Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colour Perfect Cuppa
Think this is my all time one and favourite kettle. The design and illumination are a delight in the kitchen. Definitely not a family size kettle but ideal for one or two people. As with most frequently used small electrical items, it is expected you would need to replace it perhaps every couple of years and this is no bad reflection on the quality or design by the...
Published on 25 Jan. 2013 by Frances D Trent

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars kettle
Wanted a kettle with a filter as I live in a hard water area. The kettle in this respect is excellent however I find the kettle rather heavy to lift.
Published 9 months ago by moval


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colour Perfect Cuppa, 25 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville Brushed Stainless Steel Brita Filter Kettle with Spectra Illumination (Kitchen & Home)
Think this is my all time one and favourite kettle. The design and illumination are a delight in the kitchen. Definitely not a family size kettle but ideal for one or two people. As with most frequently used small electrical items, it is expected you would need to replace it perhaps every couple of years and this is no bad reflection on the quality or design by the manufacturer. It makes a great cuppa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice kettle for 2 people, 16 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville Brushed Stainless Steel Brita Filter Kettle with Spectra Illumination (Kitchen & Home)
Purchased in Aug and had to send back because the on/off switch would switch off after a few seconds, easy return process and replacement arrived 2 days later.
The kettle looks good, the stainless finish on the main body is a gentle brushed stainless which contrasts quite well with the lid, handle and base which is polished stainless. Easy to clean and does not show marks/finger prints. Its expensive and only time will tell if it leaks like many of the other breville filter kettles (ie the one its replacing!)

Only problem is that when filling with water you can only add enough water for 2 mugs of tea at a time. The area where the filter is and you pour the water into is very small (which for the 2 of us is not a problem) and if you want to boil water for 4 mugs (the max) you have to wait for the 1st fill to filter and then fill the kettle again. Very poor and would bug me a lot if we were always having to boil water for 3 or 4 people.

So all in all, its a nice kettle and if you can cope with the cost and only normally need to boil 1 or 2 mugs worth of water then its good. If you normally boil 3 or 4 mugs a time do not buy this model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great kettle, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville Brushed Stainless Steel Brita Filter Kettle with Spectra Illumination (Kitchen & Home)
very good kettle wouldnt be with out this make, love the flasing colour changes and great to see exactly when its getting to the boil as you can turn it off just before if you only want warm water instead of boiled and so on. no white bits floating in the tea all in all a brillient kettle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN THE OLD MODEL, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
COULD NOT WISH FOR A BETTER KETTLE. LOVE THE LIGHTS ALTHOUGH WOULD LIKE THEM TO STAY ON ALL NIGHT AS I USUALLY GET UP IN THE NIGHTFOR A CUPPA AND THE OLD ONE STAYED ON AND WAS SO WELCOMING AT 3.00A.M. BOILS SO FAST, IT IS THE QUICKETS CUPPA I HAVE EVER HAD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Techno Rave Kettle, 1 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Breville Brushed Stainless Steel Brita Filter Kettle with Spectra Illumination (Kitchen & Home)
I Spent a while debating whether or not to buy this due to already using a water filter for my previous kettle which managed 5 years in a very hard water area as a result. I was concerened with reviews outlining the lack of capacity, I inspected a display model to ensure that the filter and its basket could be removed, and the lid shut, thus the kettle could potentially be used without the filter in place, and boil, however on close inspection, when removed, the lid, although shuts, does not seal correctly, and the spout gaurd/filter which is part of the basket is missed, This i knew would result in the kettle potentially boiling dry if used without such basket/filter.

I furthur noticed that the basket sits the filter 1/4 way into the water when filled to the max, so there will be water boiling within the filter. Although the upper chamber is sealed to prevent a back flow of steam through the filter, i
I wonder how much testing breville and brita have subjected these filters too in this sort of condition over time.

I bought it despite all this, because i liked the pretty colours!

I was correct about my suspitions as i took out the filter and basket and proceeded to boil 2500ml in it(more than double its 1000ml capacity), finally operating the switch myself as it would not. = Tea and coffee for 8 people! (all mugs approx 300ml) thank you very much. With nothing more than the lid getting a bit hot and the filter timer softening. Obviously it is likely to invalidate my warranty if there is a problem with the lid or any other components while doing this although I doubt they could prove it though I imagine they'd try. But for the odd "big boil" i fully intend to demand this much of it.
What would be handy is if Breville made a lid basket that increases the boil capacity while removing the filter and shielding the lid/enabling a seal.

I replaced the filter and brimmed the top chamber which takes 600ml(exactly enough for 2x 300ml mugs with a splash of milk)this amount is perfect for our every day routine of it just being the two of us. just remember to brim the top chamber after you've poured 2 mugs each time. However if once filtered, you brim the chamber a second time wou will well exceed the max limit and submerege half the filter. To achive the breville recommended max line for one boil (1000ml/4 cups/3 mugs) the top chamber needs 1 brim then 1 half fill. it filters one brim in 1min 30secs. So if like me you brimmed the chamber after you made tea in the morning, and an unexpected 3rd party has just arrived, don't despair, just half fill the chamber a second time then instantly hit boil, by the time the water has started achiving temperature the water will have filtered though, and you'll have a max boil for 3 mugs.

The Colour changing is novel. Its like a lava lamp that has function and turns off after 20min. And LEDs draw minimal current so with its small capacity (filter fitted) its highly effecient. There is the facility with the base to adjust cord length and the thumb pop lid button feels dependable. And of course ultimately it makes a nice cup of tea in a hard water area, and won't need quite as much descale as a kettle without a filter.

It is all plastic, and with clever timers, sensors and lights it does have more things to go wrong, but so far i'm please with the craftmanship, and don't regret the money i spent on it.

If the filter doesn't work out i may just remove it from the basket and continue using filtered water from the jug in the kettle. if it does, then perhaps the jug can say goodbye.

Hope all the above sheds some light on your dilemma of "which kettle"

Steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uber - non tacky, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville Brushed Stainless Steel Brita Filter Kettle with Spectra Illumination (Kitchen & Home)
this is a great item, wanted a britta filter but after the purchase was slightly worried the neon lights might be cheap and tacky looking, but no, thankfully this feature is absolutely awesome, its more of a mood setting rather than random colours. also, once you begin to boil, the lights turn from blue to red, letting you know that water is hot inside.

My partner is deaf, he is over the moon with it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Delivery!!, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville Brushed Stainless Steel Brita Filter Kettle with Spectra Illumination (Kitchen & Home)
Very happy with my purchase,this is a replacement for my other spectra which I've had for a few years.
I'm very happy with how quick it arrived,ordered on the Monday evening and with me on the Wednesday morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great filter kettle, 19 Jun. 2014
By 
I. ROBERTSON "gadgetman" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville Brushed Stainless Steel Brita Filter Kettle with Spectra Illumination (Kitchen & Home)
I had a previous incarnation of this kettle, and it lasted about 10 years, so I am sure this one will do the business for a long time to come.

I wasnt looking for flashing fancy lights, but they dont add/detract from the kettle's main purpose.

Its a kettle, it filters the water, and it boils it quickly - perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars kettle, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville Brushed Stainless Steel Brita Filter Kettle with Spectra Illumination (Kitchen & Home)
Wanted a kettle with a filter as I live in a hard water area. The kettle in this respect is excellent however I find the kettle rather heavy to lift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breville Brushed Stainless Steel Brita Filter Kettle with Spectra Illumination (Kitchen & Home)
Wanted a brushed stainless steel, not shiny base, top and handle. Also want spectrum lights to stay on as previous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews