Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheers to a Comedy Classic
Whilst words such as 'classic' and 'great' are frequently used in reviews, there are only a small number of TV shows that deserve to be given that type of status and Cheers is one of that special breed. A TV sitcom that maintained a high quality of scripts and performances throughout eleven seasons and even spawned a spin off TV show called 'Frasier' that also managed to...
Published on 7 Dec 2012 by The Maven Review

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing packaging
Okay for the contents (we all know that is good), but I CANNOT recommend the packaging.
All seasons are split up in two plastic cd holders. No booklet, no nothing,
They could at least insert a booklet with info about episodes and relevant other info.
We from Holland would pay more for a premium packaging (incl dutch subtitles)

Missed opportunity...
Published 10 months ago by Spear


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheers to a Comedy Classic, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Whilst words such as 'classic' and 'great' are frequently used in reviews, there are only a small number of TV shows that deserve to be given that type of status and Cheers is one of that special breed. A TV sitcom that maintained a high quality of scripts and performances throughout eleven seasons and even spawned a spin off TV show called 'Frasier' that also managed to enter the Pantheon of comedy greats.

To be honest, whilst I'm a fan of Frasier, by its eleventh and final season, it was running out of gas...and gags. In contrast, Cheers ended it's long run on a high note. In my humble opinion, that is just one of the many indicators of the show's comedy greatness.

The eleven seasons of Cheers were originally broadcast between 1982 and 1993. Although the earlier seasons have been available on DVD for several years, it is only now, twenty years after the last episode was broadcast, that all episodes have finally been released in the UK.

If you are already a fan of the show, this review is pointless as you will wish to purchase the show regardless of what I say. If you haven't seen the show before but are considering taking a leap into the dark, trust me, you won't be disappointed.

Regardless of whoever you are, I would offer some words of advice. The eleven season DVD box set was released in November 2012. I happily purchased it from Amazon in early December for forty three pounds (Cheaper than anywhere else). This was during a short period of two or three days when the price had dropped from nearly ninety pounds. Within a few days they were out of stock and then a couple of days after that, the price was up again...this time to ninety three.

You may wish to bear that in mind before handing over your hard earned cash. If you can wait, I would suggest you hold back until the price is more realistic...around forty or less. Compare this item with an eleven season Frasier box set Frasier: the Complete Seasons 1-11 [DVD] and you will see what I mean. The price will come down. Whilst ninety three pounds is cheaper than buying each season individually, you are still paying about fifty pounds more for this box set than it will cost in a matter of weeks.

By the way, the 43 discs come in two rather clever plastic boxes that don't take up much space on a shelf. On the downside, you won't have any booklets containing episode names / details, in order to find a favourite episode etc. However, thanks to the wonders of the internet, you can Google that information in a matter of seconds.

Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast from the Past!, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Absolutely brilliant! My husband and I are quite hard of hearing, so bought this full set because of the subtitles. They started again on tv, but no subtitles to begin with. We watch 3 episodes, twice a week, to make them last. Hundreds of hours of fun and it is great to follow the complete seasons from scratch. Money well worth being spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money can buy happiness!, 9 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Simply put the finest comedy that has ever graced our screens. Without Cheers there would have been no 'friends'. It still stands up with 'Curb' 'Arrested development' and any other modern comedy, it's humour is timeless. When I was young I used to hear my dad laughing sometimes hysterically at this. He now just laughs at everything hysterically and we've had to have him sedated. Such is the power of this show. For years the box set has only been available in the US. I'm pleased to say now we can get it here in England. I was so pleased I bought two. One for me and one for my hysterically laughing sedated dad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. Sl Hole - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
It's a no thrills box set. No extras, no booklet. Just a box full of DVDs. Fortunately those DVDs contain some of the finest comedy ever written and performed. For me if you're a fan of great comedy this is indispensable. Over 100 hours of brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheers, just as its name suggests, is just the thing to bring a smile to your face, 9 Dec 2014
By 
C. Willis (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Cheers is one of those shows which probably doesn't require explanation: popular in its initial run, it has been a regularly-encountered treat in syndication for years. To have all the episodes in one box set, though, allows one to truly become immersed in the daily lives of these (largely) lovable characters, and watching them develop (well, some of them) over the years is one of the primary attractions for the viewer. Encompassing both wacky misadventures and emotional tumults, Cheers is a show that's easy to love, centred on the good-hearted but eminently fallible Sam Malone, a former baseball player whose descent into alcoholism counterintuitively ended in his ownership of the eponymous bar. Whilst fans generally have a preference as to 'era'- Diane or Rebecca- both Shelley Long and Kirstie Alley have their own comedic attributes which add a great deal to the series. Not to be forgotten is the first appearance of Kelsey Grammer as Diane's one-time fiance, Dr Frasier Crane, a character Grammer would play for twenty years. He naturally adds a fresh hilarity to proceedings, and it's easy to see why he of all the characters on the show was earmarked for his own series. All in all, a show that I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cheers!!, 4 Jun 2003
By 
MR J A DERBYSHIRE (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I've been a 'Cheers' fan for absolutley ages. I never realised that they had brought these videos out until about a month ago and i have already bought all of them!!
Anyway, although this is the first season(which are never the best), its still fantastic fun to watch. The episodes they've chosen to put on the video are probably the best ones, but it would've been nice to show the episode when the coach gets introduced, instead of showing an episode when hes already been in the series for about five episodes. But apart from that, its great fun, it really develops the characters, sam, norm,etc,etc, and you really start to feel a kindship towards them. Although the other 5 volumes are better, this is still a great video to own, and an absolute must for any 'Cheers' fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
Great box set for a great comedy show. I loved reliving this great show. I had forgotten how good it was. My kids are now loving it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Sitcom, 15 Mar 2013
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
One of the best sitcoms of all time. Brilliant writing and brilliant performances. It really made me remember how much I looked forward to Friday evenings in the 80's. And it's stood the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this any more, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
This box set should come with a health warning, I have only watched the first disc and my sides are aching from laughing. What a joy to own, I am looking forward to hours and hours of enjoyment. My dilemma, which of my children will I leave it to in my will. Entertainment and comedy of the highest order, not a weak performance by any of the cast. Superb writing and timing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This boxset covers it all., 3 Feb 2013
By 
A. Macneill (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cheers - The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982] (DVD)
... the very same discs are used from the individual season box sets!!! This is great as it means you also get the Special Features that come with series one, two and three that you would get if buying the seasons separately. As they are exactly the same discs, the only real difference is the design of the box it comes in.

It consists of two sturdy plastic boxes, each the equivalent size of four single DVD boxes together. The discs are organised so you can easily flick through like you would a book, in order to grab the season you want. Nice and tidy! Okay... if you want to look for a particular episode then there is no main episode guide for this. However, seasons 4-11 display the episodes titles on the discs themselves. Happy to report that getting and putting back discs is not fiddly, flimsy or difficult which can be a downfall for any box set.

Well designed. It gets my recommendation!

(FYI: I paid £44.69 on 20/01/2013)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cheers -  The Complete Seasons Box Set [DVD] [1982]
£49.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews