Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Anglish man abroad
I really enjoyed Severin's Viking trilogy a few years ago, so when I saw this the first in a series seemingly about Saxons I jumped in. Only to find it really isn't about the saxons at all. Well it's about one of them, who within the first few pages finds himself in Charlemagne's Frankia! Bothered? No not really because it was a cracking little book!

What I...
Published on 12 Aug. 2012 by Mr. A. I. Harrison

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I chose this book just after finishing the last novel in Bernard Cornwells Warrior Chronicles series. Expecting another enjoyable read of a historical adventure, I was totally disappointed. This book seems as if it was written for a younger target audience, The characters were weak, the plot completely unbelievable and the historical content light. I only finished the...
Published 15 months ago by stuart hamilton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars very good read., 4 Dec. 2013
I like the way tim severin writes. Very good and entertaining read. Lots of detail and action from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars UNFULFILLING, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Dreams (Saxon 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book was OK, but not great. There is definately something lacking in this book. It may be that the main hero is not terribly inspiring and some of the plot is just too far-fetched; like hundreds of seasoned warriors being killed but the inept and unwarlike hero is the only survivor. I was left with a feeling of disappointment when the hero survives as I thought that he deserved to die!

I like this genre of story but it may be that I have read too many of them now as this one seemed to be formulaic and contained nothing new and it lacked the authority of, say, a Robert Low.

This is intended as the first in a series of books following this character and I may buy the next one, just in the hope that it gets better but, be warned Mr Severin; you're on probation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Dreams (Saxon 1) (Kindle Edition)
got boring and went on a bit too long
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Come on make it believeable, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Dreams (Saxon 1) (Kindle Edition)
Terrible, I love historical fiction but something authors just churn out rubbish for profit . Not a chance I'll follow up the rest of the series. Totally unbelievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's Saxon but not as we know it, Jim ..., 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saxon: The Book of Dreams (Saxon 1)

A tedious story, poorly written. The basic history is fine but the story was not engaging (I read historical novels like other people breathe and this was a let-down). Why on earth would you give a Saxon prince the moniker "Patch"?? Could not get vision of either Robin Williams (Patch Adams) or Dudley Moore (Santa Claus the Movie), let alone a dog, out of my head - totally destroyed what little atmosphere the book might have engendered. Very disappointed and did not enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book Tim at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Dreams (Saxon 1) (Kindle Edition)
decent historical fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit dissapointng.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ripping good yarn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Dreams (Saxon 1) (Kindle Edition)
great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Dreams (Saxon 1)
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews