Customer Reviews


2,090 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,536)
4 star:
 (319)
3 star:
 (149)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (49)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


613 of 624 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is not a gritty real life drama set in a council flat in the British midlands despite (a) being a British film and (b) featuring Bill Nighy. No, it is a stylised, slightly surreal film about a group of British pensioners who are inveigled to take out a long term residence in a hotel in Jaipur in the belief that it is a retirement home. The...
Published on 27 Mar 2012 by MisterHobgoblin

versus
144 of 150 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining "feelgood" movie with a superb cast
I enjoyed this movie a lot. It has an outstanding cast with some of the greats of British cinema such as Judi Dench, Maggie Smith and Tom Wilkinson. There are also some great supporting actors like Penelope Wilton and Ronald Pickup but as usual Bill Nighy steals the show.

The rather far-fetched story revolves around a group of people in their advancing years...
Published on 17 April 2012 by haunted


‹ Previous | 1153 154 155209 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect entertertainment, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very keen to watch this particular film and I was not disappointed. The cast were absolutely right for their individual roles. The film was humourous and yet had an element of sadness too.Excellent entertainment for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of british, 28 July 2012
Great movie stellar cast with all that glitters is not gold storyline they make the best of what they have got. Brilliant feel good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New hotel experience, 28 July 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Chingford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is the best watched film of the year, great cast of which to many to name ,

a great laugh from start to finish and with a sad tinge too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marigold hotel, 27 July 2012
By 
Mrs. J. Bloomfield (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a wonderful, well done movie, the actors were great especially Judi Dench. I watched it at the movies and couldn't wait to get it on dvd, i have watched it once and will watch it many times again. It was a great story! Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, lovely, lovely........, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a wonderful, relaxing, amusing, picturesque film this is! And what a joy to see so many of our acclaimed actors/actresses in the same movie. (I haven't read the book so I can't compare - perhaps a good thing judging by the low star reviewers!)
I highly reccommend this to anyone who wants a gentle, truly entertaing experience of what our 'slightly-senior' citizens might get up to, given the oportunity that The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel would like to offer! The Hotel owner/manager has his dreams too!
Absolutely brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the best film I have ever seen. It has a real feel good factor. Although the actors are mainly seniors I watched it with my grumpy old man and my son and his female partner who though young 30 & 50 year-olds thought it was brilliant. Then the girl borrowed the dvd to watch again with her mother, father and sisters. We all laughed and cried too - fab! I would recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, 27 July 2012
By 
My sisters and I loved this movie. It has so many of our favourite British actors who gave such great performances. This is one we will watch many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Retirement Home?, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The main feature is a very interesting film, with humour and pathos but it is not really a comedy, as some would think. Well presented. There are several story lines, mostly dealing with how people approach loneliness in old age.

An added bonus was the availability of the download onto a PC or other computerised unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD review Marigold Hotel, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic cast and great movie. If you like 'british humour' you'll love this movie set in an Indian City backdrop! DVD quality is good although it did 'stall' 2/3rd of the way through. FF got us past the hick up but nothing was lost in the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful entertainment!, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have already seen the film but as it was so good just had to have the d vd. I think it will be watched many times as it is pure entertainment, brilliant acting from everyone in it and a must if you have ever visited India.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1153 154 155209 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel [DVD] [2011]
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews