Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gently epic, 26 Aug 2012
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Westway (Audio CD)
It's great to hear new material from Blur. Under The Westway is a lovely, cascading, gently epic ballad which could have been written/released during the Parklife/Great Escape-era. Damon's vocals are fragile, mournful and emotional. The Puritan, on the other hand, is a higher-tempo, electronic-laden, jaunty number which has more in common with 13-era Blur. Although it's good, Under The Westway is definitely the stronger of the two. On the CD single, there are instrumental versions of both songs, as well as a worthy acoustic version of Under The Westway.

For Blur completists, it's essential. Even if you're not a completist, it's a strong single and well worth owning if you're a fan. It would be nice if this studio work led to an album... but it doesn't look likely. In the meantime, I'll take what I can get and enjoy this single along with my new box set. There's something very special about the four of them together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Song, 19 Sep 2012
By 
Twixie "Twixie" (Farnborough UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Under The Westway (Audio CD)
What a truly lovely song this is. A real love song to London from Damon. If this is their last (and I hope to God it's not) then they will have gone out on a high.

Damon's vocals are beautiful, plaintive and emotional. I could listen to this over and over - a good sign!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A coda to the story of Blur?, 7 Sep 2012
This review is from: Under The Westway (Audio CD)
Earlier this year, at the Shepherd's Bush Empire, Damon Albarn and Graham Coxon of Blur were performing a short acoustic set as part of a charity show. They played 3 songs, of which the real surprise of the night was the unveiling of Under The Westway, the first new Blur song since the Record Store Day single Fool's Day a few years ago. Much excitement ensued and the performance was all over youtube from various cameraphones around the venue - would there, at long last, be a new Blur album?

No.

But a plethora of Blur releases have hit the shelves, re-releases of all the albums, the mega box set Blur 21: The Box [Bonus Three DVD's and One 7" LP Record] that contains nearly every Blur song ever released, a live recording of the summer Hyde Park concert, and this single.

Under The Westway is the headline track, and is a delicate piano led ballad, another in the Blur canon to reference London's Westway. It's a strong song and grows on repeat listens. It feels a grown up song - a world away from the Blur that threw out anthemic choruses, but none the worse for it.

And the flipside is The Puritan. This has nanana bits in for singalong purposes, and is more up tempo and electric, there's a lot going on behind the vocals to the extent it becomes a bit of a skittish wall of sound. It's fun, but Under The Westway is probably the song you'll return to more often.

Also on the CD single is an acoustic rendition of Under The Westway, which goes back to that original Shepherds Bush performance and mainly shows that adding extra instrumentation and bells (but not whistles) in this case really helps make the track, and instrumental versions of Under The Westway and The Puritan which are largely filler unless you have a karaoke urge for one of these tracks.

So two new Blur songs, that can only be good thing. But worth buying the CD single? Only if you like your music in physical form. If not, the MP3 release will do just fine, the extra tracks really are completists only fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Westway (Audio CD)
It0s incredible how a group can split up and return with such a great energy. Absolutely indispensable for every fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It stirs the soul!, 24 Jan 2013
By 
Rainbow (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Westway (Audio CD)
My first venture into music by Blur and I love it! Having heard it several times on the radio I had to have it. This was the only one I could find in CD format, a bit pricey at over £5, and shame it was in a cardboard sleeve, but I'm glad to have it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars blur under the westway/the puritan, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Westway (Audio CD)
Beautiful song!they still got it!very nice for a blur fan,and good bonus tracks!a must have!with the puritan included!and instrumentals from every song!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under the Westway, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under The Westway (Audio CD)
Great to hear Blur again, was bought as a present for Christmas. It reminds me of the Olympic Park location.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have I missed something?, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Westway (MP3 Download)
I've struggled to find another way to do this - why has this disappeared from my Cloud player? so what happened?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under the Westway
Buy MP3 Album£1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews