Customer Reviews


506 Reviews
5 star:
 (398)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a good film!
Also glad to hear a second film is coming in a year or two. I don't usually like movies that just seem to act like Glee, but characters such as Fat Amy which is what she is called on film so not being offensive, but yeah she just made it a right laugh.
Published 13 months ago by kallumsmart

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pitch perfect
purchased as part of a Christmas gift. Not my sort of thing, but the recipient was well pleased with it.
Published 13 months ago by JUDY T


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a good film!, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Also glad to hear a second film is coming in a year or two. I don't usually like movies that just seem to act like Glee, but characters such as Fat Amy which is what she is called on film so not being offensive, but yeah she just made it a right laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aca-awesome, 9 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Pitch Perfect [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I love a good musical film and TV shows like Glee so when I saw the trailer for Pitch Perfect at the cinema, I knew it was something that I had to go see. The trailer was funny and only showed clips of songs sung so it didn't really give too much away. The plot is pretty basic and quite predictable but that's normally what you get with this kind of film anyway. In a made up university, different a cappella groups battle it out for places in the national championships and to prove which group is the best in the university.

Anna Kendrick has begun to do quite well for herself since having a small part in the Twilight films. I really liked her in What to Expect When You're Expecting and because of that, it made me want to watch this film even more. Kendrick plays main character Beca, who can be described as alternative compared to the other girls at this particular university. She has a strong interest in making her own mixes of music and generally walks around with a big pair of headphones on. Beca is a witty and outspoken character which I liked about her. She isn't afraid to state her mind when she thinks she can make something better or thinks that something is wrong. Kendrick was really good in this role and played in perfectly.

Being a film about musical groups, there is quite a large cast. From The Bellas, next to Kendrick, Brittany Snow and Rebel Wilson shine in particular. Snow plays one of the leaders of the group and is one of the nicer girls while Wilson plays Fat Amy, a larger Australian girl. I loved the character of Fat Amy so much because she was just hilarious. She has some amazingly funny lines throughout the whole film. Actually, she was probably my favourite character in the whole film and now I want to see more of what she has been in. Unfortunately, the male characters/ cast in the film were nowhere near as good as the girls and even love interest Jesse played by Skylar Astin was a let-down.

Pitch Perfect has a pretty strange soundtrack. Along with some really current songs such as Just The Way You Are by Bruno Mars and Right Round by Flo Rida, there are also songs such as The Sign by Ace of Base and Eternal Flame by The Bangles. However, the mix of songs was something that I found to be really interesting and something that set this film apart from other musicals. The mix of songs is done in such a way though that they go really well together and there are certain reasons for some of the songs. The soundtrack to this film is fantastic and one I would actually like to own.

Overall, as cheesy and predictable as this film is, I loved it. The cast and characters are what made this film so good and along with a funny script and great songs, it was an instant hit for me. This will definitely be getting a place in my DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOT A "GLEE" FULL MOVIE !!!, 29 Mar. 2014
By 
Travmeister (Carlton, Nottingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Clearly aimed at the "Gleeks" (fans of TVs Glee), this uplifting & entertaining musical, comedy, romantic drama really hits the spot.
Now I have to admit .... I am a bit of a Glee fan, but having said that, this movie is "soooooo" entertaining I'm sure even non-Glee fans will enjoy it !

I WATCHED IT 4 TIMES AT THE CINEMA ..... & ENJOYED IT JUST AS MUCH ON EVERY VIEWING !!!
(a very rare & difficult thing for a film to achieve !)

Great cast (including Rebel Wilson as the hilarious "Fat Amy!"), fresh script, inspired direction & really excellent music set pieces ..... All resulting in a thoroughly entertaining movie !

RICHIES RATING = 84%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We love this film!!, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitch Perfect [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
We love this film, gets you singing, gets you laughing and gets your feet tapping! Really good film!! Can't find anything bad to say about this film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC FILM !!!!!!, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitch Perfect [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This film is just BRILLIANT. Loved it from the second it started in the cinema to the second it finished. One of few films I could have stayed at the cinema to see a second time in succession! Good acting, great storyline and the music / singing is just fantastic. Love Anna Kendrick in it, she acts the part really well. Singing is truly amazing, loved it so much I bought the soundtrack. Oh and Fat Amy ha ha ha ha ha ha worth watching it just for her. Funny girl !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'ENJOYABLE FEEL-GOOD MOVIE WITH SOME GREAT INDIVIDUAL VOCAL PERFORMANCES ALONG THE WAY', 19 April 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Beca' joins the college at which her father teaches.
despite the best efforts of the 'Bellas' group leaders,
'Beca' doesn't seem interested at first, her music interests
being in a different field.
the group are rehearsing to try and reach the '2012' acapella
contest, a competition the 'Treblemakers' from the same college
as the 'Bellas' had won the year before.
the leader of the group is reluctant to create a new image using
the style and songs that had failed 'Bellas' before.
to move forward and have any chance the group leader will need
to listen to 'Beca' and the other new recruits.
must admit because of it's teen theme I did struggle through much
of the early part of the film, however as the contest got nearer
the music got better as did the story line.
stick with it and you'll maybe have...the feel good factor.
(Those that enjoyed this one have 'Pitch Perfect 2' to look forward too.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HAVE NODES!, 14 May 2013
The film opens showing us competing collegiate A Cappella groups. The announcers are very snarky which sets the humorous tone for the movie.

Female announcer(Elizabeth Banks): "Nothing makes a woman feel more like a girl then a man singing like a boy."

Male announcer (John Michael Higgins): " Women are about as good at A Cappella as they are at being doctors."

There is some battle of the sexes banter always going on.

The action then picks up for the following year's recruitment at Barden University. The main focus is on Rebecca (Anna Kendrick from "Twilight"). She is the daughter of a college professor who wants to be a music producer and arranger. She is pursued by Jesse (Skylar Astin) who wants to score movies. They end up in rival groups who all seem to have pun names, i.e. "The Treble Makers" or "The Minstrel Cycles". The language they speak to each other is also punny such as getting "pitch slapped."

The female group is lead by Aubrey (Anna Camp) who wants to do the same songs over and over again to the dismay of Rebecca and the snarky judges. The movie is predictable and pretentious. It is a film designed for a female teen audience, although I was able to enjoy it as well. Anna Kendrick's make-up was perfect throughout the film, a flawless beauty. The singing and choreography was enjoyable and professional. Perhaps the best scene was early in the film when they had a "riff-off" when competing A Cappella groups ad lib songs in "battle" against each another.

The diverse female characters, such as "Fat Amy"(Rebel Wilson) made the film enjoyable. A film you can watch with your teen/preteen daughter and not get too embarrassed.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Sexual innuendos. Some adult/teen language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazalicious, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Literally loved this film. I would definitely recommend it to everyone. Great copy too. Buy it guys!! By Bernadette O'Shea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not What You Automatically Think!, 24 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought it was BRILLIANT!!! I didn't know Anna Kendrick could sing? The characters that didn't overshoot the mark were absolutely spot on. I'm not a fan of the woman who plays Fat Amy, usually she annoys me as other characters, and was the main reason I avoided this movie so long, but she was integral to the group chemistry. What makes this film, is that aside from the major 'boy gets girl' obviousness, the majority of the scenes don't play out as you would expect, and that's a major plus. Great film. Watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cheesy but funny., 9 April 2013
This review is from: Pitch Perfect [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
At the end of the day we all know what we're going to get from this film.

Yes, the plot is predictable, but there are some serious laugh out loud moments in there.

Films like Pitch Perfect aren't everyone's cup of tea, I love them because they're so cheesy, and with the added bonus of songs you end up singing along to.

So if you want laughs, cheesy romance and some good songs to sing to, this film is for you. If not, well don't watch it. Simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pitch Perfect [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import]
£20.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews