Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back in time
wow , saw all these at the pics years ago brought back such great memories, see all the stars of the early years , fantastic stories too, OH! and non of that swearing and cursing that we get now, proving that to tell a good story you do not have to.Fantastic get it now you will just love it,.still watching as I DON,T WANT TO RUSH, used to see them sat morning at he...
Published on 2 April 2013 by D. Lloyd

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Network, you must try harder
Network have admitted to me in an email that one of the films in their Edgar Wallace series has "lip sync issues" but have decided this is "acceptable given the source materials" - in other words, Network are repeating their mantra (also used when people complain about the very poor quality sound in other sets in the same series) that if the original source material is of...
Published 20 months ago by lazysunbathers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back in time, 2 April 2013
By 
D. Lloyd "luvmovie" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 6 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
wow , saw all these at the pics years ago brought back such great memories, see all the stars of the early years , fantastic stories too, OH! and non of that swearing and cursing that we get now, proving that to tell a good story you do not have to.Fantastic get it now you will just love it,.still watching as I DON,T WANT TO RUSH, used to see them sat morning at he flicks, so trying to relive that . I bought the whole set so this review covers vol 1 to vol 6 . as one of our old now sadly gone actors once said ( AH YES I REMEMBER IT WELL ) .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Edgar Wallace plus breakaway features..., 5 Nov. 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 6 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
It is wonderful to have all the Merton Park Edgar Wallace fims in such clear picture quality across 7 box sets.It is however a pity the sound on many is not as good as it should have been, low volume & minor voice distortion. Not sure if any restoration had been attempted. These MP films should prove that quality can be produced on a budget and the sets alone stand out as outstanding throughout the run. Peter Mullins brings the 1960s right onto the set of each film he works on. Screenplays are well written and nicely paced. Many well known actors and directors brought these films to the cinema screen. Look out for John Moxey and Alan Bridges as directors and you are getting top results. This volume has one of my all time favourites "Never Mention Murder" starring Maxine Audley and Dudley Foster. There is a wonderful performance from Brian Haines as a private enquiry agent that was probably his best screen role in a long career. I knew Brian and he was a character and an all round actor on stage; radio; film & television.
What a lost opportunity the 7 booklets are as we learn very little about the actual making of the films and valuable space is taken up with tiny images of the back of the press sheet & there are many errors in the text and even wrong photographs used for at least one film. On page 9 of the booklet for volume 6 we are given 2 stills from a 1948 American film called "An Act of Murder" that stars Edmund O'Brien and has nothing what so ever to do with the Merton Park film entitled "Act of Murder". I hope Network will correct this for the box set. Interestingly on volume 6 there are a handful of breakaway productions released in UK cinemas with non Edgar Wallace opening titles but here they are shown with Edgar Wallace opening titles. John Moxey directs the dark film "Face of a Stranger" and this has strong central performances from Jeremy Kemp & Rosemary Leach.
All that said this is still a unique set and a must have for any collector of British films as it depicts life through the eyes of film makers of the 1960s. As Jack Greenwood told me "we did our best" and I agree. Watch them and you will see how well they have been made. Good value box sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Network, you must try harder, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 6 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Network have admitted to me in an email that one of the films in their Edgar Wallace series has "lip sync issues" but have decided this is "acceptable given the source materials" - in other words, Network are repeating their mantra (also used when people complain about the very poor quality sound in other sets in the same series) that if the original source material is of poor quality, there's nothing they can do about it! HILARIOUS! Listen Network, once you've digitised the films (which you have to do to create DVDs), it's an extremely simple task to correct the lip sync problems - most free movie-editing software allows you to do it! As for the poor quality sound in other editions, Network claims that this is how the original source material sounds, but I'm afraid I'm not convinced by that explanation. When film stock degrades, you get pops and crackles and a muffled "wooliness" in the sound reproduction. What you DON'T get (and what Network's Edgar Wallace series sound suffers from) is pristine clarity apart from the loss of a specific pitch or frequency of sound. This is a problem more consistent with using cheap audio restoration tools to remove hiss which also removes all sound at the same pitch or frequency as the hiss (hence speech loses clarity because sibilant and plosive consonants are removed, whispers become inaudible, etc). Movie soundtracks CAN be easily and effectively restored - check out the great series of B-movies issued by Renown and see what can be achieved! - and in the meantime please stop fobbing off disappointed customers with this silly excuse. The only problem with the Edgar Wallace series that Network have actually bothered to deal with was when they put the reels of one film in the worng order...but presumably they only rectified this because they couldn't blame that fault on the "source materials"! Add to all of this the many errors and inconsistencies in the accompanying booklets and the poorly-designed boxes that mean you can't actually read any of the film synopses unless you take all the DVDs out of the case, and you have one of the laziest, shoddiest and most unforgivably slapdash box sets of recent times. But hey, according to Network, all this is acceptable because of the quality of the source materials... I'm docking another star because of Network's terrible attitude to quality control and customer relations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edgar Wallace Mysteries, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 6 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
I bought all seven volumes in this series, many of which I watched first-time round back in the 1960s, and thoroughly enjoyed. This is a great series and brought back many happy memories. Full of nostalgia, and great performances by many actors/actresses who are sadly no longer with us. for those of you who mourn the passing of the B film second-feature, this series is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black and White TV Drama, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 6 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
These are a good example of the style of dramas from the days of balck and white TV and well restored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 6 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
One ot the alltime great tv series arrived on time in perfect condition , make mw want to add the rest of the series totally a must have for classic tv watchers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Volume Six of Seven, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 6 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
The quality of the picture was very good considering the age of the original. The only complaint was that the sound of some of the films were not as good as numbers one to five. But then you cannot have everything for the price of the D.V.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic series, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 6 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Brilliant series ...I don't get bored watching over and over again. This is great piece of TV nostalgia tip top viewing....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a superb series. I have them all ..., 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 6 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
This is a superb series. I have them all now - quite interested to see whether there are others sold individually. The standard of writing is really astonishing and most if not all have superb razor sharp picture quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Vol 5) the programme content was fine. The sound from time to time was poor ..., 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 6 [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
For all of my purchases in this series (Vol 6, Vol 4, Vol 5) the programme content was fine. The sound from time to time was poor and I had to improove this by playing it thorough my Hi-Fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edgar Wallace Mysteries - Volume 6 [DVD] [1964]
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews