Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slower paced than 13 hours but still a worthwhile read
I enjoy Deon Meyer's novels immensely and 13 hours in particular had a 'high-octane' narrative drive. In contrast Trackers was more about an intriguing and very clever plot (although this wasn't to everyone's taste judging from some of the reviews). Seven Days is a slower paced novel than its two immediate predecessors and is also much more introspective. The author wants...
Published 23 months ago by D. P. Mankin

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninspired
Deon Meyer has a huge following, so I had expected more from my first Meyer novel. He is one of very few authors writing in Afrikaans and I was looking forward to getting a feel for life in South Africa from his point of view. Several of us read this for a book group, as the author will be visiting our literary festival in March, but we were unanimous in our...
Published 8 months ago by DubaiReader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slower paced than 13 hours but still a worthwhile read, 4 Oct 2012
By 
D. P. Mankin (Ceredigion, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Days (Hardcover)
I enjoy Deon Meyer's novels immensely and 13 hours in particular had a 'high-octane' narrative drive. In contrast Trackers was more about an intriguing and very clever plot (although this wasn't to everyone's taste judging from some of the reviews). Seven Days is a slower paced novel than its two immediate predecessors and is also much more introspective. The author wants us to develop a better understanding of the central protaganist, Benny Griessel; who is, for me, one of the more interesting detectives in crime/thriller literature. The fact that he is an alcoholic may be something of a cliche but he is believable. Through him the reader gains some real insights into the South African police force and the wider social, economic and political context of the country. I also liked the fact that one of the more interesting characters from 13 hours, Mbali Kaleni, returns. Overall, not as exciting as 13 hours but much more thoughful in tone. Recommemded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cop Killer, 4 Sep 2012
By 
Ted Feit (Long Beach, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 7 Days (Hardcover)
Benny Griessel is chosen to head up a task force to catch a perpetrator who has threatened to shoot a policeman every day [and has so far succeeded in doing so] until the murderer of an attractive woman attorney is captured. Benny of course is the iconoclastic recovering-alcoholic South African detective, now promoted to the exclusive Hawks of the South African Police Department. Through a series of emails, the shooter taunts the SAPD, often giving hints and quoting Bible verses. He tells them and the newspapers the SAPD knows who the murderer is. Unfortunately, they literally don't have a clue.

While Benny's brief is to catch the lawyer's murderer, separately, Mbali Kaleni, a member of the CATS [Crimes Against the State] team and another loner, is selected to catch the shooter. While they work independently, the cases are intertwined. Eventually, both learn the go-it-alone method is of no use, and teamwork is necessary, drawing on the entire resources of the department. Still, Benny relies on his intuition to guide his efforts.

"Seven Days" is another fine example of the author's perceptiveness and creative plotting. At the same time, his sensitivity to his characters, especially Benn's penchant for alcohol and his shy courtship of a lady friend, is tender and insightful. Benny's characters is further developed in the novel, both as a detective and, especially, as a person.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make flying enjoyable, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Days (Kindle Edition)
I wanted something to read on some airline flights. Not too 'heavy' but gripping and entertaining. 7 Days turned out to be ideal. I was 'gripped' by the story line within seconds. If you are looking for an enjoyable realistic crime novel - then I recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars None, 29 Oct 2012
This review is from: 7 Days (Kindle Edition)
Deon Meyer just gets better and better. In fact his tec does seem to fail with the team solving both mysteries. but it's a great story all the same. Cannot wait for the next one and my Benny Griesel tour of South Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Days (Kindle Edition)
As an ex SA policeman living in the UK this brings back amazing memories. Very well written and so uniquely South African, a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really great read, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Days (Paperback)
Great book set in Cape town. Deon Meyer is an author of great merit. If your off to south Africa read it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very pleasant, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Days (Kindle Edition)
Very pleasant book. The plot is well done and convincing. You're taken by the story and you want to know the end. The characters are well described and you can only sympathise and feel with them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite readable, 23 Nov 2013
By 
I. Ogden "whistlestop" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Days (Hardcover)
Maybe not Mr. Meyer's best crime fiction novel. Sufficiently thought-provoking, but not too much in terms of action and suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good read, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Days (Kindle Edition)
I had very high expectations as heard of Deon Meyer from my mum who compares him to Wilbur Smith...personally thinks he has some way to go...but it is a good read,especially if you understand Afrikaans. Research and story telling excellent but descriptions of scenarios not always that thorough.all in all a good read and it keeps you guessing till the end.i will definitely be reading more of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous stuff, 26 Aug 2013
By 
S. Horner-Long (Wimbledon, London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Days (Kindle Edition)
Transports me back from London to Cape Town. First class thriller and crime story but with a distinctive South African flavour. Wonderful! Deon Meyer keeps me coming back for more and I'm never disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

7 Days
7 Days by Deon Meyer
5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews