Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blinding soundtrack from Cave & co!
This bootlegging soundtrack from the versatile Nick Cave offers even more scope for experimentation across genres including country and bluegrass creating a panoramic soundscape. From the usual rip rollicking Cave and Ellis compositions to the sultry sound of Emmylou Harris, who has never sounded more wistful and alluring. There is a cover of White Light by Ralph Stanley...
Published on 9 Nov. 2012 by Jadbeer

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lord oh Lord-release me from this pain
i could ve done better.......talk about livin on a reputation...complete rip off...my 2 year old daughter hums more tuneful stuff....weird psycho -babble music
Published 8 months ago by Mr. P. G. Tomaney


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blinding soundtrack from Cave & co!, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lawless (Audio CD)
This bootlegging soundtrack from the versatile Nick Cave offers even more scope for experimentation across genres including country and bluegrass creating a panoramic soundscape. From the usual rip rollicking Cave and Ellis compositions to the sultry sound of Emmylou Harris, who has never sounded more wistful and alluring. There is a cover of White Light by Ralph Stanley (not to everyone's taste!), as well as a more traditional version from the understated Mark Lanegan who also adds extra kudos. Well worth checking out as a stand alone album - no filler tracks whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars laden with folksy bluegrass songs, 11 Sept. 2012
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lawless (Audio CD)
I found this sound track to very good and it fitted in well with movie giving a very thematic feel; it is laden with folksy bluegrass songs. For those Nick Cave fans there is to be found only two songs where Cave is singing, that said he wrote a handful of the original material for the film. The band listed as The Bootleggers are actually Nick Cave, and some musician friends. There is also a bonus track by Willie Nelson, which was not included in the film. Please note that there some music elements which were in the movie, but have for some unknown reason, have been left out of this OST which is a real pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toe-tapping stuff with some beautiful songs, 28 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Lawless (Audio CD)
At first this put me in mind of the "O Brother Where Art Thou" soundtrack, but then the film is set in the same time period. Cosmonaut is such a beautiful track & I love track 5 which is a cover of the Velvet Underground's "White Light/White Heat" which is so upbeat - to be honest this CD hasn't left my stereo since I bought it. If you like Country/Western/Folk music I can't see you being disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Cave can do no wrong, 28 Nov. 2012
By 
D. S. Pine "Davo Love" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lawless (Audio CD)
It's up there with the best of Cave's work, even though you don't hear his voice that much, but you have got Lanegan, who also does no wrong. Curious people doing curious covers doesn't sound promising, but it totally works, every track. Similar in style and content to the Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Projects, this works just as well, and hopefully introduces other 'new bands / singers'. Take a punt on this as a Christmas present for someone who likes music, they'll thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 23 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lawless (Audio CD)
I bought this on the strength of the film, music was a great addition to the mood of the film, and enjoy music as a standalone CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars l loved the movie, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lawless (Audio CD)
I loved the movie the sound trak made it. I have play this cd on a loop all day. buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lawless (Audio CD)
This is a very good CD and has introduced me to bluegrass. I've passed it on to friends and they love it. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis capture the music and introduce a modern twang. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lawless (Audio CD)
I bought this because I enjoyed the music when I watched the film. The CD does not disappoint and I have listened to it many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lawless (MP3 Download)
Depends on your taste of music as to whether you could simply sit and enjoy this album but if you enjoy the movie you'll more than likely going to love the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking..., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lawless (Audio CD)
Soundtrack. This film is superb and it has been made a classic by the sound track. Fantastic collaboration of artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lawless
Lawless by Nick Cave (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews