Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who pulls the rope on the chute when they let those suckers go?, 9 Jan. 2009
By 
J. Macdonald (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
OK then, so nothing happened. Lets try again.
A heyyyhh an' a hey an' a hey an' a hey - this is one that I've just got in to - well, since about 6 months actually, and I just love it. This can be played at any time of the day or night. Sheer musical exuberance. It chugs, it bops, it boogies, it's mellow, all with big fat smiley face - hoy,hoy,hoy!!! From the southern swampy intro to "San Ber'dino", the lazy blues intro to "Pojama People", the funked-up Beach Boys harmony inspired intro to "Sofa No2", all metamorphosing into groovy nuggets of un-po-(jama)faced jazz-pop, with growling guitars, funky keyboards & gruff vocals, underpinned by a rhythm section so tight there's no daylight between the skins and the four fat strings. This is a joy from start to finish. Play it once and - hmmm this is interesting. Play it twice and hoy hoy hoy! - you find yourself smiling. Play it a third time and wow! this is good, this very good people! And so you play, play and play it again and then, quite unexpectedly on "Andy" you ask yourself - is this gospel? Is this funk? Is it jazz? Does it matter? No it don't, 'cos this is just damn fine musicianship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius Feature, 20 Feb. 2009
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
There are some people who are known as genius, but frequently this word seems to be a bit overestimated as, between a very good work and a genius work there is some road to travel yet.

Zappa was in fact an enlightening person and, in a few years, when music history enclose the XX century, this man will be placed at the level of Bach, Mozart, Beethoven or Stravinsky, as one of the great figures of the musical scene.

For me, this album is his masterpiece, in spite of all the splendid and funny music that he wrote and produced. I don't have the cd, but the vinyl, bought when released, still works fine, and is a good contribution for the mechanic exercise of my record player.

*******************-(19 stars in 20)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully quirky, Zappa delivers a masterpiece, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
The music of Frank Zappa defies easy description; this talented guitarist and songwriter embraces the best traditions of progressive rock, jazz fusion and hard rock. 'One Size Fits All' (1975) is certainly an ambitious collection of songs - 'Inca Roads', which kicks things off, provides full-on weirdness with every member of The Mothers of Invention getting in on the act - your senses will be reeling at the speed and skill of the guitar, keyboard and percussion solos (even the vocals are delivered at machine-gun velocity!). By comparison, 'Can't Afford No Shoes' is a relatively normal, but still meaty, rock workout whilst 'Sofa No.1' is a lovely mid-tempo instrumental piece. 'Po-Jama People' shows Zappa at his quirky and wittiest best - this is a lovely, funky track with a gorgeous guitar solo.

Over to the second half of the LP, 'Florentine Pogen' is definitely a classic piece of rock theatre - this was the first Zappa track I ever heard and, 30 years on, I still love it. The whimsical nature of the material is best summed up by the improbably named 'Evelyn, A Modified Dog' - a short and sweet track - followed by 2 more superb rock numbers, 'San Ber'dino' and 'Andy', both of which weigh in at around the 6 minute mark. Finally, the fun and games conclude with the craziness of 'Sofa No. 2' with lyrics sung in German!

Verdict: This album is not for the faint-hearted. Your aural senses will feel battered from this 40 minute onslaught, but, stick with it and I reckon you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Arf" she said!, 4 Sept. 2014
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
I have owned various versions of this album over the years, and it is probably my favourite Frank Zappa record. This latest Bob Stone remaster really unlocks all the various layers of each track, and I am really pleased with the way the drums and bass really add punch to the songs. I really love this line up,and advise anyone who wants to dip their toes into Frank's work to try this album first, and then the Apostrophe(')/ Over-nite Sensation/Roxy & Elsewhere trilogy. Frank has been my hero since 1966, and the new series of remasters really do justice to his work. You'll love it, it's a way of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Zappa, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
A great album from Mr Zappa. Full of amazing guitar work and Zappa humour. This is the sort of album you play again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 May 2010
By 
D. Widegren - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
This record, I would say, is the apex of Zappa's George Duke/Napoleon Murphy Brock line-up in the mid-seventies, right before the Bozzio years. Great songs, great musicians and good variation. Five stars.

Although Roxy & Elsewhere was released before One Size Fits All, I enjoyed Roxy & Elsewhere much better after I really got into One Size Fits All, so I'd say this record is a good start to get into another facet of Zappa's music, for example if you've only been listening to early Mothers of Invention records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Size Fits All Suits Me, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
For me this album has it all. I have this on vinyl, cassette, mp3, CD and, after nearly forty years, firmly in my head.
Frank Zappa was a genius, and posterity will prove that to be true. As Mr. Zappa said, "You either get it or you don't".
I get it and I hope you do too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sofa, so good, 29 May 2014
By 
A. V. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
Although I own a couple of dozen Frank Zappa albums this one seemed to pass me buy when it was originally released. I would now rank this as one of my favourite FZ albums. The lead track - Sofa - in it's many and varied versions - is probably up in the top 5 on my best of FZ compositions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We miss you Frank, 13 Aug. 2008
By 
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
Having listened to most of his work this is the one I have to play on a weekly basis.Sofa No 2 is so full of life.

buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2012 re-MASTER job done!, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Size Fits All (Audio CD)
The 2012 remasters are the way to go, simply a wonderful job and a fantastic sound makes all the difference. One size fits all is also one of Zappa's best recordings. Don't hesitate; buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Size Fits All
One Size Fits All by Frank Zappa (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews