Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The later Silver trimmed ones are MUCH better.
NOTE: YOU CANNOT SET THIS UP WITH A PC! You must use either an Android or IOS device (via a free App) to set this up, and you may need to turn your WiFi off or get a little further away from it to do the initial set-up before turning it back on to register the unit. The newer silver trimmed units are less sensitive to this issue.

Picture quality is either...
Published 15 months ago by Gryphon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay not brilliant
this is a great idea that went all wrong in so many aspects

Pros: you can watch wirelessly when available. speaking through is pretty smart and playing lullabuys, can have on more than one device at a time,great temperature gauge.

Cons: constant disconnecting, can only setup from a device not pc, instructions are poor i found out how to setup through...
Published 1 month ago by ryan knott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The later Silver trimmed ones are MUCH better., 14 May 2013
By 
Gryphon (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola Blink1 WiFi Remote Access Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
NOTE: YOU CANNOT SET THIS UP WITH A PC! You must use either an Android or IOS device (via a free App) to set this up, and you may need to turn your WiFi off or get a little further away from it to do the initial set-up before turning it back on to register the unit. The newer silver trimmed units are less sensitive to this issue.

Picture quality is either 320x240 or 640x480 which although common for older webcams is now poor for this price point. Low light level image quality has improved with the latest (silver) version, but early (grey) ones are dreadful. Access via the web is through a server which was in the Far East and access was sometimes difficult (capacity issues?) but when it works it's just fine. If you have port forwarding on then that can stop external video streaming despite the manufacturers assurances that the unit can dynamically assign ports as long it is connected to a UPNP router (mine is and doesn't work over the web). The manufacturer will not release any port information so getting around this is not possible.

All in all it's a good bit of kit. You can have up to four cameras running and if you give Grandparents etc the passwords etc they can see your little one too. Just remember the camera works day & night, so watch where you position it! It records sound, takes (poor) inages, allows two way comms, plays lullabies from an on board list and shows temp on screen. There is a noticeable delay between live sound and it coming from the app.

Mar 2014 Update: there now definitely seem to be two versions of this camera on the market, but telling which one you are being offered is difficult. When it turns up you will find the versions are very easy to identify. Early units (with very poor visual performance) have white cases with a Gunmetal Grey trim. The latest version with MUCH better optical performance is white with Silver trim. The difference is marked as the image is very much clearer both day and night. We can now see exactly what our little one is doing with no trouble at all. They come in the same box with the same numbers on the outside, but the later one is the one to have. You might be advised to ask the seller what colour the painted trim is. I have had both versions and the gunmetal grey version from early 2013 has now been retired as the resolution is so poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay not brilliant, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Motorola Blink1 WiFi Remote Access Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
this is a great idea that went all wrong in so many aspects

Pros: you can watch wirelessly when available. speaking through is pretty smart and playing lullabuys, can have on more than one device at a time,great temperature gauge.

Cons: constant disconnecting, can only setup from a device not pc, instructions are poor i found out how to setup through a blog site,picture is really poor quality when boasting of quality in dark/light.

all round if the price was lower i would of expected these problems but from the price and manufacturers with such a big name you would've expected a better quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could do better, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola Blink1 WiFi Remote Access Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
So, I've had three of these now with varying issues. The last one was ok until I moved it from the changing table on top of the cot to a shelf about 1 meter from the baby. The image quality was so poor we couldn't see him. We have ended up buying a fosbaby with is hd and therefore has a much better image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uses a lot of bandwidth, 2 Jun 2014
This review is from: Motorola Blink1 WiFi Remote Access Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
We used the camera for six months now. It is ok by itself, but the problem is the "monitor everywhere" feature. For all I can tell, the camera constantly streams to the external monitoreverywhere.com site, regardless of whether you are actually looking at it or not.
In our case, we have a Sky broadband and as a result our network is practically dead as long as the camera is on.
Since we never really use the monitoreverywhere feature it is therefore pretty annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola Blink1 WiFi Remote Access Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
Unbelievable product , great for me as I work away a lot and get to see baby while I'm away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant gadget, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola Blink1 WiFi Remote Access Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
This camera is brilliant idea for peace of mind we can access the camera online from anywhere. My mum is daft on my sons and goes on every bedtime with our password to see them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola Blink1 WiFi Remote Access Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
As I work away from home I wanted something to be able see our little one. This camera is really good and the security around accessing it across the internet (from my smartphone) is very good. Night vision is really good. Works best when you use wifi when its available but still a good picture via 3g (but slower refresh rates).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for the job, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola Blink1 WiFi Remote Access Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
It works well and the picture quality is good.
Recommend for baby's with mobility that don't sleep on the same room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Robert Wilson "Rob W" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorola Blink1 WiFi Remote Access Digital Video Baby Monitor (Baby Product)
we really liked the idea of this but we have found a few issues. It can fall off the wireless network quite easily, make sure your network is secure including changing the default wireless password. we found it hard to place to monitor our daughter and the night/IR vision seems flaky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good design, but the execution leaves a little to be desired., 8 Mar 2013
By 
Gryphon (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
UPDATED 13 May 2013

On the face of it this is the way of the future. Baby Monitors that run over existing WiFi is such an obvious next step. This device is getting better all the time - although the picture quality needs to come up further - and has improved in capability and security in the last few weeks..

This camera seems to have a large amount of involvement from Binatone and there are both good and bad bits. Generally though it is a small neat package and does what it says on the tin, but no more than that.

The Good: Neat package; easy to locate; 640*480 resolution, Wifi 802.11b/g/n capability, two way sound and controllable from PC or tablet/smart-phone of both Android and IOS device pools, ability to remotely view (with passwords of course). But see not about setting up below.

The Not So Good: Max resolution is only 640*480 (that's poor in this day and age and at this price point), night vision quality, slow response times to commands, sensitivity to other wireless devices when setting up. Remote server in Hong Kong often 'busy' which prevents remote monitoring at times.

The Bad: Poor instructions, no warnings when setting up with complex passwords (few of the special characters are OK (&@%*), difficult to set-up in a WiFi environment. NOTE: Adding cameras can only be done by a Tablet/Smart-phone and not a PC. At £100 a pop this is currently too expensive for what it offers.

Update: Wireless security has just been updated with an over the air patch to WPA only. No more WEP/WAP. WPA/WPA2 networks will no longer have to compromise at least part of their security to use this hardware. The password security bit is important as if (like many) you follow current conventional wisdom to use alphanumeric and special characters in your user-name and passwords then the set up will fail, but it won't tell you it's the password that is causing the issue. I had a number of calls with the manufacturer's support desk in the UK before between us we worked out what was wrong - and it's not mentioned anywhere in the set-up or instructions.

To get the WiFi to set up properly I had to turn off my wireless side of my router to do the initial set-up (which MUST be done via an IOS/Android device) and then turn it all on again to complete the set-up on a PC.

This is undoubtedly a good idea with a bright future in maybe two more generations and other manufacturers are already using better security measures on their latest releases. At present this is an average performing device with great potential, and the ability to have up to four cameras running together. It's also great to allow your remote family to see your new baby - but remember it's available all the time to anyone with a password and user-name in your family!! Beware what they can see ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews