Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good easy read with a twist
Not hard going, but not trashy. Never really sure what happened until the very end, so you want to keep reading and reading.
Published 6 months ago by carol beesley

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jeez...
I don't get why people fawn over stuff like this. It is yet another novel that is getting great press and selling a shed-load of copies, despite much better authors pounding out good work. The thing is, you just don't feel anything for the characters; you're supposed to feel something, right? Isn't that the deal?

By the time you find out what happened to Amelia...
Published 5 months ago by B. Turnbull


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good easy read with a twist, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reconstructing Amelia (Kindle Edition)
Not hard going, but not trashy. Never really sure what happened until the very end, so you want to keep reading and reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jeez..., 17 Nov 2013
By 
B. Turnbull (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reconstructing Amelia (Paperback)
I don't get why people fawn over stuff like this. It is yet another novel that is getting great press and selling a shed-load of copies, despite much better authors pounding out good work. The thing is, you just don't feel anything for the characters; you're supposed to feel something, right? Isn't that the deal?

By the time you find out what happened to Amelia you're so bored and embarrassed by the clunky prose, you wish you'd spent your time in the hands of Linwood Barclay or Alice Sebold. Unsatisfying, and supremely overrated. Whatever you do, don't watch the TV movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a page turner, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reconstructing Amelia (Paperback)
The description for this story is more exciting then the actual book itself. Found the writing very childish and dull. And no spoilers, but it all seems a bit unbelievable. I only ordered this as I know they're making a film of it....lets hope the film is better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reconstructing Amelia (Kindle Edition)
I could not put this book down. Great story and well written. Gripped from beginning to end. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reconstructing Amelia (Kindle Edition)
I read this book on holiday in just 3 days which shows how much of a page turner it was. I was constantly guessing the outcome of how Amelia died, who her dad was, etc, and the answers were not disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Part great and part rubbish, 22 Mar 2014
This review is from: Reconstructing Amelia (Paperback)
Very mixed feelings about this one. At times the storyline was terrific and had me wanting to read more. At others it was incredibly banal and far fetched to the point of absolutely childish. I accept that many of the characters were teens and so the teenage angst was plausible but the actual plot became farcical at times.

Absolutely astonishing to get to the end and find a host of acknowledgements to a string ot allegedly terrific editors. They really do need to go to Specsavers as there were an appalling number of typos and grammatical errors, so much so that I was sure this was a self published book. Very inept of Simon and Schuster publisher to put out a book in such a bad state of editing.

For sure it does NOT come anywhere close to being another "Gone Girl". Goodness knows how any reader ranked it as high as that. It's an easy read, twisting plot but could do with a better approach to make it a genuine success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reconstructing Amelia (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book although it was quite disturbing at times. If I were parent of a teenager in this day and age I think I'd be worried. Whilst this was obviously fiction, the underlying power of new technology and social media and the people behind cyber bullying etc, is something that parents need to be aware of. A good book though - although the 'whodunnit' bit was fairly predictable early on. Worth reading - particularly as a book club book as there are lots of topical discussion issues to pick up on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect...., 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reconstructing Amelia (Kindle Edition)
What a great book. It's not what I expected to be honest, it is an easy read which teenagers will enjoy, and when I started it I thought I had bought a teenage fiction by mistake! However, I was into it from the start and kept reading. It is just so well written and the plot unfolds slowly so you don't know what happened to Amelia until the very end. I loved the characters - you really hate the gang girls, really love Amelia and her best friend Sylvia, and feel so sorry for her mum Kate - torn and battling to balance her career as a lawyer, and being a mum to Amelia - a current issue in the 21st century for a lot of women.
It's not the best book ever, but it really is great - enjoyable, compelling, and sad. I can't say anything bad about it, hence the 5 stars.
I really enjoyed it and will look out for other books by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reconstructing Amelia (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this book and found it quite hard to put down. The ending is quite disappointing and a bit predictable. It was really easy to understand and all in all a good book to read. I felt there was some unfinished business and would like to know what happened to some of the other characters which is why I gave it a 4 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Début, 9 Feb 2014
By 
V. O'Regan (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reconstructing Amelia (Paperback)
First of all my thanks to Simon & Schuster for providing me a copy of the paperback to review. I discovered very quickly that this was one of those novels that proved almost impossible to put down as Kate seeks to understand the circumstances of her daughter's death and come to terms with her grief. The narrative moves between this investigation and Amelia's own account of the weeks preceding her death. This way of telling the story was very clever as revealing the events in this way highlighted the darker side of Amelia's life at the school and how even a strong relationship between a parent and child can be undermined by outside influences.

It is a hard book to classify in terms of genre. It is to some extent a coming-of-age story though one with a tragic ending. I felt a great deal of empathy for Kate as the subject of suicide hit close to home for me, making some aspects of the story difficult to read. The kind of stress Amelia was under certainly placed my own experiences as a child and teenager into perspective or indicated that the world has become a much harsher place to be young. So top marks for this novel and it is one I shall certainly recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaed07fe4)

This product

Reconstructing Amelia
Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews