Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but not the best of Sammy's live performances
I don't consider this the best collection of Sammy Davis Jr. live performances, but it does contain a number of nice performances alongside the original studio recording of The Candy Man. Several of these live songs are available on other Sammy recordings: Rock-A-Bye Your Baby (With a Dixie Melody) which features Sammy's show-stopping impersonations of Humphrey Bogart,...
Published on 17 Mar 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Brought and sent back 2CD's could not play either on my CD player
Published 3 months ago by Garry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but not the best of Sammy's live performances, 17 Mar 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Songs (Audio CD)
I don't consider this the best collection of Sammy Davis Jr. live performances, but it does contain a number of nice performances alongside the original studio recording of The Candy Man. Several of these live songs are available on other Sammy recordings: Rock-A-Bye Your Baby (With a Dixie Melody) which features Sammy's show-stopping impersonations of Humphrey Bogart, James Cagney, Cary Grant, Marlon Brando, Dean Martin, and Jerry Lewis; Mr. Bojangles; the highly energetic I've Gotta Be Me and The Birth of the Blues; and Talk to the Animals. What Kind of Fool Am I? is one of my all-time favorite songs, but I consider the version on this CD to be Sammy's least effective; this is largely because he forgoes the dramatic high notes of the climax and chooses to whisper the closing words in a low voice. When comparing this set of live songs to those available on other albums such as Greatest Hits, Live, the remaining three songs should assume the most critical importance in your decision (unless you are like me and just buy whatever Sammy Davis Jr. album you can get your hands on, regardless of whether you already own all of the songs or not). Gonna Build a Mountain is a good song, but it's never knocked me over with its energy or power. Bye Bye Blackbird is very good, as Sammy has a little fun with the audience in addition to singing what is a very good song. Lady Is a Tramp is a Sammy classic and guaranteed show-stopper. Bye Bye Blackbird and Lady is a Tramp make this an album well worth owning, even if you already have several of the other performances on another CD such as Greatest Hits, Live. If you only want one of these two CDs, though, Greatest Songs has less to offer than its aforementioned counterpart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only forty minutes of tracks, but worth every second...!, 23 Nov 2003
By 
David L Rattigan (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Greatest Songs (Audio CD)
Sammy does not merely sing: He entertains. This CD, containing live recordings of several classic numbers, is not simply background music. You'll want to take the time to sit down and listen and have fun.
The main reason I purchased this is that I heard one day Sammy singing Talk to the Animals, and was enchanted by it, and so far this is the only available recording I can find. He fills Leslie Bricusse's song with vivacity, playfulness and energy.
Other highlights are Candyman (the only original studio track on the disc), Mr Bojangles (moving as ever) and Gonna Build a Mountain. Sit back, get those toes a-tapping and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Greatest Songs (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Songs (Audio CD)
Brought and sent back 2CD's could not play either on my CD player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great songs, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Songs (1950 & 1960's Top Hits) (MP3 Download)
Well worth buying, maybe not all the songs, but certainly enough to make it worth while if it is your era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest songs, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Songs (1950 & 1960's Top Hits) (MP3 Download)
fantastic great songs from my youth worth every penny love it takes me back to when i met my husband
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. M. T. Coughlin (Sunderland England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Songs (1950 & 1960's Top Hits) (MP3 Download)
A good selection of songs which I found entertaining and varied. I heard some songs that I did not recognise but that is not a critisism
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Songs (Audio CD)
Wow what wonderful value for this music. Can't really believe it but I shall be on the lookout for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Songs (1950 & 1960's Top Hits), 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Songs (1950 & 1960's Top Hits) (MP3 Download)
I am annoyed about this order on 23rd October,2013. Still not received it YET! Could you look into this please! as i have been charged for this item. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews