Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason's ride through his exciting career on & off the pitch
This book portrays everything that is good about rugby, the teamwork, camaraderie and the high jinks. Jason brings all the stories to life with various tales of the ups and downs that have happened in the top levels of the Rugby world which he has been such a pert of over the last decade or so.
He comes across as a very likeable man whose main priority is the game,...
Published on 10 Dec 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a good read
A well written book but I was left with a feeling that a lot of the real story missing was missing
Published 6 months ago by JAMES HENRY TELFORD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason's ride through his exciting career on & off the pitch, 10 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book portrays everything that is good about rugby, the teamwork, camaraderie and the high jinks. Jason brings all the stories to life with various tales of the ups and downs that have happened in the top levels of the Rugby world which he has been such a pert of over the last decade or so.
He comes across as a very likeable man whose main priority is the game, whether at club or international level. With a nickname of FunBus it is not surprising to find out he is just as happy in the middle of practical jokes as he is the melee of the front row. Few books cover the art of the front row forward, but Jason, who has the ability to play at loose and tighthead, brings some insights to the game, that I, after playing rugby of 20 years had no idea about.
All in all this book will sweep you along in a ride nearly as exciting as an international game. Be careful where you read it, as laughing out load on public transport gets you many strange looks. This has confirmed my view that I would love to spend an evening chatting with Jason over a beer or 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rugby's legend, 23 Feb 2003
By 
mr r t risker (cannock, staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Full of drunken stories? of course but as well as the stories which anyone involved with rugby will be aware of there are the ups and downs of englands greatest prop forward.
Standing out are the move from amatuer to professional the lions tours and Jasons battles against injury.
A light hearted and enjoyable read about english rugby over the last 10 years
A must for any rugby fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, fun and enlightening, 14 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This is the best rugby book around - a book which tells the proper tale of rugby union's move from amateurism to professionalism, including the highs and lows. It made be laugh, made me happy and made me sad. Above all, it reminded me that there are some great sports stars out there - Jason Leonard is at the top of the pile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. This is the best rugby book I've read, 8 Feb 2002
By A Customer
I can't recommoned this book too highly. It's such an great insight into the world of rugby - telling you about coping with dreadful injury, life in the scrums and how the various coaches and captains that Jason has played under have differed. I would strongly recommend that you read this book - really great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What you see is what you get, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jason Leonard: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Met Jason Leonard once when Neath played Harlequins back in the mid 90's and he was an absolute gent and down to earth. What you see in the book is that he never changed. Even though I am a welshman I agree with some of his comments following observations of a minority of welsh fans and it made me ashamed!

The book is an honest assessment of his own career and those who he played with and against.

I would recommend this read to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and light hearted read., 29 Mar 2014
By 
DC Hargreaves - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jason Leonard: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Great insight into the career of a legend of the game and how life as a rugby player changed from amateur to professional. Could have done with more juicy stories but definitely worth reading!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jason Leonard: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
A well written book but I was left with a feeling that a lot of the real story missing was missing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor book, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jason Leonard: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
A very poor book that appears to have been rushed out with little detail. Brief stories with little context or stories you expect from a sporting autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Jeepers, 16 July 2013
By 
Tj Simpson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jason Leonard: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Jason needs a ghost writer. This does not scan. No real story, just a collection of not very interesting stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jason Leonard: The Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Great read for any die hard England fan. Jason gives a great insight in to the world of rugby union and how it changed from amatuer to professional... cant not like this guy... full of great stories ... must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jason Leonard: The Autobiography
4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews