Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheers to a Comedy Classic
Whilst words such as 'classic' and 'great' are frequently used in reviews, there are only a small number of TV shows that deserve to be given that type of status and Cheers is one of that special breed. A TV sitcom that maintained a high quality of scripts and performances throughout eleven seasons and even spawned a spin off TV show called 'Frasier' that also managed to...
Published 20 months ago by The Maven Review

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing packaging
Okay for the contents (we all know that is good), but I CANNOT recommend the packaging.
All seasons are split up in two plastic cd holders. No booklet, no nothing,
They could at least insert a booklet with info about episodes and relevant other info.
We from Holland would pay more for a premium packaging (incl dutch subtitles)

Missed opportunity...
Published 6 months ago by Spear


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheers to a Comedy Classic, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Whilst words such as 'classic' and 'great' are frequently used in reviews, there are only a small number of TV shows that deserve to be given that type of status and Cheers is one of that special breed. A TV sitcom that maintained a high quality of scripts and performances throughout eleven seasons and even spawned a spin off TV show called 'Frasier' that also managed to enter the Pantheon of comedy greats.

To be honest, whilst I'm a fan of Frasier, by its eleventh and final season, it was running out of gas...and gags. In contrast, Cheers ended it's long run on a high note. In my humble opinion, that is just one of the many indicators of the show's comedy greatness.

The eleven seasons of Cheers were originally broadcast between 1982 and 1993. Although the earlier seasons have been available on DVD for several years, it is only now, twenty years after the last episode was broadcast, that all episodes have finally been released in the UK.

If you are already a fan of the show, this review is pointless as you will wish to purchase the show regardless of what I say. If you haven't seen the show before but are considering taking a leap into the dark, trust me, you won't be disappointed.

Regardless of whoever you are, I would offer some words of advice. The eleven season DVD box set was released in November 2012. I happily purchased it from Amazon in early December for forty three pounds (Cheaper than anywhere else). This was during a short period of two or three days when the price had dropped from nearly ninety pounds. Within a few days they were out of stock and then a couple of days after that, the price was up again...this time to ninety three.

You may wish to bear that in mind before handing over your hard earned cash. If you can wait, I would suggest you hold back until the price is more realistic...around forty or less. Compare this item with an eleven season Frasier box set Frasier: the Complete Seasons 1-11 [DVD] and you will see what I mean. The price will come down. Whilst ninety three pounds is cheaper than buying each season individually, you are still paying about fifty pounds more for this box set than it will cost in a matter of weeks.

By the way, the 43 discs come in two rather clever plastic boxes that don't take up much space on a shelf. On the downside, you won't have any booklets containing episode names / details, in order to find a favourite episode etc. However, thanks to the wonders of the internet, you can Google that information in a matter of seconds.

Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast from the Past!, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant! My husband and I are quite hard of hearing, so bought this full set because of the subtitles. They started again on tv, but no subtitles to begin with. We watch 3 episodes, twice a week, to make them last. Hundreds of hours of fun and it is great to follow the complete seasons from scratch. Money well worth being spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money can buy happiness!, 9 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Simply put the finest comedy that has ever graced our screens. Without Cheers there would have been no 'friends'. It still stands up with 'Curb' 'Arrested development' and any other modern comedy, it's humour is timeless. When I was young I used to hear my dad laughing sometimes hysterically at this. He now just laughs at everything hysterically and we've had to have him sedated. Such is the power of this show. For years the box set has only been available in the US. I'm pleased to say now we can get it here in England. I was so pleased I bought two. One for me and one for my hysterically laughing sedated dad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. Sl Hole - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
It's a no thrills box set. No extras, no booklet. Just a box full of DVDs. Fortunately those DVDs contain some of the finest comedy ever written and performed. For me if you're a fan of great comedy this is indispensable. Over 100 hours of brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This boxset covers it all., 3 Feb 2013
By 
A. Macneill (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
... the very same discs are used from the individual season box sets!!! This is great as it means you also get the Special Features that come with series one, two and three that you would get if buying the seasons separately. As they are exactly the same discs, the only real difference is the design of the box it comes in.

It consists of two sturdy plastic boxes, each the equivalent size of four single DVD boxes together. The discs are organised so you can easily flick through like you would a book, in order to grab the season you want. Nice and tidy! Okay... if you want to look for a particular episode then there is no main episode guide for this. However, seasons 4-11 display the episodes titles on the discs themselves. Happy to report that getting and putting back discs is not fiddly, flimsy or difficult which can be a downfall for any box set.

Well designed. It gets my recommendation!

(FYI: I paid 44.69 on 20/01/2013)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Great box set for a great comedy show. I loved reliving this great show. I had forgotten how good it was. My kids are now loving it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great laugh!, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
One of the funniest series recorded - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheers for cheers !!, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
A must for anyone that enjoyed this series when first aired. The humour is brilliant. Brought back many memories .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CHEERS, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
This box set is great value for anyone who loved Cheers. Bar room fun with a great cast of characters, LOVE IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... have not watched them all yet but so far WONDERFUL perfect images on screen, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
I have not watched them all yet but so far WONDERFUL perfect images on screen, much better than the TV series now being shown on channel four. A must have get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cheers -  The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982]
49.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews