Customer Reviews


2,325 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,713)
4 star:
 (360)
3 star:
 (158)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (55)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


625 of 637 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is not a gritty real life drama set in a council flat in the British midlands despite (a) being a British film and (b) featuring Bill Nighy. No, it is a stylised, slightly surreal film about a group of British pensioners who are inveigled to take out a long term residence in a hotel in Jaipur in the belief that it is a retirement home. The...
Published on 27 Mar. 2012 by MisterHobgoblin

versus
152 of 158 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining "feelgood" movie with a superb cast
I enjoyed this movie a lot. It has an outstanding cast with some of the greats of British cinema such as Judi Dench, Maggie Smith and Tom Wilkinson. There are also some great supporting actors like Penelope Wilton and Ronald Pickup but as usual Bill Nighy steals the show.

The rather far-fetched story revolves around a group of people in their advancing years...
Published on 17 April 2012 by haunted


‹ Previous | 1151 152 153233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Movie!, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this film, but then it's probably more directed at my age group. Brilliant performances from a stunning cast as usual, and I loved the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Speedy service and I really enjoyed the film, i took it on holidays with us and watched it on a rainy afternoon, looking forward to seeing it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this film from beginning to end, it was very funny and the dry humour of the British shone through. All the actors/actresses all played their important place in the film and it came together very well. Very enjoyable what more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Gentle Comedy, 31 July 2012
By 
Festie (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First saw this at the cinema and enjoyed it enough to but a copy. If you have read the book, then forget the plot as it not very accurate to it. It is the sort of film that you could buy for an older person, but younger people should not be put off by that. I do recommend you buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One can relate to this film being of an older age, 31 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a wonderful film which we of the older age can relate too. Very good acting by the chosen greatly talents icons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent., 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic film,love it,will watch it over and over again,the actors are fantastic,all played briliant roles.Very funny most of the times and sad moments too,all in all an excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Living in France and watching UK TV, I saw numerous adverts for this film once it was on DVD. So off to Amazon to order it, hoping that with such a cast it would not be a disappointment. Far from it, it's a lovely gentle, funny film - a little sadness here and there but beautifully handled. Maggie Smith and Bill Nighy stand out but, having written that so does Judy Dench and the supporting cast are wonderful too. It's definitely a 'feel good' film and one that entertains, which is what it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
realy funny good for a late night movey to sit down and watch with the parntner or jest on your own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant film, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
1st copy didn't work but soon replaced, a very efficient service - this is a brilliant film everybody over 50 should watch !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 30 July 2012
By 
Mrs. Jannette M. Bunting "Janne" (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this DVD because of all the actors in it and was not disappointed.
It was a gentle, humerous and incredibly well acted film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1151 152 153233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel [DVD] [2011]
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews