Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

We are in a golden age of comic book movies right now. No movies show that as perfectly as Christopher Nolan's "Dark Knight Trilogy" -- three movies that explore the formative years of the legendary superhero Batman, from the beginning of his crusade for justice to the explosive climax. Even people who aren't into capes and tights can appreciate this story.

"Batman Begins": After his parents' murderer is paroled, young bazillionaire Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) vanishes on an aimless journey across the world. He's taken under the wing of the mysterious Henri Ducard (Liam Neeson), who offers to train him to be a member of the League of Shadows. But then Bruce learns that the League plans to annihilate Gotham, his home city.

Gotham has become rotten to the core with mobs, crooked cops and a fear-inducing shrink. Using the company's discarded prototypes, Bruce fashions an armored bodysuit and tanklike vehicle, and uses them to fight crime wherever he finds it. But the League still has plans to destroy Gotham, and the only one who can stop them is Batman.

"The Dark Knight" is feeling pretty good about his battle against crime, especially since the new DA Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart) is a morally-upright good-guy. But Batman isn't prepared for the Joker (Heath Ledger) a mad clownish psychopath who has hired himself out to the mob to destroy their worst enemy, the Dark Knight. Even worse, he has the ultimate way of blackmailing Batman into doing what he wants: holding all of Gotham hostage.

"The Dark Knight rises picks up eight years later -- crime is almost gone, Batman has vanished, and Bruce Wayne is a recluse. But then a terrifying masked man named Bane arrives in Gotham, attacking Batman as revenge for the League's destruction. He will turn Gotham into a living nightmare, unless the Dark Knight can rise again...

Most directors would have given these movie a distinctly comic-book, slick pop-culture feel. But no matter how hard you search, there's not a single hint in "The Dark Knight Trilogy" that anything kitschy or campy came before it, or that it was originally a comic book. Instead Christopher Nolan creates a movie as dark, tightly-wound and intense as Batman himself.

But since this is a comic-book movie, Nolan peppers them with kinetic action, high-speed chases and massive explosions. The dialogue is drizzled with dry humor ("That isn't exactly what I had in mind when I said I wanted to inspire people"," Batman says, looking at a bunch of impersonators), mostly to temper the overhanging sense of horror and apprehension.

The most striking part of these movies is Nolan's delving into morality, and the darker side of human nature. He heaps more tragedy and trauma on Batman than just his parents' death, and delicately traces the moral boundaries -- or lack of them -- between Batman and his foes.

Christian Bale is simply brilliant as Bruce Wayne/Batman -- sure, his growly voice can get a bit silly at times, but he perfectly conveys the strength, pain and determination of a man who will sacrifice everything to save others. Michael Caine is awesome as his faithful butler/father figure, and there are solid backing performances by Morgan Freeman and Gary Oldman.

And the performances of the villain actors are absolutely brilliant. Everybody knows of the late Heath Ledger's spellbindingly chilling performance as the Joker, a casually corrosive creature who believes himself to be the yin to Batman's yang. But Tom Hardy and Liam Neeson are also brilliant as cunning, clever people who are determined to destroy Gotham.

The biggest problem is that Nolan isn't very good at casting women. Maggie Gyllenhaal and the pouty Katie Holmes are both hideously miscast as the cruel, manipulative Rachel Dawes, who treats Bruce's heart like a toy. Anne Hathaway is the best of the bunch -- a pretty baffling choice as Catwoman, but she does a decent job.

"The Dark Knight Trilogy" contains some of the best superhero movies ever made -- a dark, gritty, richly-imagined tale of one man's quest against chaos and evil.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Batman Begins explores the origins of the Batman legend and the Dark Knight's emergence as a force for good in Gotham.

With the help of Lieutenant Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent, the Batman has been making headway against local crime...

Eight years after the events of The Dark Knight, the terrorist leader Bane arrives in Gotham City, pushing it and its police force to their limits, forcing its former hero Batman to resurface after taking the fall for Harvey Dent's crimes.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
11 comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
Anyone who is leaning toward buying this set because of the included book, 'The Art and Making of The Dark Knight Trilogy', should be wary - Unlike the product image, which shows the hardcover edition of the book (which is available separately) the version included with this box set is not merely slimmed down, but heavily abridged too - It features many of the images from the original but almost all the text has been entirely removed. Given that the book allegedly feature rare insight into the intentions of those involved in making this trilogy, it was disappointing to find we only get the pictures - As a bonus addition, it's still a very nice touch, but the differences could be defined more clearly in the product image and description.

(Also, as mentioned elsewhere, the book also isn't quite the right dimensions for the box and requires a piece of polystyrene in order to sit flush with the disc sleeve)
11 comment|87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2015
A necessary reboot to be made to due to the atrocities that Joel Schumacher did to one of the most famous superhero hero in his vesrions.

Batman Begins.
A great superhero film with a marvelous backstory to the character of Batman played excellently by Christian Bale. Supporting cast are great Michael Caine as Alfred gives a fatherly and mentor figure brilliantly. Morgan Freeman does what he does best as Lucius Fox
Gary Oldman is probably the best Jim Gordon ever to be portrayed in Batman media. Liam Neeson and Cillian Murphy as villains Ra's Al Ghul and Scarecrow are superb even though their characters motivations are somehow illogical. There are inconsistencies with the love story and the villains purpose in teh story, nonetheless Christopher Nolan as director saves the Batman franchise by making it very moving.

The Dark Knight
The definitive Batman film with incredible direction, story and acting. This surpasses Batman Begins with the best portrayal of the Joker as the villain o the film played wonderfully by Heath Ledger which sadly had passed before the film's release. The action sequences are well-structured. The supporting character Harvey Dent turned Two-face played by Aaron Eckhardt gives a good performance as a promising politician wh then turns into crime due to tragic events. The other cast Bale,Caine ,Oldman and Freeman are slightly absent in teh film but still hold up to their performances. Once more the love story is too vague even though Gyllenhaal replaces Katie Holmes in this but that can be forgiven for it's great film making craftiness.

The Dark Knight Rises.
This fails to live up to The Dark Knight it's poorly paced in story and character development and tries to be be similar to Batman Begins which fails. The villains are not as outstanding as the Joker in the Dark knight even though Tom Hardy does give a solid performance as Bane. Anne Hathaway as Cat woman was in no way going to surpass Michelle Pfeiifer as did Heath Ledger for Jack Nicholson.What is also annoying is that Joseph Gordon Levitt playing a cop who would turn out to be Robin at the end o the film is not interesting The original actors do what they can in their roles.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
It's hard to believe in the current comic book film age that it took the best part of a decade for a decent Batman film to come back to screen. Back in the late 90s thanks to the horror show that was Batman and Robin, Batman was Schumachered.

Thank god for Christopher Nolan who rescued the character and gave it a 21st century look. Christian Bale proved to be the natural successor to Micheal Keaton as both the tortured Bruce Wayne and the Vengeful Dark Knight. Michael Caine is suprisingly good as loyal Butler Alfred. Great support from Gary Oldman as the beleaguered Commissioner Jim Gordon and Morgan Freeman as the wise Lucis Fox.

As for the films and villians: In Batman Begins it sets the origins of Batman and how Wayne dons the cowl. Liam Neeson on fine form as Raas Al Ghul and Cillain Murphy as the insane Scarecrow.

The Dark Knight - set approximately a year after Begins and Gotham is set for anarchy thanks mainly to the late Heath Ledger's Mad Dog Joker. (Ledger is fantastic in this role and sadly receive a posthumous Best Supporting Actor Oscar). Arron Eckhart is also superb as the good guy turned bad Harvey Dent/Harvey Two Face.

The Dark Knight Rises - set 8 years after TDK follows up with a lost Bruce Wayne and Jim Gordon trying to make sense of their purpose. Anne Hathaway turns up the heat as the sexy Selena Kyle/Catwoman and an almost unrecognisable Tom Hardy is great as the imposing masked Bane.

Nolan captures the darkness of Gotham and mythology of Batman perfectly (even better than Tim Burton) including the new Barmobile which looks awesome.

All captured in quality Blu Ray. The Knight is always Darkest before the Dawn. You had better believe it. 5 stars
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 February 2016
GOODIES:

This standard size 11.5 x 8 x 3 inches cardboard box set (similar size to other sets like Singing in The Rain, Sound of Music, etc) opens from the top. This set is part of limited edition (total 141,500).

1 A message from Christopher Nolan.
2 There are five 11.5 x 8 inch Mondo art prints by artist Jock, featuring his unique renditions of the trilogy’s villains: Scarecrow, Ra’s al Ghul, Two-Face, Joker, and Bane. Very well done. Be careful not to put your fingerprints on them. The Joker miniposter is my favourite.
3 There is a 48-page hardcover book “The Art and Making of The Dark Knight Trilogy,” containing behind-the-scenes with production stills and behind the scenes images from all three movies. But it was pared down from its 300-or-so pages coffee table edition. Nevertheless, it was very well done.
4 There are 6 blu-ray discs, housed in a large hardcover book which features art from all three movies and it is very well put together.
(1) Disc 1: Batman Begins (movie and special features)
(2) Disc 2: The Dark Knight (movie)
(3) Disc 3: The Dark Knight (special features)
(4) Disc 4: The Dark Knight Rises (movie)
(5) Disc 5: The Dark Knight Rises (special features)
(6) Disc 6: The Dark Knight Trilogy (special features)*new

Please note that the above movies are NOT newly-remastered versions, simply reboot from before. Very disappointing for such an elegant box. Warner Bros., you could have done better.

The star and the most exciting aspect belongs to all new Special Features on disc 6 for the Dark Knight Trilogy. This 76 minute documentary is the “main event” and includes interviews with Christopher Nolan, Guillermo Del Toro, Damon Lindelof, Michael Mann, Richard Roeper, Zack Snyder and many other Warner Bros. executives and producers. It’s split up into several chapters and there’s tons of behind-the-scenes footage. For the first time ever, the IMAX scenes from The Dark Knight and The Dark Knight Rises are available in their original 4:3 aspect ratio. It is quite a different experience from that in the movie when the picture was cropped to fill the screen.
5 Three Mattel Hot Wheel Vehicles: Batmobile, the Batpod and the Tumbler. The Batmobile even comes with a little stand so you can display it to look like its hovering in the air. Very cute and quite fragile. A little too small for my liking. Definitely not as elegant as the larger size Batpod that came with the Dark Knight Rises box set. And also, why is the Batpod coloured gold? Nevertheless, they will all be displayed on top of my various equipments in the Lee’s Theatre. Of course, they are all made in China.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Although I already have the three movies in this trilogy, I still bought this box set. I waited until the price dropped down to $29.99 on a One-Day Special. This nice looking box set will be proudly displayed next to my many other similar sized box sets outside my theatre. The Special Features for the Dark Knight Trilogy has new materials and very well done. If you don’t own the above movies, this set is an ideal way to introduce you to the Dark Knight.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
All three fantastic films in director Christopher Nolan's epic superhero trilogy, starring Christian Bale in his dual role as Bruce Wayne/Batman

'Batman Begins' (2005)
Explores the origins of the Batman legend and the Dark Knight's emergence as a force for good in Gotham. In the wake of his parents' murder, disillusioned industrial heir Bruce Wayne (Bale) travels the world seeking the means to fight injustice and turn fear against those who prey on the fearful. He returns to Gotham and unveils his alter-ego: Batman, a masked crusader who uses his strength, intellect and an array of high-tech deceptions to fight the sinister forces that threaten the city.

'The Dark Knight' (2008)
Sees Gotham's avenging angel squaring-up to a new kid on the block - psychotic prankster, the Joker (Heath Ledger, in the role that won him a posthumous Oscar for Best Supporting Actor). In the space of a year, Batman (Bale), aided by Commissioner Gordon (Gary Oldman) and new District Attorney Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart), has managed to rid Gotham's streets of the organised crime gangs that once ravaged the city. But just when the authorities think they're finally making progress in their fight against crime, the appearance on the streets of a sinister new figure, with a demented grin and a passion for chaos, causes panic among the good people of Gotham, and leads to a battle of wits between Batman and the Joker which threatens to get extremely personal.

'The Dark Knight Rises' (2012)
Set eight years on from the events of the 'The Dark Knight', sees Batman returning to save Gotham City from the evil clutches of brutal terrorist Bane (Tom Hardy) and his enigmatic sidekick, Selina Kyle (Anne Hathaway). However, Batman's ability to act as an avenging angel is curtailed by the fact that he is now on Gotham City Police Department's Most Wanted list, having assumed responsibility for the crimes of deceased District Attorney Harvey Dent. The all-star supporting cast includes Morgan Freeman, Gary Oldman, Michael Caine, Marion Cotillard and Joseph Gordon-Levitt
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
I loved all three movies, and I'm sure the blu rays are amazing to watch. But when I received the box set this morning I was really disappointed. For starters there was the random piece of paper stuck to the back which described each of the movies. I don't understand why it was there at all if it wasn't simply going to be the design for the back of the box, as having removed it; my box already has white spots where the glue has damaged it. the booklet of how the movies were made is a nice touch, but I thought it was very cheap to just put a piece of polystyrene in the box so that you could see it. it would have been easy to put an indent in the box so that the blu rays and booklet were the same level and I didn't have to take the blu rays out to get to the booklet. Then I actually opened the blu ray box. 2 out of 5 of the discs don't have a title on them. So it's not that easy to tell which disc is 'Batman Begins', and which disc is 'The Dark Knight'. All the other discs have 'The Dark Knight Rises', or 'The Dark Knight Special Features', and I find that inconsistency and lack of clarity extremely annoying. I realise I'm nit-picking and no one else is probably bothered, but when this came through my door this morning, I expected better.
1111 comments|109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
The Dark Knight Trilogy (DVD + UV Copy) This is a review mainly on the bonus disc that is exclusive (to my knowledge) to this set in the U.K. When I received "The Dark Knight Rises" DVD for my Christmas, I was disappointed. It was not because of the film (which is brilliant) but the special features, or should I say lack of. I found it very unfair the Blu-Ray had all the special features and the DVD only a small, but very good, documentary on Bruce Wayne's character. I also found it unfair since the DVD Boxset had a second disc.
So, last week I went to my local supermarket and saw the DVD Boxset for £20. Last Chance Saloon. I got it there and then and never looked back. But was it worth it? Without a shadow of a doubt, yes. From what I saw you get exactly the features as you do on the Blu-Ray. "The Batmobile" is very informative on the history of the vehicle, ranging from its origins as Bruce Wayne's Sedan in the comics to the Tumbler in the Christopher Nolan Trilogy.
The "Ending the Knight" featurettes are informative on the making of the film. They are divided into 3 sub-categories, "Production", "Character" (where you get the same featurette on Bruce Wayne as you do on the first disc) and "Reflections". There is also a trailer archive and a poster art gallery on the disc to round of the package.
It may be annoying to buy this if bought the previous 2 films separately but it is worth it if you are interested in the making of the film. Also a little bit on the packaging. It has a pretty cool box lenticular and contains an interesting mini-book on the making of the trilogy. All in all, a good set worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Doesn't Matter how many times you sit through and watch the films, they are as enjoyable as the first time you watched them.
In my personal opinion, the best of the bunch is the final part.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)