Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film,
Continues to keep the story line intact, but you need to watch the others to keep up with the full story line. Again Great film. waiting for the next installment.
Published 12 months ago by Mr P

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I expected more
This movie is less excited, too much action. There is no story like before, just killing. I give it a try to watch again, but it is far away of the first 4.
Published 10 months ago by Andrea Korodi


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film,, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Continues to keep the story line intact, but you need to watch the others to keep up with the full story line. Again Great film. waiting for the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resi Evil's penultimate installment, 27 Feb 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Retribution opens with a taster from where the previous installment, Afterlife, left it. With Alice(Milla Jovovich) who has lost her powers, left stranded on the ship, Arcadia, with survivors, as Umbrella swoop in to mop them up, in a nicely done opening sequence that rewind's the unfolding action & then plays it out in real time to fruition. This time around Alice is a prisoner in an Umbrella testing facility, where they use clones to enact the effect of the T virus has in populated areas. In what feels like a remix of the original Resi Evil film, the Red Queen is back in charge & the clones of past characters return, Rain (Michelle Rodriguez), Shade (Colin Salmon) & Carlos (Oded Fehr) led by an Umbrella controlled Jill Valentine (Sienna Guillory) , are out to halt Alice's escape. No chance for her you might think ? but as help comes from the unlikeliest of places, Albert Wesker (Shawn Roberts), sends in a team to help break her out, in order to save what's left of mankind.

Overall it's the same formula & quality we have seen in the past 3 films since the original, lets face it, since then it's been about watching Milla Jovovich is skin tight/revealing cloths kicking butt(no complaints), than the survival horror the game was based on. So saying it's better or worse than X installment since then is futile, as you know what your getting before you hit that buy button. A simple plot that allows Alice to go up against Umbrella's horde of zombies & super mutants once again, as she slices & dices to great one on one action choreography, played out to a complimentary rhythmic sound track. The opening sequence's managed to grab me & i was very impressed & in anticipation of what was to follow, which i found surprising considering all the negative reviews iv'e seen about this film.

What there is of it, the acting is good for a Resi Evil film, in that it manages to support the rest of the film well enough, as we wait with baited breath for the next action sequence to blow us away. In this respect, the film's 1 hour 30 minute run time flew past so quickly, that it had me wanting for more (brainssssss) come the finish. And, if Retribution's ending is anything to go by, it entices us with a glimpse at what will inevitably be the finale to the series in the next Resi Evil installment (Mmmm.... more brainssssss).

In conclusion, for Resi Evil fans this is another worthy formulaic action packed installment, that set's up the finale to the series. Milla Jovovich rocks! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'HUMANITY'S FIGHT CONTINUES', 25 Feb 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Resident Evil: Retribution (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] (Blu-ray)
the war against the 'virus' stricken majority continues.
'alice' is being held at 'umbrella's' underwater research
facility.
friends are trying to reach her,'alice' is needed on the
outside.
the facility will present 'alice' and her friends with
images that are often not real.
to escape they have to fight against the computer controlled
enviroment.
an action -packed visual treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Set up for finale, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not too bad at all, setting it up nicely for a great finale. I cannot wait for the final installment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stars..., 25 Mar 2013
By 
Tor Johannessen "TeJe" (Stokmarknes, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Who doesn't wanna see Milla Jovovich in Resident Evil?
These movies have been a while, and it's almost as it have been to much of it. Almost.
There are maybe some of the old stuff from the first movies packed into this movie. Some cool twist that I can't say to much about without given some spoiler. One have to just see the movie. This may be the one movie that someone either hate, or just love it.
But if we all like the movies before the last one of Resi movies and love them, so will we do with this one too.
Sound and picture is 5/5 for them both in HD. I've only a ten years old surround receiver, but the sound is amazing itself. There are a long time since last time I've heard good surround in my living room, but Resident Evil Retribution is like "wow..."
Resident Evil have been a while, but I'll definitly see the next movie too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Penultimate Film?, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil: Retribution (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] (Blu-ray)
This looks like it is now set up for the final piece.
Milla Jovovich carries on her role perfectly, and is still smoking hot to boot.
Yes it helps to be a Resident Evil fan so if you watch this film on its own it won't make much sense even if it is stunningly graphic.
Roll on the next please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. B. C. Lilley "BERNARD LILLEY" (LANCASHIRE UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as good as the last one.I didnt expect the ending ,but it wasvery good if your into zombies and the like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One more to the collection, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am resident evil lover and so I am collecting all the films. To be honest this wasn't the best one I have seen. But as always lots of brilliant effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie series, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Philip B. Davison (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil: Retribution (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] (Blu-ray)
Now I am not a big zombie or cut people up type of film person but I do like these as it doesn't go in that direction so much and you have characters that you get to understand but not to much so you lose the film. The effects are as always top notch, the music (which to me is always one the most important things in a movie) is always actually enjoyable at times, some bits get a bit over worked. The story idea was actually very clever the fact that they are all in a special training and experimentation facility, occasionally the CGI landscapes look a bit fake, for example the red square, moscow bit, it just doesn't look right somehow plus some explosions and the chain saw piece where the zombie soldier is killing one of the rescuers, the blood splatter part is very computer generated look.

But its very entertaining and immensely enjoyed.

The bluray quality is good, sound even better 5.1

Extras are interesting as always, a favourite with me, but you always want a little more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good film, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good film, if a zombie apocalypse is your thing then this is a film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil: Retribution (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012]
Resident Evil: Retribution (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] by Paul W.S. Anderson (Blu-ray - 2013)
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews