Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Short Story Collection from the Medieval Master Storyteller
Another fantastic work from the superb Michael Jecks - this time a collection of short stories! Clever plotlines, well-drawn characters and an amazing attention to historical detail will keep you enthralled until you reach the last page! It's nice to see our old friends Sir Baldwin and Simon again! Great to see it as an ebook too!
Published on 10 July 2012 by R. Chagouri-Brindle

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
For some reason I was expecting a slightly longer 'short story' and was disappointed. Each of the stories follow a very similar format which in my opinion was a slightly simplistic approach. The last story does not actually feature Baldwin or Simon and so not sure what it was doing in this collection.

I would rather a longer story to allow Jecks to expand the...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. Andrew Wray


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Short Story Collection from the Medieval Master Storyteller, 10 July 2012
By 
R. Chagouri-Brindle "RickCB" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For the Love of Old Bones - and other stories (Templar Series) (Kindle Edition)
Another fantastic work from the superb Michael Jecks - this time a collection of short stories! Clever plotlines, well-drawn characters and an amazing attention to historical detail will keep you enthralled until you reach the last page! It's nice to see our old friends Sir Baldwin and Simon again! Great to see it as an ebook too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jecks up to standard, 24 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. Gerald T. A. Godfrey (Helpringham Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For the Love of Old Bones - and other stories (Templar Series) (Kindle Edition)
Jecks as good as ever. I hope he will write some more short stories of this nature. Not that there is anything wrong with his full length novels.
Long may he write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the love old bones, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For the Love of Old Bones - and other stories (Templar Series) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book of short stories, each one is quite short so good to read when you haven't got much time. An interestingly different view of Baldwin and Simon from the perspective of a third person. More of these please Michael! For the Love of Old Bones - and other stories (Templar Series)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker!, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For the Love of Old Bones - and other stories (Templar Series) (Kindle Edition)
Another tale from Michael Jecks that romps along at a great pace. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Suspend any thoughts of historical accuracy and just enjoy the story. Another cracker !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For the Love of Old Bones - and other stories (Templar Series) (Kindle Edition)
I was not sure about this book when I first bought it, but as I settled down to read it I was sucked in to the stories and could not put it down. Told from a different angle we once again meet Baldwin as he solves more crimes, each of the four stories has a twist to it that I could not see coming.
Buy this book you will not be disappointed, it is a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read., 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For the Love of Old Bones - and other stories (Templar Series) (Kindle Edition)
Got this when I wanted some short stories. Read it more quickly than I intended and will try the full novels in the Templar series now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant as always, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For the Love of Old Bones - and other stories (Templar Series) (Kindle Edition)
As always an extremely good read. Michael Jecks captured the imagination from the word go and keeps it to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For the Love of Old Bones - and other stories (Templar Series) (Kindle Edition)
Brought this for the kindle and couldn't turn the pages quick enough. Michael's done it again, another masterpiece which keeps you guessing until the end. I did get an inkling at times, but wide of the mark when the "who dun it" was revealed. Can't wait for the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as always another great book from Michael Jecks, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For the Love of Old Bones - and other stories (Templar Series) (Kindle Edition)
anthother great book from Michael Jecks and am thoroughly enjoying it as I have done with all his other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved These Again, 5 Oct 2012
By 
Bookaholic "prussblue" (St. Louis area, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: For the Love of Old Bones - and other stories (Templar Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is my review from this past summer -- I do not write a synopsis; that is what the publisher does. Suffice it to say that I find Jecks' writing excellent whether it be in short story format or novel format. The historical framework is not contrived but based upon what is known of the sociocultural attitudes, etc. of the time period. The tales he weaves in the historical framework engage the reader both on the intellectual level and the emotional level. While I read these short stories before, it was a joy to read them once again on Kindle. Well, in my opinion, any of Jecks' titles are of a quality that you can enjoy the second or third time around unlike some who you wonder why you bothered the first time. Let me just say that that I believe you will enjoy these short stories if you are a selective and discerning reader. If you have not read the novels, I should think you would then want to after a taste of Jecks in these short stories. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews