Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soft Focus Sentiments
My last encounter with this talented Danish duo's music was with
their 2009 album 'In and Out Of Control'. I loved it and remain
convinced of their worth. The breathy vocals; the dense reverb;
their light-handed way with re-imagined sixties psychedelia, all
coalesce in in a highly refined set of nine engaging and memorable
new melodies. They have...
Published 23 months ago by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Like going back to 1989 - not in a good way either
Why do these two remind me of Roxette? Not just because of the boy/girl set up or the Scandanavian aspect. They seem to be not much more than a hipper version of those two. As for the music, well, wasn't this already done 25 years ago by My Bloody Valentine and the rest of the shoegazers? But then, if repeated two-chord songs with lots of slapback echo on them and...
Published 17 months ago by Geoff Saunders


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soft Focus Sentiments, 20 Sep 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Observator (Audio CD)
My last encounter with this talented Danish duo's music was with
their 2009 album 'In and Out Of Control'. I loved it and remain
convinced of their worth. The breathy vocals; the dense reverb;
their light-handed way with re-imagined sixties psychedelia, all
coalesce in in a highly refined set of nine engaging and memorable
new melodies. They have not moved too far away from their familiar
template (a case of "if it isn't broken don't try to fix it") but their
songwriting skills seem to have grown more mature and assured.

With tunes as affecting as 'Curse The Night', with its luminous vocal
harmonies; the beautifully layered refrain and jangling guitar of 'She
Owns The Streets' (where the spirits of The Mammas and The Pappas
seem to smile over their shoulders); the sweet and sour sentiments
of 'You Hit Me (I'm Down)' and the lovely 'Observations', it's hard
not to imagine ourselves transported back to The Summer Of Love.

Sharin Foo and Sune Rose Wagner have delivered yet another little gem.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dense and downbeat, 2 Oct 2012
This review is from: Observator (MP3 Download)
Now I adore Whip It On but am still not convinced by their first few albums until In & Out Of Control and Raven In The Grave were released. The lacklustre overeliance on bubblegum was ditched for a slower, gothy sounds. Dense, knotty and seductive. Their new album, Observator builds on their past 2 albums with aplomb.
Reading some pieces about the album revealed that Sune Rose Wagner suffers from depression and you can certainly here it on this album as the sound continues to grow darker and droning pianos are added to the mix.
On the negative side the last few tracks dont quite carry on the high quality set down by the early tracks, with "Young And Cold" being a stunning album opener.
The Raveonettes are straying further away from their trademark "whiplash rock n roll" but their new sound is intoxicating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly brilliant, 20 Sep 2012
By 
Heathcliffe "nalafud" (Winchester Hampshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Observator (Audio CD)
Another album bought after hearing a track on the brilliant Radio 6Music. Apart from a couple of tracks, this is the usual mix of dense Raveonettes chording and fragile otherworldly vocals (meant in a good way). Well I like them as a group so this was money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Like going back to 1989 - not in a good way either, 1 April 2013
This review is from: Observator (Audio CD)
Why do these two remind me of Roxette? Not just because of the boy/girl set up or the Scandanavian aspect. They seem to be not much more than a hipper version of those two. As for the music, well, wasn't this already done 25 years ago by My Bloody Valentine and the rest of the shoegazers? But then, if repeated two-chord songs with lots of slapback echo on them and breathless vocals are your thing, go straight ahead. Me, I nearly fell asleep listening to the whole thing. Pleasant enough, but nothing out of the ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Observator (Audio CD)
Great album - it is a mixture of old "Psyched Up Janis" with new sound of Raveonettes. Cannot wait to hear this live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great return from the raveonettes, 3 Nov 2012
This review is from: Observator (Audio CD)
I've been waiting for this album a long time now and I wasn't dissapointed !! A top album from start to finish, more of a return to pretty in black, stand out track has to be she owns the street. Sounds very smiths influenced, no bad thing. If your a fan you'll love this album, otherwise you'll love it anyway. A must have!! Rave on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Observator
Observator by The Raveonettes (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews