Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but could be better on omega 3 advice
This book has helped me lots with my depression and I can safely say that because of the book I have come off antidepressants. SO many thanks to the author for putting the information about vitamins and amino acids (in particular) out there. Having moved on from the book and reading other natural ways to deal with depression and while still taking my aminos of course, I...
Published on 30 July 2009 by selfhelp journey guy

versus
27 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea - shame about the content
This is a well researched book written by an experienced and accomplished nutritionist covering the connection between mental health and what you eat. You think what you eat? - well not quite. Julia Ross asserts the concept that insufficient minerals and vitamins (health foods) cause symptoms of mental illness and who would disagree with that? However, not everyone has...
Published on 18 Nov 2003 by ColdR


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars ... if it keeps me on an even keel its fine need to read it a few times though to ..., 17 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mood Cure: Take Charge of Your Emotions in 24 Hours Using Food and Supplements (Kindle Edition)
helpful if it keeps me on an even keel its fine need to read it a few times though to get to the gist of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improve Your Mood Through Proper Nutrition, 24 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Mood Cure (Paperback)
The short review: This book aims to improve your mood mainly be making changes in your diet, particularly by recommending specific amino acids.

The longer review: The book begins by having the reader distinguish between false moods and true emotions by having them complete a questionnaire. By doing this, you can see which false mood type (or types) you seem to fit. From there, you are directed to certain chapters for a more individualized treatment. Action steps at the end of chapters tell you exactly what to do.

All-in-all it's certainly a valuable resource with much information. Know that it aims to primarily improve moods through nutritional means, which is a much overlooked area in my opinion, and anyone struggling with chronic bad moods is encouraged to check it out. Other books I liked that also take a natural approach include Exercise Beats Depression. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful and empowering, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mood Cure (Paperback)
Extremely useful. I am a nutrition therapist and I give it to my clients to read before I see them again to discuss. Empowering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this works, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mood Cure (Paperback)
an extremely easy read. and easy to get the basics of nutritional supplements for mood disorders. helped me when i quit SNRI's.

BUT, its very simplistic, and veeery americanized. i am still giving it 4 stars because her recommendations actually work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 71 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous advice, 3 Jun 2005
This book is bad news for vegetarians and vegans. Ross is an advocate of the extremely dangerous and unhealthy Atkins diet, though this is not made clear until pages and pages of utter drivel are ploughed through. There are some good facts and advice such as vegetables and fruit are good for you but anything positive in this book can be learned from all the other nutritionists' books out there.
The gist of the book is plant nutrients - bad, animal derivatives - good. Wheat, oats and rye based foodstuffs are bad for you as they contain gluten. This assumes that everyone has a gluten intolerance. However dairy products are good for you and a vital part of a healthy diet (despite the fact that humans are the only mammals to drink milk from another species) and only if you have a known lactose intolerance should you avoid milk. The advice given is first try lactose-free milk (if it exists) then goat's milk then avoid all dairy products and on no account should you switch to soya, almond or rice milk.
Soya beans and soy based products are seen as the latest evil and that's only because some people have intolerance to soy products while others have overindulged. Again sweeping generalisations are made.
The latest wonder nutrient, Omega 3 oils, is given the anti-vegan treatment. Apparently Omega 3 must be obtained only from oily fish and fish oils and not from seed or nut oils as they are unstable if not hydrogenised. To counteract the toxins found in fish the reader is advised to eat fish with a little sprig of fresh coriander. However to counteract the thyroxine reducing properties of soya the reader is not advised to eat sea vegetables but to avoid altogether.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Naturopathy, 9 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Mood Cure (Paperback)
An interesting read concerning an alternative therapy that is dietary based. The need to check out supplements, for use with prescribed medication, appears to be essential in all cases.
In the search for help to support a spouse suffering from depression I found The Mood Cure helpful.The Mood Cure: Take Charge of Your Emotions in 24 Hours Using Food and Supplements
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great info helps in my profession, 23 Dec 2013
as psykokinesiology its great for everyone who wants to be and feel healthy. From Nature's Sunshine you can get the best suplements + Aminoacids so chak out european website: [...] or use mine ID and sing up to get better discounts My ID: 405953 plus its great way also of learning more about health from 7500000 herb specialista are educationg you its larges group in the world!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars money making scheme, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mood Cure: Take Charge of Your Emotions in 24 Hours Using Food and Supplements (Kindle Edition)
Lissen my dear fellow so called 'sufferes' . i beg of you not to take any pill for any emotion you feel like fear or sadness or fur station.. Psychiatry = Con. the field of Psychiatry is one big money making scheme machine. I am pleading with you to realise now that you are not a LABEL…and do not let anybody label you or your children. Society of today simply cannot handle everybody to be growing and independently strong. therefore the people at the top have figured out ingenuous methods to label and separate some of us into groups of 'mentally ill' people. In order for us to become the label and ultimately turn the label into a self fulfilling prophecy. Do not for fall this trap dear friends. ADD/axniety and whatever is labeled based on behaviour! there is no science or evidence or test to determine that this is a so called 'illness of the mind' this is all bull!…Do not be shushed by the evil at the top…no body apart from your own parents wants to see you good..so imagine how much these experts so called. care about you or your feelings… they will be happy to give you pills and keep you in the web…so that you never grow and expand you capabilities….how can you possibly change behaviour with pills? how is it that these people claim to alter peoples behaviour via a physical thing from the outside (pill). its impossible…behaviour is learned! so is anxiety and most of these so called mental illnesses…it makes me sick to my stomach that they have all of us fooled into believing we are this label and that label…do you know that each year they take a vote to add on new mental illness to their lovely manual? how could this field of medicine sleep at night really? they have no explanation for these so called labels..and why they occur. the human mind is incredibly creative and believe me the people that feel these emotions of fear. anger.. detachment and obsessiveness are probably the most genius bunch the world has to offer…it is these minds that have shaped and changed our world and actually that rule our world…you think people at the top are "normal"…what is normal? there is no normal..there is dull..everybody..repetetive boring types…is this what we think of as normal? the work low intellect workhorses? how about We label these people as ILL because they haven't got the creative intelligence to build and think out the box and invent things…you think all the genius musicians you adore are normal? so called normal? umm no! they are creative intelligent..sleepless..full of emotion type of people just like you..however because they are at the top the people around them do not label them because of their power and wealth..it is us the ordinary regular people that they want to hush…imagine a world where all the creative people thrive and aim for the top..wouldnt work! there would be too much competition..so there is a need to label and stop the majority of us from raising our clever head high and aim for the top..

Please do not believe anything you read here and please do not purchase or take any medication to alter a behaviour…break it down in thought…carefully and say to yourself…how can intervention from outside modify my behaviour? can a pill help you to unlearn how to play a instrument? no…no way…therefore no way that a stimulant can help you focus..it will make you even more alert..it may be great for a little task you may have but think how it is affecting your brain chemistry and the side effects…notice how when you actually do something you love to do..its effortless you feel the stimulant like focus without taking anything! what does this tell you! that your brain has its own capabilities to produce these emotions…you just have to train it! slowly and regularly.

i care for all of u this is why i am writing this from the heart..please do not see yourself as the label…do not allow anyone to label you…open your eyes and see the truth… you are unique..u are rare…this means you are special not SICK! …you belong to the minority group of people who have been given this incredibly different thinking brain..which is a gift and if used well has the ability to be in charge of these other "normal labeled" people who make up the dull majority.

take care everyone
:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews