Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sound quality and a solid northern soul selection
There are many Northern Soul compilations out there but this is a good one with excellent sound quality and a solid track selection. Some of the tracks were released on CD in the 'Talcum Soul' series but with less sound quality, others were spread across the excellent 'Soul Underground' two CDs and others. There are strong choices made from such as Herman Hitson, Lou...
Published 24 months ago by M. A. Coyle

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars northern soul
Liked this cd brought back many memories of the all nighters, national scooter rallies too. a must for all soul music lovers.
Published 20 months ago by Caddie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sound quality and a solid northern soul selection, 6 Aug 2012
By 
M. A. Coyle "Mark Coyle" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are many Northern Soul compilations out there but this is a good one with excellent sound quality and a solid track selection. Some of the tracks were released on CD in the 'Talcum Soul' series but with less sound quality, others were spread across the excellent 'Soul Underground' two CDs and others. There are strong choices made from such as Herman Hitson, Lou Rawls, Jive Five and Annabelle Fox that are less obvious selections but all the better for it. At this price you really can't go wrong and can buy with confidence.

Here is the track listing:

disc 1
1. Better Use Your Head - Little Anthony & the Imperials
2. Skiing in the Snow - Invitations
3. Dance Dance Dance - The Casualeers
4. I'll Do Anything - Doris Troy
5. Number One in Your Heart - Herbie Goins
6. A Lil' Lovin' Sometimes - Alexander Patton
7. I Love You, Baby - Cindy Scott
9. Hooked by Love - Homer Banks
10. What Are You Trying to Do - Irma Thomas
11. You're a Puzzle (Feat. Eugene Pitt) - Jive Five (The)
12. Mr. Soul Satisfaction - Timmy Willis
13. The Real Thing - Tina Britt
14. Man Up in the Sky - Barrett Strong
15. He Always Comes Back to Me - Clydie King
17. The End Of Our Love - Nancy Wilson
18. World Without Sunshine - Sandra Phillips
20. Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man - Ila Vann
21. It Keeps Rainin' - Fats Domino
22. Lonely Girl - Annabelle Fox
23. Movin' Away - Kenny Lynch
24. It'll Never Be Over for Me - Timi Yuro
25. The Drifter - Ray Pollard

disc 2
1. Breakout - Mitch Ryder & the Detroit Wheels
3. Gonna Fix You Good (Every Time You're Bad) - Little Anthony & the Imperials
4. Stop and You'll Become Aware - Helen Shapiro
5. What Is This [Original Mix/Remix] - Bobby Womack
6. One More Hurt - Marjorie Black
7. Love Slipped Through My Fingers - Sam Williams
8. My Dear Heart - Shawn Robinson
9. Stop Hurting Me Baby - Purple Mundi
10. Nobody But You - Esther Phillips
11. Dr. Love - Bobby Sheen
12. Baby Mine - Thelma Houston
13. When Love Goes Wrong - Lou Rawls
14. River of Tears - Barbara Banks
15. I Hurt on the Other Side - Jerry Cook
16. Face Up to the Truth - Doris Troy
17. Looking for You - Garnet Mimms
19. Fortune Teller - Benny Spellman
20. Yes You Did - Hermon Hitson
21. Stolen Hours - Patrice Holloway
22. She Blew a Good Thing - Poets (The)
23. What's Wrong with Me Baby - Invitations
24. I Walked Away - Bobby Paris
25. I'm on My Way - Dean Parrish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, roll on volume two, 26 Mar 2013
By 
G. K. Griffiths (Wolverhampton, West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Northern Soul Collectors: Volume 1 (MP3 Download)
Yet another excellent compilation of Northern Soul nostalgia. OK so some of the tracks are very well known amongst collectors and have appeared on previous collections, but even so there are sufficient gems (including my own favourite "She Blew a Good Thing" by The Poets) to mark this set out as being special. It was nice to see "Skiing In The Snow" by the Invitations rather than the more usual Wigan's Ovation, but the real joy is to use "I'm On My Way" by Dean Parrish as the closing track on disc 2, I remember this always being played as the last disc of the night when I was young enough to last that long. Oh such happy memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought for my husband great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good NS CD, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am very impressed with this NS Vol 1 - cannot fault the quality tunes that are on here. I thought I had vol 2 - but I have so many NS CD's got me a bit confused. Maybe a 2nd volume in the pipeline? KTF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good collection takes you back to the wigan casino days, obviously a lot of care has been taken to select the sound tracks and produce this classic collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars northern soul collectors vol 1, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Northern Soul Collectors: Volume 1 (MP3 Download)
Great CD with classic soul tracks on.nice to get all on one CD,It is quite commercial,so if like rare soul you maybe dissatisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow Love It., 31 Oct 2013
Fantastic northern soul collectors..
Soon be weekend then i will play all three cds all weekend.
Listening to one or two tracks great cant wait for the weekend to listen to them all..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 6 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good album
All good tunes not a bad one among them just what you need to get you in the weekend mood any day of the week
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good buy, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth a treat to yourself, a good range of tunes for a reasonable price.

Hppe you enjoy if you buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its such a great cd with all my favourite classics on, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Stuart Jonh Richards (wordsley west mids uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Northern Soul Collectors: Volume 1 (MP3 Download)
if you love northern soul this one is a must for your collection i seriously recomend i keep the faith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews