Customer Reviews


2,736 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,037)
4 star:
 (420)
3 star:
 (170)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (62)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


648 of 661 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is not a gritty real life drama set in a council flat in the British midlands despite (a) being a British film and (b) featuring Bill Nighy. No, it is a stylised, slightly surreal film about a group of British pensioners who are inveigled to take out a long term residence in a hotel in Jaipur in the belief that it is a retirement home. The...
Published on 27 Mar. 2012 by MisterHobgoblin

versus
163 of 170 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining "feelgood" movie with a superb cast
I enjoyed this movie a lot. It has an outstanding cast with some of the greats of British cinema such as Judi Dench, Maggie Smith and Tom Wilkinson. There are also some great supporting actors like Penelope Wilton and Ronald Pickup but as usual Bill Nighy steals the show.

The rather far-fetched story revolves around a group of people in their advancing years...
Published on 17 April 2012 by haunted


‹ Previous | 1 2274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

648 of 661 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, 27 Mar. 2012
By 
MisterHobgoblin (Melbourne) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is not a gritty real life drama set in a council flat in the British midlands despite (a) being a British film and (b) featuring Bill Nighy. No, it is a stylised, slightly surreal film about a group of British pensioners who are inveigled to take out a long term residence in a hotel in Jaipur in the belief that it is a retirement home. The hotel itself is, of course, run down but quite astonishing - Indian Raj architecture of the highest order, run by a slightly crazy young man with a great vision for the future.

The film is full of cliches - the Indian call centre; the man returning to his childhood home; the racist old woman who hates black doctors; the mismatched couple; a couple of old imposters looking for romance... We have Delhi Belly; we have the exorbitant club serving pink gins; we have elephants on the street and mystic healers. Every shot shows bustle; bright markets; temples or the contrast of the shabby but peaceful courtyard in the hotel. There's an overbearing Indian mother; a family of untouchables; a heavy dose of the class system and glorious sunsets.

But the cliches are welcome friends. There is nothing challenging in the film - just a vast travelogue enticing the viewer to come to Jaipur at the first opportunity. Most of the stories end well - sometimes improbably but it doesn't matter. There is no pretence that this is real life - just two hours of pure fun, laughs, comedy and sadness mixed in together. It's colourful and vibrant. It provokes the odd thought without being too demanding.

The cast is to die for. Dame Judi Dench, Dame Maggie Smith, Penelope Wilton, Bill Nighy, Dev Patel... All delivering epic performances. There are various separate and interlinked story lines to maintain interest over the two hours - whilst having just enough going on in the backgrounds of the perfectly constructed shots to make this worth watching a second or third time.

Bliss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


163 of 170 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining "feelgood" movie with a superb cast, 17 April 2012
By 
I enjoyed this movie a lot. It has an outstanding cast with some of the greats of British cinema such as Judi Dench, Maggie Smith and Tom Wilkinson. There are also some great supporting actors like Penelope Wilton and Ronald Pickup but as usual Bill Nighy steals the show.

The rather far-fetched story revolves around a group of people in their advancing years who for various reasons, decide to move from the UK to a run down former hotel in India. An enthusiastic but slightly incompetent local young man, played by Dev Patel, runs the hotel.

We see the back-stories of each of the main characters and see how they cope with living in a new continent. There is a predictable quota of amusing and touching moments and you always feel you are in safe hands with the cast of familiar faces.

The ending is predictably neat and tidy and you should leave the cinema with a smile on your face, as I'm sure the makers intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


175 of 184 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, wonderful., 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought I wanted to be on a Greek island with 2 friends, plenty of wine listening to Abba music, now I know what I really want is to stay in the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel with a bunch of wrinklies like me. One of the best films I have seen and can't wait for the DVD to be released so I can watch it over and over again. It just proved there is a lot of life in us golden oldies and any film with Bill Nighy, Maggie Smith and Judi Dench plus other REAL British actors can't fail to be a success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seen the movie, now read the book, 20 May 2012
By 
R. N. Wilson "robinwilson" (Audlem, Cheshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read the book "These Foolish Things" before I knew anything about "the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel". I accompanied my wife to see the film, and enjoyed it, as a film, but the book is SO much better, (as is often the case). Large chunks of the book, and one of the main characters, do not make it to the screen version, but I look forward to rereading the book, now that I know which actors are playing which characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic., 29 Mar. 2012
By 
Mrs. Angela READ "Maturegrad" (Devizes, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Set to be a classic, this film highlights every aspect of senior citizenry, and not all of the most flattering kind.

It is a glorious, eye-wateringly colourful film, made with honesty and sympathy for characters - to use the horrid phrase - past their sell-by date.

If I have a small criticism; the characters when they are not stereotypical, border on the cartoon. Having said that it is not enough to lose it a single star-in fact, it makes them not less human, but more!

It is a masterpiece of cinema, for all ages and genders: can't wait to view it on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Feel Good Film, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie makes you feel good and it made me laugh out loud, many times, which is no mean feat. It's not edge of your seat gripping or a cinematic tour de force, it's a life affirming, funny, well written, poignant film that portrays older people taking risks and making the most of their lives.
The film should be celebrated for what it is, not denigrated because it shares certain parallels with other films. Bill Nighy and Maggie Smith are both excellent, as is Dev Patel. A good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CELEBRATE THE CHANGES, 21 Jun. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
The film opens up by giving us quick and witty introductions of the main characters. For one reason or another, they are opting to go live at the Marigold Hotel in India. They are the first guests of this Indian entrepreneur Sonny Kapoor (Dev Patel,) in a Hotel that has more character than convenience. Once in India and over the culture shock, our group start to adapt at different rates. Evelyn Greenslade (Judi Dench) keeps an on-line blog about the events which adds some first person narration to the tale.

In India, the scenes switch back and forth to the various guests' activities which intersect at times, similar to many indie movie scripts. During this time we get to know the characters much deeper and see them change in a nation of contrast of old traditions and the modern era. The film touches on the caste system and prearranged marriages which are common themes in Bollywood films also.

The acting and script were top notch. The film contain the right amount of comedy, drama, and even romance to make for a delightful tale. Dev Patel, whose acting ability I thought was undeveloped in "Slum Dog Millionaire" takes it up a notch with this all-star cast. Kudos to Maggie Smith who managed to play a difficult character with perfection.

PARENTAL GUIDE: 1 quick totally unnecessary f-bomb with an accent, sexual references, minor back nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must see it!, 6 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Went to see it this afternoon! just got home! totaly wonderful! I am worn out! best film I have seen in years! so full of joy! so full of laughs! so full of colour! so full of life! Have a day off and treat yourself! have just put my name down for the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 6 May 2012
By 
Anonymous (Nowhere particular) - See all my reviews
Love British films so on that premise I went to watch The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.

The film was poignant, sweet, beautiful, sad, thoughtful, wry, and funny. The enjoyment is dependent on the viewer's disposition as well as how well the film is made; personally, I thought the film was very well done - nothing out of the ordinary, the storylines have been done countless other times as one reviewer mentioned but it has been done rather nicely and there is something that everyone can relate to in the film.

Maggie Smith was just excellent - loved the manner in which her character developed but then again,Judi Dench, Tom Wilkinson, Bill Nighy and the rest were all superb too. They do a fantastic job; I cried a little as well as laughed so hard watching the movie in some scenes, my sides hurt!

In short, buy the film and watch it and make your own mind up.

I can say that I have watched movies that have been given a less than stellar review and found them to be rather nice movies; reviews are subjective and what someone else loathes you may love and vice versa.....I do recommend this film if you have previously also enjoyed Slumdog Millionaire, Love Actually, Billy Elliott, Caledar Girls, and the like. A nice way to spend a couple of hours of entertainment alone or with friends. Enjoy :)))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kaleidoscope of British acting talent, 21 Jun. 2012
By 
Pip Gundill (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well publicised in advance the film had momumental reputations to live up to. it did indeed live up to them. In droves.

With the calibre of actors involved (it's impossible and a little unfair to single out a stand out performance) its story line and its location, it couldn't fail. A film that you could take your maiden aunt to (and indeed, in the cinema where I saw it, there were rows of them) and also your children. A little risque in places with an added plot not in the novel (the gay man searching for his lost love and finding him) it nevertheless balanced the sweetly sentimentality and the poignant episodes. If I WAS to mention any stand out performances, it has to be, for me, Celia Imrie and Penelope Wilton.

I read the book after seeing the film and was amazed that a lot of it was not transferred to the screen. So if, like me, you are curious as to what happened in the original story, give the book a try. You will certainly not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2274 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel [DVD] [2011]
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews