 May 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hannay stories
Although very dated and containing racially abusive terms, by modern standards, the stories move on at a rattling rate, and I suppose you have to make alowances for the times in which they were written
Published 24 months ago by EMily


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

186 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an omnibus edition of classic page-turning suspense, 4 May 2000
By A Customer
As its title suggests, this edition brings together in one volume all the adventures of John Buchan's hero, from his first appearance in The Thirty-Nine Steps (1915) to his swan-song in The Island of Sheep (1936). Here is the perfect book for those who may have met Richard Hannay in his first and most famous outing - either in print or in Hitchcock's famous movie - and would like to follow his subsequent adventures. The Thirty-Nine Steps is often regarded as the first modern spy story (with the possible exception of Erskine Childers' The Riddle of the Sands - also worth a look), and its breathless pace as its narrator is first pursued by and then pursues a network of German spies against the backdrop of the First World War, remains as effective today as when it was written. The two following books in the series, Greenmantle (1916)and Mr Standfast (1919) also pit Hannay against the might of the Kaiser (he even meets him on one occasion while posing as a pro-German Boer...), taking him across Europe and the Near East. We are also intoduced to his comrades-in-arms: multi-lingual Scottish laird and master of disguise, Sandy Arbuthnot; larger-than-life American industrialist Blenkiron; and Hannay's future wife, the feisty Mary Lamington. The final two books, The Three Hostages (1924) and the Island of Sheep are set after the War, mainly in Britain, and Hannay's adversaries this time are master criminals rather than spies, but the page-turning suspense is every bit as intense, as Hannay races against the clock to bring the malefactors to book... Hannay is a very likeable hero, more complex than the "stiff upper lip" stereotype might suggest. In many ways, he resembles the central characters of Dick Francis's racing thrillers. Like them, Hannay is no intellectual, but he is highly intelligent and has a healthy disrespect for gung-ho heroics. He is, moreover, a perceptive observer of the natural world, and brings a wry - and infectious - sense of humour to his study of human foibles. All in all, John Buchan's "shockers" (as their author called his Hannay stories) deserve a much wider audience and this Penguin omnibus edition is thus to be applauded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous stuff - but it makes for a very big book!, 18 Jan 2010
By 
bookelephant (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This collection of the adverntures of the admirable Richard Hannay is an utter treat. While I can't concur with an earllier reviewer that his later adventures reach the heights of the 39 Steps, they are cracking adventure stories in their own right, and Hannay is one of those chracters whose fate one cares about - it is good to hear that he thrives - albeit amongst a series of hair's breadth escapes and nerve shattering adventures!
The one downside of this compilation that I would flag up to potential purchasers is that the book is a thick one - probably about 7-8 cm deep and correspondingly heavy. This makes it actually quite unwieldy to read - no settling this in one hand and a cup of tea in the other! Also I really don't think the binding quality is v good. By the time I had read all the books, the spine of the volume was very creased and somewhat loose despite my being careful while I read it - the weight of the rest of the book does the job by itself, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!, 4 Dec 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had no idea there were more Buchan novels beyond 39 Steps and only discovered the rest by accident. What a happy find! I am writing a fairly contemporaneous novel and thought this collection would make good research material, but I have to confess I haven't done much key-pounding since I bought it. All the tales are equally deserving of five stars but the descriptions of battle in Mr Standfast are quite outstanding. It's almost like being there, and the end, though terribly melodramatic, is very affecting. Even the endless improbable coincidences seem perfectly acceptable in this sort of writing. Yes, there is racism, homophobia, xenophobia, class snobbery, you name it, but somehow it all seems terribly innocent, even comical, to modern eyes and really doesn't matter. Just don't go calling anyone a 'kaffir' in modern South Africa or they'll lock you up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stories, and amazing value, 31 Aug 2010
By 
Derek Wright (Cheshunt, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've always loved these 'ripping yarns' by John Buchan. 'The Thirty-Nine Steps' is a classic, and the four other stories in the series maintain a high standard. To be able to get all five stories for just 1.99 is amazing value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old, but still excellent., 20 Feb 2009
By 
M. N. Tanner (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The fact that these thriller stories never seem to go out of print speaks for itself. The Thirty Nine Steps is constantly popping up on television and always being ruined by the appearance of the statutory woman who is not to be seen in the original. It is nice in this volume to have all the Richard Hannay books under one cover and to watch the development and worldly advancement of the hero. Although the world is in turmoil in most of these stories they theme behind them is unselfish heroism without thought for self and although some might see them as dated the message that is on the pages of these tales is one for all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Richard Hannay: "The Thirty-Nine Steps","Greenmantle","Mr Standfas [Kindle Edition], 20 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having a hard copy of this great collection, I'm so glad to be able to get a copy on kindle. A combination of a broken arm and the amount I can carry has made the kindle a great tool for carrying a quantity of books around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super value, 15 May 2011
By 
W. Thompson "Akard Ryver" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With almost a thousand pages and several stories, this book is really super value. I have watched all the film versions of the 39 steps but never read the book so now I can, plus the other stories as well all for a bumper price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I had never read any other adventures except the 39 nine steps, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COMPLETE SERIES OF RICHARD HANNAY (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed these stories although they were written ot their time and may upset some of the politically correct brigade. A good reminder that much of what is in the film of 39 nine steps is actually not in the book! Artistic Licence? I would have given 5 stars but the text was clearly converted to Kindle using US software and not checked by a human so there are some american spellings such "offense, defense" which rather spoilt the my enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chap for all seasons, 17 Oct 2005
By 
C. J. Humphris "Philosophical Dad" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These books are a great read; not too deep, great thrillers and set the tone of the period perfectly. All we need now is someone brave enough to make a film of "Greenmantle"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in the past, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read 39 Steps at school and wanted to re-read it.This book gave me that chance and the chance to read the rest of the series at a brilliant price.Thoroughly enjoyed what can only be described as a 'good read '
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1d0e240)

This product

Only search this product's reviews