Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Documentary on The Boer War.
This documentary is 80 minutes long (just under 1 & 1/2 hours)...and combines all the things that I like about a documentary. 1. sober & objective narration 2. plenty of real imagery (in this case, plenty of photographs) 3. scholarly & informative (not fluffy content just "to entertain".

If pay attention to this documentary one should come away after 2 hours...
Published 21 months ago by horoscopy

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Generally recommended.
An interesting documentary mainly covering the second Boer War between 1899 and 1902. There is a small amount of poor quality black and white movie footage, but the programme relies mainly on still photographs. With an excellent narration by Robert Powell it conveys the background to the Boer War, its various military actions together with the privations suffered by both...
Published 8 months ago by Speedygee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Documentary on The Boer War., 14 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boer War: 1899-1902 [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary is 80 minutes long (just under 1 & 1/2 hours)...and combines all the things that I like about a documentary. 1. sober & objective narration 2. plenty of real imagery (in this case, plenty of photographs) 3. scholarly & informative (not fluffy content just "to entertain".

If pay attention to this documentary one should come away after 2 hours knowing quite a lot about the Boer War..however this is the kind to watch again and again..as it is full of information that one cant completely "Download" into their brain 1st time viewing.

Highly Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great documentry., 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boer War: 1899-1902 [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was a great DVD. Everything about it was excellent,.. I was totally enthralled. Iwish more of the from the narration to the presentation.
It was as if I had been there. I wish more docs. where like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the little known wars, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Peter Clark (Folkestone, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boer War: 1899-1902 [DVD] (DVD)
For me this is a conflict that is rarely publicised. We certainly did not learn about it at school, even though we were taught about the Victorian age, culminating in WW1. It is regarded as the first modern conflict, helping to shape the strategies to be used in that later war. This DVD helps explain what happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent documentary, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boer War: 1899-1902 [DVD] (DVD)
I buy war documentary DVDs so that I gather an overview without having to do my own research. I require a level of detail between minutia and over-simplification, and I'm quite happy for the researchers to tell me what to think of the subject. In short, this DVD gives fact, summary and detail, without modern style-over-content hyperbole or bias. The documentary visual material was excellently done, and the archive footage from those earliest days of moving pictures is understandably rough and sparce, but it's still surprisingly good, and used, I felt, honestly and appropriately by the film makers. Got what I wanted, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Generally recommended., 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boer War: 1899-1902 [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting documentary mainly covering the second Boer War between 1899 and 1902. There is a small amount of poor quality black and white movie footage, but the programme relies mainly on still photographs. With an excellent narration by Robert Powell it conveys the background to the Boer War, its various military actions together with the privations suffered by both sides. Generally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic facts about the war, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boer War: 1899-1902 [DVD] (DVD)
If you require a basic understanding of the war this would be ideal, I found it lacked any real depth in the major battles that took place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boer War, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boer War: 1899-1902 [DVD] (DVD)
Very good documentary about the Boer War. Very informative, aspects from both sides. The Boer War is a conflict, which is not very well known in our times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boer War: 1899-1902 [DVD] (DVD)
Well worth the money to find out what really happened and what life was like during this time. fanstatic watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well dealt with, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boer War: 1899-1902 [DVD] (DVD)
A well constructed DVD for anyone interested in late Victorian imperialism. The Boer War was a watershed for the British Empire and I think that this work covers most of the bases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Gentleman's War', 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boer War: 1899-1902 [DVD] (DVD)
As my grandfather fought in the Boer war, I've always wondered what it was really like. I believe the program shows very clearly what each side endured. My grandfather called it a Gentleman's War. Obviously it wasn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Boer War: 1899-1902 [DVD]
8.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews