Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight and understanding, 13 Dec 2012
By 
M. J. Hopkins (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In this volume, Tim Keller turns his focus to the world of work. His assessment is rooted in a Biblical understanding of the essential goodness of work which is contrasted with the burden it has become in a fallen world. These two themes are drawn together and brought to resolution in a deep understanding of the Christian gospel. Keller draws on the theme of idolatry as expounded in Counterfeit Gods: When the Empty Promises of Love, Money, and Power Let You Down, but also introduces new themes most noticeably that of common grace - God's goodness to all humanity.

This is a rich book with many insights to digest. For anyone who wishes to get to grips with the meaning and purpose of work or views their own work as unrewarding or all-consuming, this book will prove a welcome aid to a greater vision of work in the context of the Christian gospel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and thought provoking, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good theological base and great practical insight. Some of the theology is a bit deep at times but the message and its application is clear. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic work on work, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some of the best material I have read so far on the topic of work and its place in God's creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars becoming great work, 27 July 2014
By 
J. DOUGLAS "Johnny Douglas" (Nr London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Christian scripture gives us hope for all of life. For all of our lives including our workplaces, despite frustration, they are to be places of formative spiritual hope in the face of pursuing vocation in this world. So here Keller considers the nature of work, how sin messes up work, and how the gospel of Jesus Christ relates to work. Everyone has the experience of imagining accomplishing things but being incapable of producing them. Without God, all our best will never measure up, but with God our work can be part of bringing about the future healed world.

While others have written more scholarly defences of the theology of vocation, Every Good Endeavour is the most accessible book integrating a distinctively Christian perspective to our daily work. Moreover, Keller winsomely speaks to non-Christians who are trying to make sense of the frustrations and pleasures of their working lives.

Keller begins with God’s plan for our work: The idea that work preceded the Fall, that work gives dignity to humankind, and that work allows us to cultivate the created order such that others are served. Keller also relates our vocation to the gospel doctrine of justification by faith alone.

We labour in the certain hope of redemption, and of a new heavens and new earth. Keller goes on to address how to biblically steward the responsibility, authority, and power that might come from a job well done. It’s what follows next that I think is most potent, as Keller deals with how our work lives reveal our most deeply held and pervasive idols, as different cultures have different idols.

There is a powerful revelation that the Christian worldview helps us make sense of our work. As Keller writes: “Properly understood, the doctrine of sin means that believers are never as good as our true worldview should make us. Similarly, the doctrine of grace means that unbelievers are never as messed up as their false worldview should make them.”

The gospel gives those who believe a ‘new-compass’ for work: we work unto the Lord, but for the good of others. This empowers us to be change-agents in our spheres, for the sake of others. We’ll have a winsome, peaceful attitude as we go about our work because we no longer ‘need’ the work to give us meaning and worth.

This is classic Keller. It’s some of his best, if not strongest work: powerfully translating a reformed and biblical worldview to communicate winsomely. Here are some of my highlights:-

“The doctrine of common grace brings a great deal of freedom to our work. Christians often feel false guilt for not creating an explicitly Christian product or service in their work. Non-Christians can be genuine co-workers, because they are pursuing God-honouring work.”

“Two things we want so desperately, glory and relationship, can co-exist only in God.”

“Everyone will be forgotten, nothing we do will make any difference, and all good endeavours, even the best, will come to naught. Unless there is God. If the God of the Bible exists, and there is a true reality beneath and behind this one, and this life is not the only life, then every good endeavour, even the simplest ones, pursued in response to God’s calling, can matter forever.”

Every Good Endeavour is an excellent read for anyone seeking a better understanding of how their faith can be, and should be, integrated with their work. It’s whole-life-discipleship at it’s clearest. Great insight, theological engagement and practical application all-together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thsi is a very worthwhile book!, 6 July 2013
By 
Dennis P. Allen Jr. (Spring Lake, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book full of wisdom, and I profited from it! I urge others that seek wisdom to read it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another very good from Tim Keller!, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good and insightful book on the subject of work. Very helpful to read for every Christian who has a secular job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful review of work and vocation -, 5 Feb 2013
By 
J. D. Barker "John" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the traditional understanding of vocation (to serve) is very different from the modern one 'self fulfillment'.

This book is well written - readable - useful for those who are working or even needing encouragement when not working or thinking through what to do. Good to get such a broad view of the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars practical, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Good Endeavour: Connecting Your Work to God's Plan for the World (Kindle Edition)
The books gives great advice about how to approach work. Very useful at clarifying the reason for work, both at the personal and collective levels. I'd recommend it for all people: young people who haven't begun their careers and need guidance; or seasoned professional who'd like to figure out the relevance of their jobs or careers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, great read and scripture backed throughout., 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Provides fully scripture backed insight to the working life. A very enjoyable read that guides, help and assures. Provides practical and spiritual work based knowledge showing how in scripture we are to integrate work in to our lives and vice versa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Good Endeavour: Connecting Your Work to God's Plan for the World (Kindle Edition)
Great for anyone thinking through the implications of the gospel on their work life! Would have been good to have more on blue collar professions but to be fair the book has a different audience in mind. I really benefited from this. Thanks to all who helped get it out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews