Customer Reviews


10 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter into the World of Sherlock Holmes., 24 Jun. 2012
By 
C. Preece (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This well published book sits comfortably in the hand, which is just as well, as it will become a constant companion to readers interested in Sherlock Holmes. The foreword by Gyles Brandreth describes the book as `wonderful.....entertaining, engaging and surprising'. I would add informative and motivational. The writing style of these two experts in the field, adopts a friendly manner and encourages (inspires) the reader to find out more. Sources of further information abound in the book (websites, further reading lists or club details).
The book has something to offer everyone, whether that be people new to Sherlock or to long standing fans. The book covers a wide area from Arthur Conan Doyle to the current Steven Moffatt BBC series and the Robert Downey Junior films. I recommend the book to one and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Update for your Holmes Knowledge, 12 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes Miscellany (Kindle Edition)
I found this book to be enlightening, bringing forward some new and interesting nuggets of Holmes trivia.
On a personal level there was also interesting information on the social conventions of the times in which the vast majority of the Holmes stories are set, leading me to a better understanding of some of the themes that Conan-Doyle was attempting to get across to his reader at the time of writing his stories.

What stands this book out from some of the others on the subject is that the book has been compiled and presented in a form that is easily accessable, whether you plan to digest it in one sitting or like myself bite sized chunks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Sherlockians, 24 Sept. 2012
The first attraction of a book for me is how it feels, that may seem a strange admission, but it is true. This book passes that test, it feels and looks right for its purpose, which is to collect all of the facts, trivia and quotes in order to explore:

the fascinating and enigmatic world of Sherlock Holmes, his place
in literary history and how he has become the iconic, timeless
character who is loved by millions. (The Sherlock Holmes Miscellany)
The book begins with the world of Conan Doyle but continues to the present day and the Sherlockian world of Steven Moffatt.

The first attraction of a book for me is how it feels, that may seem a strange admission, but it is true. This book passes that test, it feels and looks right for its purpose, which is to collect all of the facts, trivia and quotes in order to explore:

the fascinating and enigmatic world of Sherlock Holmes, his place
in literary history and how he has become the iconic, timeless
character who is loved by millions. (The Sherlock Holmes Miscellany)

The book begins with the world of Conan Doyle but continues to the present day and the Sherlockian world of Steven Moffatt.

Gyles Brandreth provides the foreword and begins by explaining the importance of Holmes to him, and why he has retained his enthusiasm for the great detective and his creator Conan Doyle. His concluding statements about Roger Johnson and Jean Upton's book states that:

It is the ultimate vade mecum for Holmesians everywhere. It is
the one book that has been missing from the shelf of the true
Sherlockian. It has got all the stuff in it that you would expect
- and so much you wouldn't. It is a labour of love and a model
of scholarship. (Foreward: The Sherlock Holmes Miscellany)

I totally agree with this statement that this book is the ultimate vade mecum. It is a referential book that should be constantly carried by all Sherlockians. Its size makes it easy to carry but belies the amount of information that it contains about the world of Sherlock Holmes, a book that contains something of interest to everyone. (Musgrave Sherlock Holmes Society [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baker Street Bargain, 2 Aug. 2012
This is the best introduction to Sherlock Holmes that I know and it also serves as a valuable work of reference. Written by two experts, presented with wit and published as an attractive hardback at a very modest price - there's no better bargain for the beginner or the regular reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unputdownable book !!, 9 Dec. 2012
I am a visitor to London and knowing my love for Sherlock Holmes, my son gifted me this book. I cannot thank him enough for it SINCE It has opened my eyes to so many new facets of knowing AND APPRECIATING Sherlock Holmes. The authors have also been generous in their praise of so many other books on this subject as also provided me valuable web links Do not waste your time reading this review, use it to ORDER THE BOOK TODAY ON EXPRESS DELIVERY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Holmes Reference Book Currently Available, 22 May 2013
By 
D. Tyler (CLARKSVILLE, TN. London, UKUnited States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes Miscellany (Kindle Edition)
For many years true enthusiasts of Sherlock Holmes have gone beyond the canon & devoured the books about the books. This recent book by husband & wife team Roger Johnson & Jean Upton is a "must" for Holmesians to buy & keep as a handy reference book. I personally will keep it in my pocket (on my Kindle) at all times.

There have been a few good reference books in the past, notably the one produced by Michael & Molly Hardwick, but this one combines scholarship & affection for the subject & it is up to date or as up to date as is possible in this modern world where new Holmes material seems to arrive by the minute!

If you love Holmes, you'll love this book. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Varied collection of interesting stuff, 7 Oct. 2014
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes Miscellany (Kindle Edition)
Nice fairly short book containing a host of facts about the different worlds of Sherlock Holmes, spin off short stories and novels, films, TV and radio adaptations, and plays. The sheer number and range of these art forms is remarkable, showing how legendary a figure he is. Perhaps the most surprising to me was a 1981 play in Los Angeles starring Charlton Heston as Holmes and none other than Jeremy Brett as Dr Watson! Lots of other little curios in here, plans of 221B Baker Street, conundra and inconsistencies within the stories and so on. A good treasure trove to dip into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable all-in-one guide, 9 July 2012
By 
This wonderful book by Roger Johnson and Jean Upton is many things at once. To the Sherlockian beginner this book is an excellent introduction to all aspects of the Sherlockian/Holmesian world; to the more seasoned Sherlockian it is an indispensable all-in-one guide.

The book looks at the origin of Holmes, the illustrations (all artists, not just Sidney Paget), the stage plays, the radio plays, TV and film, music, locations and much much more. You may well encounter things that you already know but you will also find plenty that you don't. Throughout, the book goes into just the right amount of detail without spending too long on any one area.

The authors are not shy in recommending the works of others. I won't deny that I was gratified to see my book "Close to Holmes" listed as one of the best topographical guides to Holmes' London (but I assure you that this has not infuenced my mark). The book is simply excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Turning a three pipe problem into a two, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes Miscellany (Kindle Edition)
A great book full of tiny and easily digestible chunks of Sherlock facts. Easily readable on multiple occasions discovering something new each time. Whether you are a traditional fan or inspired by modern tales there will be something for you. Highly recommended for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource., 12 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. K. D. Barratt "A Massive BBC Proms Fan" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sherlock Holmes Miscellany (Kindle Edition)
This book is worth the money just for the web links. Not only have I spent enjoyable hours reading the book, I have now spent more enjoyable hours investigating the various web sites. An informative book and a great resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sherlock Holmes Miscellany
£2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews