Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brass and folk at its best.
Words cannot express the beauty of this music. Unlike the previous commentator, I also live in the North East and The Unthanks with Brighouse at the Cambridge Folk Festival was one of the greatest live musical experiences of my life and from the ecstatic reaction of the audience I was not alone. Brass and folk is a terrific blend. Please, please let us have more of this.
Published 23 months ago by trevor john wilkinson

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the perfect marriage but close enough.
I've been a fan of Rachel and Becky Unthank since the days of The Winterset and have managed to catch them in concert on a couple of occasions. This diversion however, doesn't work as well as most reviewers suggest although there are some great moments on it. Unfortunately, there are some truly awful ones too such as Queen of Hearts and The Father's Suite. Last night I...
Published 23 months ago by Harvey B


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars i thank the unthanks, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the warmth of the brighouseand Rastrick brass band and the vocals of rachel and becky unthank on the opening track
King of Rome will make you cry and thats just the first track
the Queen of hearts swings like a big band with vocals by Chris Price Its a great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 1 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful mix of folk tradition and brass that inspires as well as entertains. It pulls at the heart strings and is capable of deeply touching the listener . I would love to see them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the unthanks div 2, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
extra ordinary album, very atmospheric with the brighouse & rastrick brass band, must be folk album of the year. you have to stop what your doing and listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought having read a review I found the music bland and uninspiring. I will not buy any more CDs by this combination of musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thanks for unthanksed, 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I reeally enjoyed this cd its a strange mix a brass band with a close harmony folk singers but works very well indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unthanks with Brighouse, 12 Sep 2012
I was really anticipating a sumptuous soaring sound on this recording but found some arrangements unnecessarily repetitive and at times pedestrian. An opportunity missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 76 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A travesty, 30 July 2012
I also saw these at cambridge and was sickened by the saccharinated bilge that they have made out of my Northumbrian heritage and a perfectly decent brass band. I am horrified to think that the unthanks are the highest profile purveyors of our gorgeous songs and ballads. They sing everything in the same breathy, stoned or childish tone and everything about 5 times slower than it should be and with accompaniments that lack any musicality or emotional nuance. It is bland, sentimental and an insult to generations of fine musicians who wrote, performed and carried forward a difficult but wonderful tradition. The likes of the unthanks are dumbing down our great traditions. Yes there are some fantastic young musicians and there is room for new interpretation and composition but my cat can interpret a ballad better than these.please check out bob fox, jez lowe, terry conway, carolyn robson, johnny handle, louisa killen, and many many others that may not figure large on youtube but will make your spine tingle cos they are the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews