Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in the stalls at the ABC
" Lazysunbathers " review does have a valid point to take on board. True, the sound issue is irritating but not so with every film. Most are fine for me, and a good sound bar helps. On the plus side the visual quality is excellent. Sharp monochrome. All have the proper Anglo distributor opening sequence, and as an added bonus for serious enthusiasts, some of these films...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Malcolm Webb

versus
52 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't hold your breath...
The price and scheduled release date of the complete box set has changed and changed and changed. Network should concentrate on remastering the audio tracks of these films before they even consider releasing the box set. I've bought a few of the individual volumes and the sound quality is just as bad as many reviewers have said. Even with my TV volume turned up as far as...
Published 18 months ago by lazysunbathers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in the stalls at the ABC, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Malcolm Webb (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edgar Wallace Anthology [DVD] (DVD)
" Lazysunbathers " review does have a valid point to take on board. True, the sound issue is irritating but not so with every film. Most are fine for me, and a good sound bar helps. On the plus side the visual quality is excellent. Sharp monochrome. All have the proper Anglo distributor opening sequence, and as an added bonus for serious enthusiasts, some of these films have their original BBFC censor certificate at the start. This will not show when clicking on the film title in the normal way. If you want to check if the censor is there, click on the title - the Studio Canal logo appears, followed by the Anglo trademark. Before the film starts, just SKIP back to before the Studio Canal logo and you will get the censor if it is included. This set would rate 5 stars if the sound was improved, but the price is reasonable for all the 47 or so titles plus 7 other bonus films from that era, and for old-time moviegoers like myself it is so nice to take a nostalgia trip back to the ABC cinema where most of these originally played, often supporting mediocre main features. Great casts of famous faces from yesteryear with just about everyone on screen lighting up and sinking large scotches. Extensive location shooting gives glimpses of the capital from 50 years ago. Good fun all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter W, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edgar Wallace Anthology [DVD] (DVD)
Just to echo what other reviewers have said. The picture quality is superb,and as for the poor sound quality,I just turned the volume up and thoroughly enjoyed the films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure nostalgia, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edgar Wallace Anthology [DVD] (DVD)
As expected and remembered. Pure B movie stuff but that's what I love about this collection. Brilliant. Can't recommend enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't hold your breath..., 2 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Edgar Wallace Anthology [DVD] (DVD)
The price and scheduled release date of the complete box set has changed and changed and changed. Network should concentrate on remastering the audio tracks of these films before they even consider releasing the box set. I've bought a few of the individual volumes and the sound quality is just as bad as many reviewers have said. Even with my TV volume turned up as far as it will go, many words and sound-effects are muffled to the point of inaudibility. Only when actors are speaking in full voice or shouting can you be sure of hearing every word of the script. Softly spoken dramatic dialogue is frequently impossible to hear, as are scenes where characters are listening to tape recordings of speech or listening to telephone calls - which are often key plot points. I think the blame can be placed on cheap and basic sound processing tools to remove crackle and other unwanted noise from the soundtrack: cheap and basic tools like this simply filter out ALL sound which is at the same pitch/frequency as the crackle/extraneous noise. It's a shame because the pictures are impeccably clean and vibrant and these are undoubtedly great vintage mystery stories/thrillers - but because of the incredibly poor sound, they are just so difficult to watch.

EDIT: Network have admitted to me in an email that one of the films in their Edgar Wallace series has "lip sync issues" but have decided this is "acceptable given the source materials" - in other words, Network are repeating their mantra (also used when people complain about the very poor quality sound in other sets in the same series) that if the original source material is of poor quality, there's nothing they can do about it! HILARIOUS! Listen Network, once you've digitised the films (which you have to do to create DVDs), it's an extremely simple task to correct the lip sync problems - most free movie-editing software allows you to do it! As for the poor quality sound in other editions, Network claims that this is how the original source material sounds, but I'm afraid I'm not convinced by that explanation. When film stock degrades, you get pops and crackles and a muffled "wooliness" in the sound reproduction. What you DON'T get (and what Network's Edgar Wallace series sound suffers from) is pristine clarity apart from the loss of a specific pitch or frequency of sound. This is a problem more consistent with using cheap audio restoration tools to remove hiss which also removes all sound at the same pitch or frequency as the hiss (hence speech loses clarity because sibilant and plosive consonants are removed, whispers become inaudible, etc). Movie soundtracks CAN be easily and effectively restored - check out the great series of B-movies issued by Renown and see what can be achieved! - and in the meantime please stop fobbing off disappointed customers with this silly excuse. The only problem with the Edgar Wallace series that Network have actually bothered to deal with was when they put the reels of one film in the worng order...but presumably they only rectified this because they couldn't blame that fault on the "source materials"! Add to all of this the many errors and inconsistencies in the accompanying booklets and the poorly-designed boxes that mean you can't actually read any of the film synopses unless you take all the DVDs out of the case, and you have one of the laziest, shoddiest and most unforgivably slapdash box sets of recent times. But hey, according to Network, all this is acceptable because of the quality of the source materials... I'm docking another star because of Network's terrible attitude to quality control and customer relations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ordered in 2012 at 60 pounds-happy to wait, 24 July 2013
By 
Terry Barker (Victoria, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edgar Wallace Anthology [DVD] (DVD)
I am a patient man and they say the whole set will be released in Nov 2013 and I ordered at under 60 pounds, so patience IS a virtue as my old mum used to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-buy dvd box set!!, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edgar Wallace Anthology [DVD] (DVD)
If you are passionate about 50's and 60's British cinema as i am, you have to buy this set at this price!........it is less than a pound per film! I tend to watch late at night using headphones so the sound issue is not a problem, and i use a Philips blu-ray player with a 55'' LED Philips TV and the picture quality on all films is quite stunning in my opinion!.........it is great to see so many character actors and this is movie heaven as far as i am concerned!!!!!.........just buy at this price !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edgar Wallace Anthology [DVD] (DVD)
Well worth the wait!!! For any Edgar Wallace fan this Collection is essential. The Video quality has been well restored and the Audio is very clear. Re-live the 60's 'B' Movies, which are more entertaining than most modern films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bargain price........but poor sound....and some dire films!, 4 Jan 2014
By 
I. Turner (East Yorkshire,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Edgar Wallace Anthology [DVD] (DVD)
Way back in the 70s I used to find these B flix on late night tv...........I seem to recall that I enjoyed them at the time. I have been waiting over a year to buy the boxed set and a few weeks ago grabbed a bargain when the price suddenly dropped to 41!!!! Was this a mistake?? The price has now doubled! I have viewed the first three volumes,and it does not bode well..........very poor sound on most of the films........and some truly wretched movies.....to be fair I have seen a couple of ok ones and there are several volumes yet to be screened,so fingers crossed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Edgar Wallace Anthology [DVD]
The Edgar Wallace Anthology [DVD] by Gerard Glaister (DVD - 2013)
42.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews