Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful series: epic, original and very eye-opening
*Review based on TV screening* To present an overview of world history in an accessible, engaging yet original format is quite a tall order, though in this bold endeavour Marr has succeeded admirably where others may have shrunk from the challenge.

However, this is no mere retelling of history as a series of milestones with which we are all familiar, but a...
Published on 7 Nov. 2012 by Biggis

versus
33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but a bit PC
I enjoyed this series although think it lacks something from being presented by a journalist rather than a historian. I felt that rather than actually presenting his own vision he was reporting on the vision of his researchers. However what they produced was entertaining, although a little PC at times. Marr (rightly) went to great lengths to point how ambitious, brutal...
Published on 27 Nov. 2012 by GB Jordan


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful series: epic, original and very eye-opening, 7 Nov. 2012
By 
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of the World [DVD] (DVD)
*Review based on TV screening* To present an overview of world history in an accessible, engaging yet original format is quite a tall order, though in this bold endeavour Marr has succeeded admirably where others may have shrunk from the challenge.

However, this is no mere retelling of history as a series of milestones with which we are all familiar, but a fresh, original and very eye-opening perspective on some of the major events and personalities, including those lesser known, that have shaped our world. The series also reaches quite a climax in the last episode, where, looking back on a history filled with greed and lack of foresight, Marr rightly questions the presumed wisdom of our species, while also looking to the future with some hope.

Marr's inimitable presenting style - personable and relaxed yet authoritative - is almost perfect for these programmes, and, as one would perhaps expect, there does seem to be a bias towards the political (definitely with a small 'p') in the telling of this epic story. And he is ably assisted by a plethora of very realistic and well-produced historical re-enactments, which make for a fascinating, dramatic and at times quite gripping portrayal.

For me, the only downside is that this series does not always make for comfortable viewing. Although Marr does focus on saints as well as sinners - The Buddha as well as Genghis Khan, Gandhi as well as Hitler - there is no getting away from the fact that the history of humanity is full to overflowing with egotism, arrogance, intolerance, greed, plunder, exploitation, brutality, murder, war and genocide, and in this respect it made me feel quite ashamed to be a member of the human race, especially a white European. (And this is quite apart from the deplorable atrocities that we humans have perpetrated, and continue to perpetrate, against the natural world.)

In short, this is a wonderful and very well-produced series, which I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skillfully crafted, a gem of a documentary, 10 Feb. 2013
By 
DF McCleland (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of the World [DVD] (DVD)
Andrew Marr has crafted a gem. Perhaps not the most photogenic presenter around, nevertheless he excels at his new craft; his previous being that of a journalist. His inflexion, intonation & studied pauses add to the story.

Comprising 8 episodes, this series covers man's history over the past 70,000 years.
1. Survival: How the earliest humans spread around the world, adapting and surviving against the odds.
2. Age of Empire: The story of the first empires which laid the foundations for the modern world.
3. The Word and the Sword: Charting the spiritual revolutions that shook the world between 300 BC and 700 AD.Episodes.
4. Into the Light: This episode covers the Middle Ages, when Vikings explored and pillaged
5. Age of Plunder: Illustrating Europe's rise from piracy to private enterprise
6. Revolution: Exploration of a time when people worldwide rose up in the name of freedom and equality.
7. Age of Industry. Andrew Marr tells how Britain's Industrial Revolution created the modern world.
8. Age of Extremes: Bringing the story right up to date with the twentieth century.
Comprising up to 10 stories per episode from around the world, Andrew weaves & builds the central thesis of each episode. The rich, lush & realistic re-enactments immerse one in the action. Central to the presentation is Marr's narration occurring at the location of the related action being discussed. For instance the story of the dropping of the Atomic Bomb on Hiroshima highlights this with Andrew wandering around modern day Hiroshima. All of this attention to detail & realism is what makes this presentation stand head & shoulders above the dross so often seen with their poor presentations & skimpy re-enactments that remain implausible for the Viewer.

Each Episode provides an eclectic mix of case studies which provide much food for thought about the human condition. Marr's concise, lucid & engaging analysis rounds off the presentation.

All history lovers will be enthralled as I was by this production. Undoubted an opus magnis on this topic, it will be at least a decade before anything close to & on this scale will be produced again.

Hats off to the BBC History Department!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable!, 3 Mar. 2013
By 
G. Dawson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of the World [DVD] (DVD)
A great series that ties everything and everyone together really well. It will definitely provoke your curiosity in some part of history. I couldn't stay away from Wikipedia throuhout the whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andrew Marr's History of the World, 2 Nov. 2012
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of the World [DVD] (DVD)
Andrew Marr's History of the World is a interesting and thoroughly enjoyable 8 part BBC series where the Journalist walks us through pivotal moments in World History refreshingly through the eyes of everyday people rather than Kings and Emperors.

Marr's engaging narrative is supplemented by vivid re-enactments of Battles and other Historical events which put any History Channel production to shame.

I really liked the series because of its focus on World History rather than History from a mainly European perspective.

For anyone who enjoys History this is a great purchase and will prove useful to anyone in Primary or Secondary education studying History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but a bit PC, 27 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of the World [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this series although think it lacks something from being presented by a journalist rather than a historian. I felt that rather than actually presenting his own vision he was reporting on the vision of his researchers. However what they produced was entertaining, although a little PC at times. Marr (rightly) went to great lengths to point how ambitious, brutal and human Europe's history is but glossed over the sins of other lands, especially the Muslim world. It left me with a sense that it was a little bit too influenced by power politics. So, very entertaining and informative but a little distorted in my 'humble' opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of the World [DVD] (DVD)
This is the most wonderful series and I would recommend it to everyone, not just those with an interest in history. It is the first series which ties together events in the world that were happening at the same time but separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We do know that since Alexander the great was anti-Semite he told his general to only marry ..., 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of the World [DVD] (DVD)
We do know that since Alexander the great was anti-Semite he told his general to only marry Arian aristocratic women, (e.g. Greek, Macedonian, Persian, Median women he wanted them to marry), but he forbade them to marrying Aramaic and other non Arian women, and that Marr's turn in almost the opposite.
It had been good if he had told us about cyrus cylinder and that the Persian was adoring Wisdom and some other very abstract and good gods, that even the Persian king had keep his and he predecessors laws and promises (well just as today's western governments there were too many exceptions done, but least they tried to get a good image to Zarathustras disiples). Persian was only treated as pharaohs when they were in Egypt but Alexander wanted to be treated as a god wherever he was. Marr's also miss that there was a lot of Greeks mercenaries in the Persian army that changed side during the war. Else I love the film/program and find it very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A potted history to savour., 2 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of the World [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because I thought it would be very useful to have a potted history of the world always available to research whenever the need arose. In this respect it has been entirely successful as the scope of the series strikes the right balance between too much and too little detail. I like Andrew Marr's presentation which is excellent and informative without being stuffy, and humorous without being frivolous; also his diction and clarity of speech means I don't miss a word (not having perfect hearing).

No expense has been spared on locations which adds greatly to the world history experience - a thoroughly recommended DVD- all school children should watch this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A seminal work, 17 July 2014
By 
D. A. Pitan "DavidP" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of the World [DVD] (DVD)
To have conceived this project let alone take it on and deliver it with aplomb as Andrew Marr has done, is nothing less than a feat of epic proportions. I first saw the series on BBC and couldn't wait until I could own a copy. I cannot comment on whether or what historical inaccuracies it might contain but it is a seminal work and Andrew Marr's narrative is eloquent and captivating. For what this is, it is ridiculously cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I know some reviewers were disappointed that Andrew Marr should do a programme about history ..., 8 Nov. 2014
By 
J. Bradley "Selah" (Hexham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of the World [DVD] (DVD)
I know some reviewers were disappointed that Andrew Marr should do a programme about history instead of a historian but I think he looks at history through non-historian eyes and sees a different angle. Historians can often make history a turn-off but this looks at PEOPLE rather than kings and politicians and he has brought it to life for me.
I had watched it on TV and decided I wanted to have it to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Andrew Marr's History of the World  [DVD]
Andrew Marr's History of the World [DVD] by Andrew Marr (DVD - 2012)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews