Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly brave and shocking horror
Bereavement is writen, edited, produced, directed (and composed) by Stevan Mena. Frankly it's a wonder he had time to shoot a film, let alone shoot a good one. It starts off with fairly formula stuff, as an unusual kid is abducted, and pretty teen Allison (Alexandra Daddario) is shown moving in with her Uncle's family in the countyside after the death of her parents...
Published on 31 Oct. 2012 by Benminx

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WEIRD ENDING
In rural Pennsylvania a psychopath (Brett Rickaby) kidnaps a young boy and cuts him. The boy has a medical condition where he does not feel pain, which the psycho mistakes for "no fear." In awe the psycho make Martin (Spencer List) his apprentice, picking up women that no one seems to know is missing.

Nearby, Allison (Alexandra Daddario) moves in with her uncle...
Published 20 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WEIRD ENDING, 3 Sept. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bereavement [DVD] (DVD)
In rural Pennsylvania a psychopath (Brett Rickaby) kidnaps a young boy and cuts him. The boy has a medical condition where he does not feel pain, which the psycho mistakes for "no fear." In awe the psycho make Martin (Spencer List) his apprentice, picking up women that no one seems to know is missing.

Nearby, Allison (Alexandra Daddario) moves in with her uncle following the death of her parents. She jogs past the abandoned building where the psycho lives and she becomes curious...

The acting was about what you would expect for a "B" horror movie. There is stabbing and blood, but there lacks a certain horror aspect as we don't know most of the victims. I thought I had the movie figured out, but the ending came off as a surprise. The movie sets up for a sequel. Not the worst horror film out there, it just lacks character.

Language and brief corpse nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly brave and shocking horror, 31 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Bereavement [DVD] (DVD)
Bereavement is writen, edited, produced, directed (and composed) by Stevan Mena. Frankly it's a wonder he had time to shoot a film, let alone shoot a good one. It starts off with fairly formula stuff, as an unusual kid is abducted, and pretty teen Allison (Alexandra Daddario) is shown moving in with her Uncle's family in the countyside after the death of her parents.
We get all of the formula ingredients, from a handsome local rebel befriending Allison to her Uncle's chagrin, and some brutal murders of missing women at the hands of the local psychopath - all signs pointing towards a typical 'girl falls foul of psycho and has to escape' cliche.
Indeed, for a good two thirds of the movie it looks like it's heading that way, with even the intelligent heroine making a few silly decisions. However, the highly dramatic direction, powerful and dramatic music score, and some very brave writing raise it WAY above the grade in the final third.
Easily one of the most startling, relentlessly terrifying and genuinely shocking films I've sat through in recent years, it's clear the director sat down and decided to write a film in which all bets were off, and then somehow convinced people to actual let him keep it that way. A genuinely freaky and scary psycho, hard to watch and gory violence, sub-plots that are unveiled more and more the closer we get to the climax, and real surprises.
Give this excellent indie chiller a try, and then keep your eye on its director. You'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Horror Movie!, 5 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Bereavement [DVD] (DVD)
I watched Bereavement on DVD last night and thought it was a brilliant horror movie! Truly, one of the best I have ever seen. A real gripping, exciting plot, with characters you really cared about. Some really scary moments, with so many edge-of-the-seat twists and turns that you just could not predict what was going to happen next. If more modern horror movies were like this, it would be a real treat to watch them. This movie is right up there with such classics as Psycho, Drag Me To Hell and Halloween. A must-see for any horror fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bereavement, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bereavement [DVD] (DVD)
A bit disappointed in this film as its not my favourite film but passed the time. Thought it could of been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bereavement [DVD] (DVD)
I watched Bereavement due to it having Michael Biehn in. Despite never quite living up to his potential after the success of Terminator and Aliens, he normally puts in a solid supporting performance in whatever he's in.

Bereavement tells the story of a young boy who's kidnapped by a serial killer and forced to watch as the man executes one girl after another. Nice. After five years, a seventeen year old girl moves to down after her parents were tragically killed in a car crash. She starts to discover the `terrible secret.'

There's nothing too revolutionary about the whole `small town serial killer' premise, but it starts out with reasonable promise. I was quite enjoying it and wondering what all the negative reviews were talking about (and there are many if you care to look online). However, what starts off as possibly an enjoyable serial killer flick, descends into one daft plot hole after the next and soon I found I was actually laughing at how stupid everything turns out to be.

I know you have to suspend your disbelief to watch most horror films, but this one is too much. Here, if you're interested, are a few `spoilers:' the killer drives round the town slowly in the most beat-up distinctive van imaginable, abducts a child and drives off. No one notices this. There appear to be no police in the town who bother to investigate this possibility and look into the loner who's still living in an abandoned slaughter house. This killer then abducts local girls at an alarming rate. No one actually notices or seems to bother investigating. We are told at the very beginning of the film that a child who cannot feel pain due to an illness MUST be checked every hour on the hour for cuts etc that he is unable to notice. Yet, he can then go on to live for five years quite healthily with a serial killer in a grimy old warehouse with no medical attention whatsoever.

Sadly, these plot holes come thick and fast and just become annoying. About the only real thing Bereavement has going for it is the scenery, which is indeed well shot and atmospheric. Unfortunately, it's just too hard to believe to truly enjoy.

Probably best t avoid.

Oh, and if you do decide to give it a go - turn the volume down. Seriously, this film has more women screaming than any other film I think I've watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beareavment DVD, 29 Nov. 2012
By 
Mrs. Ms. Bailey (lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bereavement [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD was reccomended to me by my daughter as she knows I like horror films the film is rather gory and frightening its one of those films that sticks un your mind for a while but that's horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Prequel, 27 April 2012
By 
Mr. R. Domar (Wolves) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Plot. A woman killing serial killer abducts a 6 year old boy. Five years later a teenage girl moves to the area to live with her uncle.
I thought this was a decent horror film. Well written, fairly well acted and flows along nice and quickly. We get explanations about most of the characters early on altho not a lot about the psycho. There are some very clever jump scares, a decent plot and a few surprises and while this is a brutal film we do not see that much graphic violence.
This was the prequel to Malevolence [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Extras include a com, making of 35 min, deleted. USA Release Region 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OMG, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bereavement [DVD] (DVD)
This film was so slow I was sure I had fallen asleep at some point. I watched most of the film on fast forward. The acting was not the best I have ever seen, but to be fair it was not the worst either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 28 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Bereavement [DVD] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bereavement (Amazon Instant Video)
absloute rubbish dont waste your money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bereavement [DVD]
Bereavement [DVD] by Stevan Mena (DVD - 2012)
£3.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews