Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing!
Not having even seen a trailer for this movie, I didn't know what to expect when I sat down to watch it - what I got was a total surprise - and I really enjoyed it! PLus, I am not going to write a scene by scene review of the movie and analyse the plot - why spoil the viewing for someone else?

Even though the three main characters gain superhero powers this is...
Published on 1 Jun 2012 by ElaineG

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Different kind of sci-fi film
I didn't quite know what to expect when I chose to watch this on Amazon Instant. While I won't say it was a rewarding watch, it was certainly interesting. Quirky even, for a super-hero sci-fi film. If you're expecting a super-hero vs super-villain smash-it-all action film, then you'll be sorely disappointed. However, if you keep an open mind and view this a different take...
Published 1 month ago by M Jagadeesan


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing!, 1 Jun 2012
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Not having even seen a trailer for this movie, I didn't know what to expect when I sat down to watch it - what I got was a total surprise - and I really enjoyed it! PLus, I am not going to write a scene by scene review of the movie and analyse the plot - why spoil the viewing for someone else?

Even though the three main characters gain superhero powers this is definite not a superhero movie- which makes a great change, because you can see too many of the "fights against evil" type movie. Imagine three normal teenage guys who develop superhuman powers and what they would use those powers for. The results are very "realistic", human and emotional at times but to say more, would spoil the movie for anyone else.

It is a clever fast paced plot with good special effects, some great dialogue and performances with Dane Dehaan in particular as Andrew, the guy with a dreadful home life who everyone thinks is a loser, really coming across well - you certainly start to feel for him right from the first scene. Although the film is not always an easy one to watch, some of the scenes being quite moving, it does have some funny moments and I laughed out loud several times, my son laughing even more - the supermarket scene in particular was great comedy.

To sum up, it is a great little film with some unexpected surprises along the way, one definitely worth getting the popcorn out for and you will be glued to it.

Extras include: pre-visualisation FX work of two scenes; actors' camera test and the cinema trailer. There is also a digital copy to enable you to watch the movie on ipad, iphone, tablet or android phone (with instructions on how to transfer from pc or mac). NB: We haven't tried the digital copy - nothing compatible to play it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, something that stands apart from the rest., 15 July 2014
This review is from: Chronicle (Amazon Instant Video)
Personally I thought this film was great, the idea behind it is frankly genius yet simple: A realistic take on an overused genre - the superhero. This film deals in emotion, camaraderie and coming of age themes in a way that you can truly relate to and believe. The hand-held camera angle is also very cleverly done...it brings added realism and an intimacy to the film that makes you feel closer to; and more understanding of, the characters themselves, rather than just an observer. Overall a very good film I do recommend seeing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 13 Feb 2014
By 
D. Burkmar (hampshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicle [DVD] (DVD)
great film, love it so much, have already watched it five times and plan to watch it again, delivery was fine, no problems with product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicle [DVD] (DVD)
such a good movie lots of amazing graphics, great storyline its a must buy , everyone should watch this :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chronicle, 14 Nov 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just when you thought the found footage genre had had its day here comes Chronicle to add something new to the mix.

A believable reason for the protagonist to always be holding a camera in this genre of film is one of the main challenges they face. Here it is not an issue. A perfectly written story covers that potential pit fall admirably and thus sucks you in. Three students find a strange glowing rock underground which gives them powers. They start to experience super strength, the ability to fly and tele-kinesis.

Where this differs from your standard marvel blockbuster is in its realism. The film is grounded and you can't help but feel that the way these kids learn and use these powers is so perfectly natural and that you would do the same.

There is no ground breaking action here, but that isn't the point. It is about the characters and which path they choose to take. Struggling with different aspects of a teenage life there are some surprising events. The film does a Great job of holding your interest and gripping you to the end.

The ending is its only downfall. Deciding to go with a fairly generic city crashing finale after such promising character development was a bit underwhelming but it does pave the way for a potential sequel.

The characters are perfectly drawn and their use of their new found powers believable. A triumphant film which breathes new life into a crowded and drying up genre. A real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicle [DVD] (DVD)
Again bought as gift and first comment was "this is not very good " but after second watch a different story emerged worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Super-Hero Movie. Not like others available!, 29 May 2012
As a super-hero movie lover, I really really enjoyed this, even with it being different to the other films in this particular style! It's interesting to learn more about the characters from seeing things from their point of view (literally with the 'hand held' camera style of filming). It made me laugh, it made me scared and most of all it made me think. Don't underestimate this as a 'teen movie', as it's so much more than that and suitable for all ages!
So worth a watch and definitely worth a tenner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant, 8 May 2012
By 
R. A. Davison (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Chronicle is what you might call a "sleeper hit". I'd never heard of its director Josh Trank, or its three young male stars, I got a huge surprise when I realised that Michael B. Jordan who plays Steve had in fact played Wallace, one of the tragic young drug dealers in The Wire, he's virtually unrecognisable having gone through puberty. In addition, I neither heard or saw any publicity about this film, and my attention was only drawn to it by my Twitter friends, who had seen it or were planning to.

Chronicle is the story of a teenager who begins chronicling his life with a video camera : a sad, abusive home with a dying mother and alcoholic father, and a high school experience in which he is only spoken to negatively, Andrew is a classic film loner, but somehow doesn't feel like a cliche. This film follows in the wake of such films as The Blair Witch Project and Cloverfield as a "found footage" movie, in which what we see on screen has been "filmed by Andrew" through his camera.

One night at a rave, Andrew's cousin Matt and popular boy Steve ask Andrew to film a strange glowing object they've found in a field. After this encounter, all three boys discover they have the ability of telekinesis, and that the strength of this ability grows the more they use it.

What is good about this film is the realism with which the three boys use their sudden gift, to play tricks, get girls, and to have new experiences, unlike Superman or Spiderman they don't care about saving the world, only about their own advantages. As Andrew's gifts begin to surpass even those of his friends, his dark life causes a dark side and he begins to develop a God complex.

What I learned from Chronicle is that I may be a teenage boy stuck in a woman's body! I've had suspicions about this before. I loved it, absolutely loved it from start to finish. I thought it was brilliant. The audience in the showing I was in was largely comprised of teenage boys, and you could feel the love for the film, the enjoyment of it, in the room. In addition the script is often very humorous, the dialogue between the three boys is incredibly authentic. The various ways they use their capabilities are also incredibly fun.

Sure the denouement is possibly a bit melodramatic and bordering on silly, but with a power so great you can do anything and an anger to match, what wouldn't you do?

A popcorn movie that is in the vein of Attack The Block but slicker and smarter I really recommend this great little film. Sure, it's not high brow or "important" but it's a really great example of just pure entertainment and thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With great power comes great irresponsibility, 5 Jun 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When found footage movies first started they involved grainy black and white film footage. But film technology has moved on a lot since then in real life. So thankfully here's a footage movie which realises that and moves with the times. Everything is digital and in colour.

And seen - mostly - via the camera belonging to a teenager called Andrew. High school kid. Friendless. Sick mother. Frustrated father who takes his anger out on his son. Living in a neighbourhood that could be better.

Andrew gets lifts to school from his popular and with it cousin Matt. A school where popular and charismatic kid Steve is running for class president. Andrew buys a camera to record details of his life. And having one comes in handy when Steve finds something strange in a field and needs someone to record what they see.

All this character introduction and background is done pretty quickly but the film hits the ground running and does command the attention from the off. What the three find and record leads to them getting special powers. There is a big jump between the discovery and the dawning of the powers which does seem a little jarring at the time but you do quickly get over that.

They use their powers for fun. And it brings the three very close together. But when the fun stops, will his new abilities change Andrew's life for the better? Or the worse?

It's not found footage as such because everything is seen via footage from recording equipment, and some is security cameras in addition to Andrew's camera. But this - and one clever device storytelling wise - do get past the old problem of the audience never getting to see the character who is doing the recording in a neat manner.

Chronicle isn't just about original ideas in presenting this kind of movie though. It's also not a superhero film. It's a character drama. Considering in a realistic manner what might happen to someone such as Andrew if put in this situation. And as a character drama it is a compelling and memorable watch. Everything that happens comes as a result of character actions. The story develops in a believable manner. And manages to resolve itself pretty neatly also. Acting from the three leads is excellent throughout.

The end does drop hints about possible sequels, but they wouldn't be necessary. Because this is fine as it is. A strong character drama with an original premise and execution. All of which makes it a very memorable watch.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

English audio captioned.

The disc begins with a couple of trailers but you can skip those via the next button on the dvd remote.

It has a digital copy that can be downloaded into other digital media.

Only extras are:

Pre visualisation: computer animated versions of storyboards for two key scenes. This runs for eight minutes in total.

Actors camera test: an early effort from some of the cast at acting out one key scene.

The original cinema trailer for the film.

And a link to a website that gives further details of the film's score and how to get a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!!!, 20 Feb 2012
What a fabulously entertaining film. It had superb special effects, good acting from all concerned and that home movey feel that keeps the viewer in suspense. One of those films that completely absorbs you throughout. Should be seen on the big screen to be truly appreciated, go now, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chronicle [DVD]
Chronicle [DVD] by Josh Trank (DVD - 2012)
4.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews