Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent
In the words of 'Artrocker'

Singles for the week starting 28 May!Public Service Broadcasting
The War Room EP
(Test Card Recordings)
* * * * *

Here's something you don't get every day. Public Service Broadcasting have been granted access to British propaganda films from the World War 2 era, and they've sampled them, slapped echo on...
Published on 28 May 2012 by Ms. L. Cruickshank

versus
2 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new here
Sampling WW2 speeches seems like a recent invention but The Men They Couldn't Hang 'The Crest' as a twelve inch was far superior to this in both content and musical competancy. It also worked back in 87' because many more of the original people who fought against a war of aggression were alive, and there would have been hell to pay had they got it wrong. In the face of...
Published on 17 Jun 2012 by K. A. Hollingsworth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead, dead good!, 14 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (Audio CD)
First heard these lads on BBC6 Music and was blown away and could not wait till the War Room EP was released on CD, I'm not a fan of downloads as I am a HI-Fi freak and only listen to lossless music. These songs are all original sounding tracks that sound fantastic, best played loud, especialy Spitfire. Can't wait to see them live and looking forward to some new songs whenever that may be. Top, top music!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PSB great stuff, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (Audio CD)
Only gets 4 stars cos I'm feeling that way out...But it is bloody brilliant!
Also some of the tracks are repeated in the new album... Spitfire is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clever idea well executed, 10 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (Audio CD)
The idea of combining music with apparently unrelated spoken narrative and/or archived video is not new, but PSB does it well. Think back to The Old Grey Whistle Test's marriage of Foxhole by Television with footage of WW1 soldiers in trenches; think also of Eno & Byrne's pioneering album My Life in the Bush of Ghosts. I am not at all convinced that the voice & video accompanying the outstanding song Spitfire is from the previous century, compelling though it is. The last track of the five is a bit of a let down. Looking forward to seeing them at Glastonbury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The must see band of 2013, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (Audio CD)
PSB are amazing live and the must listen to band of the moment. Albums are fun and different, technically proficient musicinas with a new twist. Recommenred Indie style but not rock as such. Very hard to put into a genre. All the better for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War Room, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (MP3 Download)
Not really into this kind of music but I was just browsing and saw the other great reviews and it was cheap so I went for it; I'm glad I did, I've played this at work, in the car, at home... the music works really well with the voice recordings and you can pass several hours with it on repeat.
Well worth the value, looking forward to exploring more by this group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breath of fresh air, 18 Feb 2014
By 
M. Gribby (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (Audio CD)
Great timing released in 2012 London Olympics year,
Public Service Broadcasting are a breath of fresh air to the music industry and more importantly my music collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking!, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (MP3 Download)
Have to say, I wasn't sure what to think but thought I'd give this a go, its pretty amazing I think, especially the last track, really makes you think about how it must of felt along with sounding really good at the same time!

kinda reminds me of the old war of the worlds in some bits, although the difference being these are real people talking about actual events in our history, impressive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great listen, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (Audio CD)
Fantastic EP from PSB, This band (duo actually) have been featured quite a lot on Radio 6 recently. Radio 6 is a great place to hear new music and this bands 'War Room' EP is amongst the best of the more recent releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, 13 Nov 2013
By 
C. Hawkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (Audio CD)
I'll keep this review short and sweet, a bit like this, although short and magnificent would perhaps be a better heading for the album itself. From moment one this pulls you in. Deeply rich, deeply atmospheric, a fantastic backing of electornic music wrapping itself around classic bits of dialogue focused on world war two. The music beautifully compliments the humanity of the words. Far from dehumanising the words the music somehow beautifully, and at times poignantly, emphasises the words. From the roaring soaring Spitfire to the fantastic London Can Take It and on. This is simply one of my favourite albums ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The War Room (MP3 Download)
Ignore the 'nothing new here' brigade, how much of modern music is truly innovative?
This is very thematically rich, involving and rewarding. I heard the Spitfire track on the Janice Long radio show and had to delve into PSB. Glad I did. Music that means something... how rare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The War Room
The War Room by Public Service Broadcasting (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews