Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job
This product is about as third party as they come; the one I received is branded as "Shoot" rather than GTMax. Very little planning and design has gone into it and it is really cheaply made. However, it does the job.

In brief, the unit is basically a battery pack which has a sliding end that allows access to a tray which can accommodate 8x AA batteries, giving...
Published 20 months ago by Boing

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor design makes it awkward to use
This is the second battery pack I have bought, the other is the JJC offering. I found this one to be poorly designed. As can be seen in the product photo the battery tray is open ended. This means that pushing the tray back into the housing is what completes the circuit. However there is quite some resistance when doing this; it is very awkward to push back in and get the...
Published 4 days ago by Mr. Paul M. Quirk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 11 Nov 2012
By 
Boing (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: External Flashlight Battery Pack EP-N4 (Replace Canon CP-E4) for Canon Speedlite 600EX, 550EX, 580EX, 580EX II, MR-14EX, MT-24EX (Electronics)
This product is about as third party as they come; the one I received is branded as "Shoot" rather than GTMax. Very little planning and design has gone into it and it is really cheaply made. However, it does the job.

In brief, the unit is basically a battery pack which has a sliding end that allows access to a tray which can accommodate 8x AA batteries, giving you 12 if you include the ones in your flash (I use this with a 580EX II). The unit connects to the flash by a 22" (56cm) curly cable which can stretch to over 60" (152cm). It has a sticker on it warning not to fire more than 20 consecutive flashes.

It comes with an odd little case which has a press-stud closure at one end, a velcro closure at the other, an adjustable velcro loop on one side, and a fixed belt loop on the other. Also packaged in the plain white box was a set of gibberish instructions (wouldn't be the same without them), and a long thumb screw for connecting the battery pack to the base of your camera via the tripod mount.

So the all-important part: tests.
- I used a 580EX II mounted on a Canon EOS 7D in gloomy but not dark conditions, high speed shooting, 2.0 aperture and 1/6400 shutter speed at 35mm, ISO 100.
- The fast shutter speed was chosen so that any frame not supplied enough light by the flash would be noticeably under-exposed or completely black.
- I allowed the flash to use full ETTL-II because this is how I am most likely to use it in any circumstances where I want to use high speed shooting with flash (kind of implies I won't be metering and setting manual power levels between shots).

Using just the batteries in the 580EX II, the flash was able to provide light for three frames with the third noticeably underexposed. There were then three black frames, one underexposed, another three black frames, and one normally exposed frame. It was obviously struggling to provide power.

Adding in the battery pack, the flash was able to provide light for five exposed frames, then one black frame, then two exposed frames, one black, another two exposed frames, another black, another two exposed frames... I think it would have continued like that.

Summary:
(E=Exposed, U=Underexposed, B=Black)

580EX II Only: E E U B B B U B B B E
With the pack: E E E E E B E E B E E B E E

Using the battery pack, the exposed frames were more or less exposed correctly; slight variations were visible on the 7D's LCD screen and using the histogram but these were not anywhere near as obvious as the variations seen when using just the four 580EX batteries. Clearly, having 12 batteries instead of 4 allows the flash unit to supply more power per flash and to shorten the period between flashes ('recycling' time).

If you want to capture rapid-fire sequences lit by flash in dynamic conditions, this is a cheap way to increase the number of keepers you'll get. Although I'd obviously prefer the more expensive original Canon version, I've found this cheaper brand adequate for non-professional purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Poor design makes it awkward to use, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: External Flashlight Battery Pack EP-N4 (Replace Canon CP-E4) for Canon Speedlite 600EX, 550EX, 580EX, 580EX II, MR-14EX, MT-24EX (Electronics)
This is the second battery pack I have bought, the other is the JJC offering. I found this one to be poorly designed. As can be seen in the product photo the battery tray is open ended. This means that pushing the tray back into the housing is what completes the circuit. However there is quite some resistance when doing this; it is very awkward to push back in and get the end clasp to engage.
Compare this with the JJC model with a closed battery tray and the differences are obvious.
This product does work but is awkward to use. I cannot recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to fit batteries., 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: External Flashlight Battery Pack EP-N4 (Replace Canon CP-E4) for Canon Speedlite 600EX, 550EX, 580EX, 580EX II, MR-14EX, MT-24EX (Electronics)
Have just received this item and first impression were ok .However trying to insert the aa batteries proved far more difficult than expected .empty tray fits easily ,with the batteries it requires considerable pressure to lock the battery tray in place ,how many times the unit will stand this pressure before breaking or jamming with batteries is the question.Also if you need to swop out the batteries mid shoot it could be v frustrating.For this reason considering if I keep the unit.
As to the unit in use to early to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Low cost battery pack, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: External Flashlight Battery Pack EP-N4 (Replace Canon CP-E4) for Canon Speedlite 600EX, 550EX, 580EX, 580EX II, MR-14EX, MT-24EX (Electronics)
This unit looks really good and comes with a strong carry case. The only issue I have found in that my NIMH batteries are slightly large and need a bit of effort to get them to fit. Also I need to push quite hard to get the cover to latch in. Power cord feels good quality and the plug fits snuggly into my Canon speedlite. Overall good value for money when compared to the Canon equivalent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars if I had the chance to see the product first, i would buy a more expensive one, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: External Flashlight Battery Pack EP-N4 (Replace Canon CP-E4) for Canon Speedlite 600EX, 550EX, 580EX, 580EX II, MR-14EX, MT-24EX (Electronics)
The product functions well and there is no problem using it. The material though feels more like fragile plastic and one should be care full when pressing it in after putting batteries inside. If I had the chance to see and feel the product before buying, I would probable go for a more expensive one (i know that there is no gar anti that a more expensive one is better either).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars trouble with product, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: External Flashlight Battery Pack EP-N4 (Replace Canon CP-E4) for Canon Speedlite 600EX, 550EX, 580EX, 580EX II, MR-14EX, MT-24EX (Electronics)
This item, Flashlight Battery Pack EP-N4 is not working correctly. The problem that I am facing is that when you put the batteries within the case, it doesn't lock at all and even putting pressure on the case it still is very hard to lock. However without the batteries, it locks fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews