Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You really need to hear this
I am surprised and disappointed that this album is not getting more attention. Not sure how record companies work but surely they should be putting more effort behind this girl. Give it a listen. Try it on iTunes, where you get longer samples and them come back and buy it from Amazon where it's cheaper. This is a class album.
Published on 16 July 2012 by Tomrrll

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No way does it me Do hope Amazon pay tax on the profitet the billing
Shes not a Jazz version of Palomia Faith but its not too bad I need to listen to it again

Do hope Amazon pay tax on the profit
Published 17 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You really need to hear this, 16 July 2012
This review is from: Devil In Me [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I am surprised and disappointed that this album is not getting more attention. Not sure how record companies work but surely they should be putting more effort behind this girl. Give it a listen. Try it on iTunes, where you get longer samples and them come back and buy it from Amazon where it's cheaper. This is a class album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Thing!, 18 July 2012
By 
Rusty Kettle (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil in Me (Audio CD)
I was totally blown away by this debut album. Comparisons to Adele, Winehouse etc are unfortunately bound to be made now when any new female artist with a modicum of soul appears, and cliches such as "real", "authentic", or "genuine" are often used in an attempt to distinguish them from generic, mass produced products. So when an artist who actually lives up to such descriptions arrives, you need new words. Not only is Ms Duncan possessed of a truly incredible voice, but she also plays beautiful piano, apparently writes all her own material (words and music) and on this album is backed by some superb musicians. The production is immaculate, there are no digital enhancements here, no plastic drum sounds, just real old fashioned instruments so that the sound feels "live". Her basic style might be described as soulful, but you cannot easily pigeonhole her into a particular genre, the variety of styles and influences on this collection of songs ranges from straight ahead blues on Black Thorn to neo classical on Old Rock. There are beautiful ballads such as Uncomfortable Silence and Flower, as well as angry hard hitting rants like Pick Me Up Bar and She Done Died. The themes are quite dark, encompassing loneliness, heartbreak and despair, but the over arching feeling you take way after listening to the whole album is that this person has lived every moment of every song for real. In the short time I have had the album I'm finding that with every play I'm hearing something new, and there are some surprising little musical idiosyncrasies tucked away in several of the songs, the kind of thing Pink Floyd and the Beatles used to do, and which once you've heard them, you just can't wait to come up next time - so clever stuff as well as heartfelt. Top notch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Natalie Duncan, remember the name., 30 Sep 2012
This review is from: Devil in Me (Audio CD)
Having heard Natalie perform a few short years ago in her home town (Nottingham), it was obvious to all an album deal would surely come. Her amazing vocals alone would have done the trick. But this album not only showcases her great soulful voice, it reveals a talent for composition that draws upon soul / gospel / jazz roots, and then adds a few musical suprises of her own into the mix. Those who saw her debut on Jools Holland will know what I mean.

This is not your standard r & b, soul singer. This is different. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best soul album in a while..., 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil in Me (Audio CD)
Stunning debut album from the very talented Natalie Duncan. I had the privilege of seeing her live recently in a very intimate setting and it was honestly one of the best live performances I have ever seen. I recommend this album to anyone. It is authentic, soulful and has a real live instrument sound - a rare feat these days. It is also full of great songs, real life experiences and great lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gem of an album, 1 Aug 2012
By 
S. J. Harris (middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil in Me (Audio CD)
Cant stop playing this - its blimmin brilliant. So surprised that shes not better known!? She has a really beautiful voice and considering she writes all her own stuff and plays piano is worthy of more recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST ALBUM I HAVE HEARD IN AGES, 18 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Devil in Me (Audio CD)
Natalie has an amazing voice with incredible vocal range (think Nina Simone)I bought this album on a recomendation and have not regretted it for a moment! Natalie will go far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing new talent., 17 Feb 2013
By 
J. Margalith "earthplane" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil in Me (Audio CD)
I am so looking forward to watching Natalie Duncan's career unfold. What a voice, what a songwriter.
The power of Ronnie Spector, the depth of Nina Simone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! I didn't think I'd hear something like this on a label ever again!, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil in Me (Audio CD)
So many of the songs here are absolutely stunning.
If this album doesn't knock your socks off, your socks are probably broken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars devilishly good, 11 Nov 2012
By 
Martin New (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil In Me [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Gritty, poignant and beautifully tuneful, this is arguably the debut of 2012. Duncan cleverly mixes elements of jazz, folk, reggae and classical in a natural way. Highly recommended - and at only 4.99 an absolute steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific voice to listen to......., 7 Nov 2012
By 
Netherfield4348 (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil in Me (Audio CD)
I first heard this young lady on 'Later With Jools' with 'Sky Is Fallin' and ordered her CD: Devil In Me as a result. There are 14 tracks and I have enjoyed them all very much indeed. She is clearly an accomplished singer/songwriter/pianist - I think she has quite a future ahead of her. If you like soul/blues, then this CD is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devil In Me [Explicit]
Devil In Me [Explicit] by Natalie Duncan
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews