Customer Reviews


410 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (71)
2 star:
 (55)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good remake
This review is for the Blu-Ray version. Amazon have a habit of adding reviews from one format under that of another. Therefore comments of quality of picture and sound may not be applicable for other formats.

It is rare that I get to like a remake of a film, sometimes it works well, other times the film industry are just milking the theme. In this case I think...
Published 9 months ago by SBno1

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars KILL HIM ON SIGHT!
I kept thinking about the original film while watching this one. To put it simply: Arnold was better than Colin Farrell. Kate Beckinsale in the expanded role is better than Sharon Stone, and I really love them both. Jessica Biel is better than anyone, if you don't believe me, ask her. What I really liked about this film is the updated special effects, down to the...
Published 22 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars KILL HIM ON SIGHT!, 14 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Total Recall [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I kept thinking about the original film while watching this one. To put it simply: Arnold was better than Colin Farrell. Kate Beckinsale in the expanded role is better than Sharon Stone, and I really love them both. Jessica Biel is better than anyone, if you don't believe me, ask her. What I really liked about this film is the updated special effects, down to the electronic notes on the refrigerator door. I love attention to detail.

The action was fast paced. The future looks similar to "The Fifth Element" but with more computer gizmos. If you have seen the original version, then you can miss the first few minutes of this one and be able to pick it up.

For some reason they eliminated all the fun aspects of going to Mars. That is why we watched the first film. Instead we get a film where we simply root for the terrorists. The terrorists are revolting against the Chancellor who wants to replace workers with synthetics, although this theme was poorly developed.

One of the aspects of both productions that I didn't like was the initial dream sequence. Had they eliminated that from both films, then the genius of the script would have been the ambiguity of reality vs. the recall machine.

The film included 3D holograms, Star Wars stormtroopers, Bill Nighy for a brief moment, and an inadvertent mention of an old film "Hauser's Memory."

What I didn't like about this film was all the action. It didn't have drama scenes outside of the beginning. No colorful characters. No time for a Biel/ Farrell love scene. It was like watching someone play a video game. Seriously, where was the writing? The clever lines? The complex character? The relationship? Any moron can write "Bang bang, run shoot, bang, chase, shoot, bang."

Parental Guide: F-Bomb, Nudity (Kaitlyn Leeb wearing a fake chest) no sex. 3 stars is pushing it. Can't wait for the video game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good remake, 25 Jun. 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total Recall (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] (Blu-ray)
This review is for the Blu-Ray version. Amazon have a habit of adding reviews from one format under that of another. Therefore comments of quality of picture and sound may not be applicable for other formats.

It is rare that I get to like a remake of a film, sometimes it works well, other times the film industry are just milking the theme. In this case I think sufficient time has passed for the film to be given a different angle and good use of special effects.

This is the kind of film that plays a little with your mind a where you begin to think what If I am actually living a dream right now! Doug Quaid (Colin Farrell) has had reoccurring dreams that are leaving him a little dissatisfied about his life and takes a visit to Rekall. The company Rekall can implant dreams into your mind so that you feel you have lived out some fantasy. Quaid chooses to be a spy, but something goes wrong in the process and the police immediately burst through the doors to capture Quaid. Quaid now needs to work out if this is part of the fantasy dream implant or real life. Difficult to do when his wife (Kate Beckinsdale) is now out to kill him.

This is a punchy action film that keeps a good pace throughout the film. The CGI is used to good effect and support the film as opposed to carrying it. Blu-Ray quality is spot on, good sharp images, textures come to life with the higher definition and no patching in the darker scenes, which is just as well as it is a dark film (not unlike Bladerunner). I don't have any fancy audio equipment, just the speakers on the TV, but the sound was full and rich with good thumps from the bass notes. No doubt this would be much better on a decent set of audio speakers.

If you like the mind play of Inception and Matrix, then this is a film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


132 of 149 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning, entertaining but flawed, 1 Sept. 2012
By 
J. Potter "johniebg" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Total Recall [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Just in case you didn't know, there was once a book called 'We can remember it for you wholesale', which was made into a movie in 1990 starring Arnold Schwarzenegger. It was called Total Recall and was very popular. It was about a man called Douglas Quaid who pays to go on a virtual holiday as a spy to Mars, but as they're implanting the spy memory, they discover he's already a spy. Cue lots of running around on Mars, alien artefacts and literally eye popping special effects.

For this remake we fast forward (cough) twenty two years and now Colin Farrell is Quaid, Len Wiseman (Underworld, Die Hard 4) is directing and Kate Beckinsale is reprising the famous role of Quaid's wife. A mouth watering prospect with Farrell an action star who really can act. Wiseman really knows his action and we all know what Beckinsale can do in leather hotpants.

Visually Total Recall (2012) is stunning. It is one of the richest and deepest realised futuristic worlds I've ever seen. It pulls heavily on Blade Runner and Minority Report but carves a distinctive, grittier feel of its own. A superb backdrop for what turns out NOT to be a remake of the original movie but a re-imagining of Philip K. Dicks original story. There is no Mars here, no eye popping effects or ancient artifacts. Quaid now works in a factory building synthetic police, a job he commutes to across the planet in a shuttle that literally flies through the centre of the earth. But at night Quaid isn't sleeping, he dreams of being chased. When he goes to Recall the real memories are realised and mayhem ensues, practically non-stop to the final credits. Along the way Wiseman tips his hat to all the fan favourite moments of the original and to Minority Report and adds some very deft touches, including a hint of a future connection with James Bond.

Come the end my overriding sense was of confusion. The beginning was exposition heavy but then we barely had any story narrative at all to the end. I think the confusion came mostly from my expectation for what the movie would be over what it was. Something similar to what I felt walking out of Dark Knight Rises, I just didn't feel I had a grip on what happened. With Dark knight this was a problem resolved by watching it again. These two movies are the first times I've been aware of a movie taking me on a ride and not caring so much that I knew where I was going, because they knew I'd figure it out with subsequent viewings via one medium or another. That's smart modern movie making for my mind.

That said there are failings in Total Recall that time isn't going to fix. First up is the bad guy: Cohaagen, played by Bryan Cranston. He barely gets any screen time so his threat is mute. Matthias the rebel leader is played by Bill Nighy, but the impact was lost because, well, it was Bill Nighy. The cross world shuttle didn't have the gravitas that running around on Mars did. Throughout you get a sense this is very confident movie making that didn't quite fit into the two hour runtime. Except there was at least one major and fairly lengthy action sequence that seemed almost totally pointless. Maybe they ran out of edit time.

Total Recall is a movie I'll appreciate more with time. Unlike the superb Dark Knight Rises I suspect there is just too much here though that doesn't work for me to ever lose myself in a story well told. It felt more like a two hour trailer spotlighting the talents of Farrell, Beckinsale and Wiseman against a stunning CGI backdrop. Worth the admission for the visuals alone.

Hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Total Rubbish!, 28 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr. G. Robinson "garyrobinson15" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Recall [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
If you’ve seen Blade Runner, Minority Report, I Robot, The Fifth Element or any number of other better science fiction films then you might as well give this extremely derivative offering a miss because you’ve already seen it all before.

Colin Farrell although a fine actor, is miscast beyond belief and is no Arnold Schwarznegger. This type of film needed a screen presence not an actor. Director Len Wiseman of Die Hard 4 is no Paul Verhoven and it shows. The Future word (see Blade Runner and The Fifth Element) has been seen many times before on film and is just plain lazy. Rated 12, this sanitised hollow shell of the original is firmly targeted at teenagers as is evidenced by the juvenile script and non-stop action. There is a noisy bullet ridden action sequence every 10 minutes with little in-between. The strangely slow-witted machine gun toting killer robots (see I Robot) can’t hit a barn door at twenty feet and as a result are just eye candy and no threat at all. Just what you would expect from a film targeted at 12 year olds that can show a million gun shots but very little if any of the consequences of such constant unrelenting gunfire. The obligatory overlong chase sequence (see Minority Report) is derivative in the extreme. The regular fist fight scenes seem to go on forever and are embarrassingly bad. The editing during the action sequences is so frenetic you often can’t tell what is going on. I think the editor must have been promoted from Music Videos. Editing is there to enhance storytelling not hinder it.

The two female leads look so similar I kept getting them mixed up. Bryan Cranston from Breaking Bad is in there but he’s underused and is little more than a cinematic cliché. Mr Farrell is so unconvincing I really didn’t care. The end is so obvious you really don’t need to watch the last 10 minutes. But like almost all films without an end something big blows up!

I can normally find something to recommend a film, neat design, good direction, fine performances, nice music, there is normally something, but not this time.

However you look at it. Total Recall 2012 is a huge forgettable derivative disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining if predictable remake, 12 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Total Recall (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] (Blu-ray)
Fans of popular movies are always skeptical whenever their favourite movies are remade. For me it's never really been an issue, as the fans of the orginal will always have the original film there to watch even if they don't like the remake. While the remake of Total Recall is definately not on the level of the orginal, it's certianly a fun and entertaining movie that's cetianly worth a look at.
Colin Farell makes a likeable lead as Douglas Quaid, a seemingly normal man who discovers he may not be what he seems after attending the Total Recall programme which reveals his true past. Kate Beckinsale is acutally better in the role of Quaid's 'wife' than Sharon Stone from the orginal and is more believable in her performances. Jessica Beil even gives a likeable perromance as the women who Quaid has been dreaming about and who may hold the truth to Quaid's identity.
True, this version of Total Recall often feels lie, a combination of many great Sci-Fi movies, particularly Blade Runner and the story is pretty predictable especially if you've seen the orginal movie, but it's still entertaining and you won't feel like you've wasted a couple of hours after watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Consider that a divorce!, 1 Dec. 2014
By 
Dern (UK, Dorset) - See all my reviews
The introduction showed subtitles in German for text on the screen, then they disappeared. Still can't work out why? I really like the film, and the little homages made to the original 'Two weeks!'

But it still lacked a lot, visually, it's outstanding but the lead good v evil, Cohegan and Matthias were empty and I love Bill Nighy films but they didn't use him enough. Not enough mutants either... "I've got fiiiiive kids to feed!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a waste! I agree., 5 Sept. 2014
By 
Jac Knight (Bucks, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
What a waste of all the imagination into the production design, even though it's not original - influenced by Blade Runner. i was intrigued at the beginning, but the story never quite pick up - really flat. What a waste of good actors like BIll Nightly and Bryan Cranston. If I were in my teens or early twenties and never watched the original, I might have liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great action sequences a more plausible story line than the ..., 24 Aug. 2014
Right, ok we. Have All seen the tongue in cheek original starring Annie.This is most definitely not in that vein or neither does it aspire to be.Visually stunning, great action sequences a more plausible story line than the original yet missing all the charm, humour and quick action. It went on a little to long and tried to over explain itself.However as an evenings light entertainment it was very a very easy watch and certainly not as bad as many reviewers would have you believe.Forget the original, suspend belief for a short while and Enjoy for what it is.A visual scifi feast full of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring and humourless remake, 10 Oct. 2014
A mostly boring and humourless remake that pales in comparison to both the OTT Arnie extravaganza and the original Phillip K. Dick short story. The characters have zero depth, the main villain lacks menace, the action scenes are repetitive and lack tension and the story, by the end, is confusing and dull. It wears its influences on its sleeve (the Matrix, Inception, Blade Runner, Minority Report), but just isn't in the same league as those classics. There's a scattering of neat sci-fi ideas (the camera-bomb is cool), but you're best off sticking to the old Arnie movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste, 19 Aug. 2014
Forget about the plot or whether or not it lives up to the Arnie version just consider the following premise...

Apparently in the future only 2 areas are safe - England and Australia. Connecting these 2 areas is a tunnel that somehow makes it possible to travel through the centre of the earth - you know, that mass of spinning metal as hot as the surface of the sun. And even better news, it only takes 17 minutes! And why does our faithful hero make the journey everyday? So he can work on a production doing repetitive manual labour making robots. Robots that are so sophisticated and advanced that they are trusted to serve as the police force. Er so if thats the case, why not just have robots making robots instead of sending people to the other side of the world everyday?

It all looks very futuristic but the story is weak, the characters one dimensional and the action is tedious because you never really care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Total Recall (Blu-ray + UV Copy)  [2012]
Total Recall (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] by Len Wiseman (Blu-ray - 2012)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews