Customer Reviews


329 Reviews
5 star:
 (265)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected delight.
I would highly recommend this film to all ages, as an adult I was engrossed in "Hotel Transylvania" and found the humour great! The film is ironic and sarcastic and full of quirky jokes! Not to mention that Genndy Tartakovsky's animation is a treat! Embrace your inner monsters, you are in for a delightful ride!

The film "stars" Adam Sandler as Dracula, a loving...
Published 9 months ago by Lola

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
This film failed to ignite my interest to the extent that I wanted. I'd seen the trailer a few times and as this was in the early year sale I decided to go for it. Overall it's quite a fun film, but it feels rushed and doesn't offer the fun and plot that I really wanted. Some of the vocal acting, particularly that of Adam Sandler's Dracula and Andy Samberg as the young...
Published 9 months ago by John Ayton


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected delight., 12 Mar 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hotel Transylvania (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] (Blu-ray)
I would highly recommend this film to all ages, as an adult I was engrossed in "Hotel Transylvania" and found the humour great! The film is ironic and sarcastic and full of quirky jokes! Not to mention that Genndy Tartakovsky's animation is a treat! Embrace your inner monsters, you are in for a delightful ride!

The film "stars" Adam Sandler as Dracula, a loving father who spends his life trying to protect his young daughter, Mavis, from the cruel world of people. With his young daughter coming of age (she hits 118!), Dracula is about to host a party of a lifetime. And here comes a party crasher Jonathan, voiced by hilarious Andy Samberg, a dude and lone traveller who accidentally ends up at the hotel and (you saw it coming) falls in love with Mavis.

All in all, "Hotel Transylvania" has the definite trademark of Adam Sandler and his posse, but it is also a sweet and kind-hearted family film. Especially for the horror loving family. Five stars - no hesitation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gosh, I love animated movies and I need to say that Hotel Transylvania does not disappoint! One of the best releases of 2012 :-) Honestly feel good movie! Get a copy - will definitely make you laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DRACULA GETS A REVAMP, 31 Oct 2012
I'd heard negative reviews about this being nowhere near as funny as many other anmimations and i really don't know why,it's very impressive.
A great idea with Dracula being an overprotective father of his daughter who's just turned 118 (a gag i found amusing). She hoping for her 118th birthday her dad will let her out of the monster hotel just to see what humans are really like.
Along comes a young explorer who falls for her and she for him. He at first assumes this some some kind of fancy dress party,but soon learns the truth. Then it's up to Dracula to keep the explorer a secret and so he becomes a descendant of frankenstein's monster in order to stay there without being slaughtered. The truth about Dracula and his daughter,wife and trouble with the humans is soon revealed. There's a lot of very funny stuff and makes some good points,giving great messages about life and differences in people's attitudes. And the way it handles young love is all very touching,with animation to adore and great voice overs. I honestly can't see why this is considered a bad movie,it's funny,it looks nice,it's got a great plot and makes some good points. And of course,Dracula becomes cool again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOUR ZING WILL COME, 27 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The film opens with a loving nurturing Dracula caring for his daughter in 1895. In order to protect her from evil humans he constructs a huge castle as a refuge for monsters which include, Frankenstein, wolfman, invisible man, bigfoot, zombies, ghouls, Quasimodo etc. We then move to the present as his teen looking daughter turns 118 and wants to see the world. Before the first human shows up we already know the script.

There were a number of fun things about the monsters that kids would enjoy but adults will find tiresome. Dracula constantly denies saying "blah, ba-blah, ba-blah." There is one scene the kids laughed at and that was when someone pulled down the swimming trunks of the Invisible Man. He quickly pulls them back up, tells people "I just got out of the pool! It's cold! Don't judge me!" At one point the Invisible Man is playing charades, which he admits, "I'm not very good at."

At one point Dracula asks if humans would accept them (the monsters) if they "came out." I'm sure there was some kind of message there.

As an adult, I was basically bored with the film which had such great potential. 4 stars from a kids view. Not really scary or funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Pleasant Surprise, 18 Jan 2013
I took my son to see this (he is six) and we both loved it. I honestly expected it to be a 'more of the same' in the field of animated children's films - mildly funny, great animation but on the whole nothing much to shout about. Actually, as well as being funny, it was unexpectedly sweet and uplifting. One of those animated films that appeals to boys as much as girls which is a real plus. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Vamptastic Bleh Bleh Bleh!, 25 May 2014
I find most kids films quite boring or sickly. This is quite unique. The story and characters are fresh and funny and there is enough humour for both kids and adults to enjoy. This film actually made me laugh hard! For fans of How To Train Your Dragon and Ice Age. The cast are great and I was surprised at Adam Sandler who was hilarious, I usually hear his name and run for the hills. This really is a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hotel transylvania, 12 May 2013
absolutely fang-tastic! the kids love it and its an animation even older family members can never tire of watching. the voices match the characters perfectly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half Term Happiness, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for DD's, they absolutely loved this film, watched over and over again so much that they now do whole scenes, with accents to amuse theirselves! especially at mealtimes! Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The whole family loves this film, such a funny film to watch. Would advice this film to everyone, love love love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great storyline, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good one for the kids and I loved the music score. FIrst saw it at Halloween and the kids have been wanting it ever since. Doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hotel Transylvania (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012]
Hotel Transylvania (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] by Genndy Tartakovsky (Blu-ray - 2013)
£10.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews