Customer Reviews


199 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars anything Tarsem does is always breathtaking and eye watering
Immortals may be dark in places but the opulent beauty of the scenes makes up for the shallow plot.
Not being a classicist, I am unsure if the story is any deeper, but the idea of the Titans is an appealing one.
The film was beautifully photographed but there were some dark scenes, not great on a laptop.
TS always fills the screen with vision, beauty and...
Published 3 months ago by R. Kumar

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I have plenty of women....
Eons after the Gods won their mythic struggle against the Titans, a new evil threatens the land.

Mad with power, King Hyperion has declared war against humanity. Amassing a bloodthirsty army of soldiers disfigured by his own hand, Hyperion has scorched Greece in search of the legendary Epirus Bow, a weapon of unimaginable power forged in the heavens by...
Published 3 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I have plenty of women...., 7 May 2014
This review is from: Immortals (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [2011] (Blu-ray)
Eons after the Gods won their mythic struggle against the Titans, a new evil threatens the land.

Mad with power, King Hyperion has declared war against humanity. Amassing a bloodthirsty army of soldiers disfigured by his own hand, Hyperion has scorched Greece in search of the legendary Epirus Bow, a weapon of unimaginable power forged in the heavens by Ares.

Only he who possesses this bow can unleash the Titans, who have been imprisoned deep within the walls of Mount Tartaros since the dawn of time and thirst for revenge.

In the king's hands, the bow would rain destruction upon mankind and annihilate the Gods.

But ancient law dictates the Gods must not intervene in man's conflict. They remain powerless to stop Hyperion, until a peasant named Theseus comes forth as their only hope.

Secretly chosen by Zeus, Theseus must save his people from Hyperion and his hordes.

As you would expect from an artist such as Tarsem Singh (a director who extends his name by one word each movie), the film is beautiful to look at. And in one instance, I was expecting something more arty than 300, the film it's destined to be compared to.

Then we meet the characters and it's back to basics really.

I cannot fault the acting, it's brilliant and Cavill and Rourke seem to be having a blast, and the support too is spot on.

It's just that in between all the psychedelic images we see on scree, there is dialogue so clunky and inane, it's very hard to swallow.

The fight scenes are okay, but it's nothing you haven't seen before, and the basic story is something straight out of Harry Hamlins loin cloth.

But thanks to a tremendous turn from Rourke and some of the years finest imagery, Immortals is one of those films you can just sit back, and go with it.

And the 3D doesn't hurt either, it really shows that in the right hands, 3D could be something wonderful, and not a gimmick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not that bad....., 19 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Mark Waters (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Immortals (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [2011] (Blu-ray)
OK, I don't write many reviews but thought I would add my view after reading some of the comments made.

I concur with most that this film does not have much of a story or plot but I believe the action and the CGI make up for this. I personally love the genre and one of the first films I ever watched was the original 'Clash of the Titans' on VHS so I appreciate I may be slightly biased on this. The movie flows nicely and the action, for me, maintained my interest throughout the film.

This is a film to buy when on special offer and get out once a year on a miserable Sunday afternoon - just sit back, turn off brain and enjoy.

If your into films with a cracking story and a brilliant twist I recommend 'Devil' - not much spent on CGI but the story is great, imho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars anything Tarsem does is always breathtaking and eye watering, 14 May 2014
By 
R. Kumar "forma dental" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Immortals (Amazon Instant Video)
Immortals may be dark in places but the opulent beauty of the scenes makes up for the shallow plot.
Not being a classicist, I am unsure if the story is any deeper, but the idea of the Titans is an appealing one.
The film was beautifully photographed but there were some dark scenes, not great on a laptop.
TS always fills the screen with vision, beauty and detail; from Hyperion's masks to the cage of the Titans; always a feast to the eyes.
1 star reviews have sort of missed the plot and were probably looking for an Orwellian storyline?
This film deserves a great rating for allowing the viewer to travel to another world.
TSingh never disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not even for a rainy day........, 14 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Immortals [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Here's the plot (spoiler alert!) : Good guy Theseus (Henry Cavill) wants to kill bad guy Hyperion (Mickey Rourke). He does so.

It's visually pretty, hence the one star, but intellectually empty. No story, no character development, and it doesn't even try to look like ancient Greece.

Oh yes, John Hurt is in it too. I hope they paid him handsomely for his wasted time. Unless you really have nothing better to do, don't waste yours by watching this. I thought it might improve as time ticked by. It didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not so much "something special" - more "something's missing", 10 Aug 2014
This review is from: Immortals (Amazon Instant Video)
This is the story of Theseus, illegitimate son of an outcast peasant woman, who is favoured by the Gods. His task is to stand against an evil villain who seeks to rule the world by using a mythical bow to release ancient immortals. Sounds like it should be a great film, doesn't it? Well, for me it fell short in many ways.

Don't get me wrong - the acting is ok. Mickey Rourke is great as the villain, even managing to rise above a terrible script with bad one-liners. John Hurt, as always puts in a great performance, as does Freida Pinto as the virginal oracle. However, Henry Cavill seems wrong as the hero Theseus. His acting is ok, so it may be his very modern haircut. The cinematography seems to be trying to emulate the 300, but it doesn't work. There are a lot of slow-motion action sequences, but they don't pack the punch that the 300 carried. And the Gods? Well, for me Gods in gold lame spinning around like Wonder Woman then slowing down so their shiny cloaks can billow out dramatically were nothing but laughable. It's more "Jason and the Argonauts" than "300" and that might be being unkind to Jason.

I only watched the whole film because I was multi-tasking at the time, and couldn't be bothered to turn it off. Not recommended, even if you wanna waste 2 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 114 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CUT BEYOND BELIEF!!! AVOID!, 10 Mar 2012
By 
Endre Knutsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The UK version of Immortals is CUT! DO NOT BUY THE UK VERSION!!! The movie rocks, but the UK Bluray version is cut heavily...Please do not bother with this release.
It`s money down the toilet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Horrid Movie, 27 Aug 2012
By 
nje (Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortals (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [2011] (Blu-ray)
A truly horrid mess of a movie with no substance, no plot and no depth to the characters they serve up.
This is the type of movie that kills a genre that movies like 300 and Gladiator created.
The actors gave hollow, amateurish performances, the over stylised production falls flat on it's face (even in 3D) and the plot seems like it formulated by a bunch of movie execs.
Believe me, you will want to give this movie a miss.
It's got nothing original or interesting to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bash up the titans, 18 Nov 2011
Well, I've just got back from seeing Immortals at my local cinema, and, unlike the other reviewers (so far)...I loved it! The movie is basically a mash-up of 'Clash Of The Titans' and '300' (it even climaxes with our heroes defending a narrow pass from a huge army). There's plenty of slow-mo battle action, but on top of that there are several scenes when the gods descend from Mt Olympus to kick villain butt, including a fantastic climactic battle between Zeus and his fellow Olympians and the newly-freed Titans. If you enjoyed '300' you'll love these scenes as the fighting is brutal. I was surprised at how violent the film was. I thought I spotted one obvious cut (when Hyperion kills Cassander) and after checking the BBFC website it seems that the film was cut by 18 seconds to get a '15' certificate'. The BBFC website also states that 'An uncut 18 classification was available', so maybe we'll get an uncut version on Blu-Ray. The director, Tarsem, is famous for his visuals (he directed 'The Cell' and 'The Fall') and the film looks great, and after seeing Henry Cavill in action I can see why he has been cast as Superman. He actually bears quite a resemblance to Christopher Reeves. The 3D in the film seemed designed to create depth of field rather than shove things in your face, so I don't think you'll really be missing anything if you only see it in 2D. I've read that the movie studios think that audiences are too sophisticated to want to see gimmicky 3D, but frankly, if I'm paying extra to see a movie in that extra D, I expect more bangs for my buck (and more things whizzing out of the screen and over my head)!
If you accept Immortals for what it is-a fun 'popcorn' movie-you'll have a great time watching it. Hopefully it will do well, as the ending clearly sets up a possible sequel, which promises more of a focus on the war between the Gods, which could be epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of derring do, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Immortals (Amazon Instant Video)
Harmless gods and swords stuff.
No intellectual faculties required.
Nice easy film to watch.
liked John Hurt in it - he's always good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not watch - utter waste, 4 April 2014
This review is from: Immortals (Amazon Instant Video)
No strong story simply people fighting. No where near the quality of 300. Poor act from Frideh Pinto and so the hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Immortals (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [2011]
Immortals (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) [2011] by Tarsem Singh (Blu-ray - 2012)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews