Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Coming Apocalypse?
I was privileged to receive an advance copy of "The Last Israelis" and it was every bit as engaging as promised. When the Israeli Prime Minister awakens to receive intelligence that a nuclear Iran is only days away, he is left with a choice - what to do to safeguard his small nation when a Muslim nation that has vowed to destroy Israel can carry out the threat with just a...
Published on 14 July 2012 by Ctwink

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The last Israelis in a submarine.
Didn't enjoy this as much as I thought I would. I found the interplay of characters unbelievable, the HR people need to sharpen up their selection policies!
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Richard A. Dixon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Coming Apocalypse?, 14 July 2012
By 
This review is from: The Last Israelis - an Apocalyptic, Military Thriller about an Israeli Submarine and a Nuclear Iran (Kindle Edition)
I was privileged to receive an advance copy of "The Last Israelis" and it was every bit as engaging as promised. When the Israeli Prime Minister awakens to receive intelligence that a nuclear Iran is only days away, he is left with a choice - what to do to safeguard his small nation when a Muslim nation that has vowed to destroy Israel can carry out the threat with just a push of a button. As the world's powers are sidelined by bickering and backroom deals, it appears that Israel is, as usual, alone.

Accentuating Israel's cultural history, which through immigration is much the same as the US' own "melting pot", the crew of the nuclear submarine Dolphin nevertheless share a love for their country (adopted or not) that is stronger than their differences. However, even family disagrees. Faced with the continual "first-strike" threats of Iran's leadership, will the crew of the Dolphin be able to come together to perform the ultimate "second-strike" duties should the unthinkable happen?

One part "Crimson Tide" and another part "Twelve Angry Men", the final third of the book is some of the fastest paced and most gripping literature I have ever read and I would hold it up against the writing of even the most established writers of political/military thrillers. Life on a claustrophic submarine is tough enough during peace time, but life on the Dolphin is made all the more tense when thoughts of family and old psychological scars rear their heads to mix with the stress of real-world ops.

At a time, when Israel's very existence is being threatened by the impending doom of a their belligerent Muslim neighbors, this book is not only hard hitting, but topical. Will the US come to the rescue of Israel or will they be forced to "go it alone" as has repeatedly happened throughout their history because of the rest of the world's entanglements with the oil-rich Middle East. A must read for everyone who loves this nation - no matter where they live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is soooo realistic!!, 1 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Last Israelis - an Apocalyptic, Military Thriller about an Israeli Submarine and a Nuclear Iran (Kindle Edition)
The book amazing, I couldn't put it down! It was frightening to think that so many of the things in the book could come true so easily and so soon. I never even thought of the possibility that Iran can just buy nukes from Pakistan, I wouldn't be surprised if they do! I also really liked how the author portrayed Israeli society. So many people forget that 20% of Israeli citizens are Arab and the importance he places on that portion of the society is highly realistic and it is so great that he shows ARabs who are loyal to the State of Israel! Fantastic read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Current "history.", 24 July 2012
By 
This review is from: The Last Israelis - an Apocalyptic, Military Thriller about an Israeli Submarine and a Nuclear Iran (Kindle Edition)
This Work of historical fiction is happening now. You will discover what is proceeding currently in the Middle East.

The first 20% of the book is foundational. You will get to know the characters. The strategy, tactics, and submarine operation that follow are fascinating.

This is a well-produced book. It has a great cover and the text is flawless. The book is well written and well edited.

This book will appeal to anyone interested in the Middle East, Israel, and/or naval warfare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Read, 7 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: The Last Israelis - an Apocalyptic, Military Thriller about an Israeli Submarine and a Nuclear Iran (Kindle Edition)
The Last Israelis shows the threat of Iran to global security. Israel must fight against all odds for the sake of her very existence and "the last Israelis" of the novel indirectly raise the question: when has a country truly survived and when has it been destroyed? This is a fascinating read that uniquely combines geo-politics, war, psychology, and culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It could easily happen, 23 July 2012
By 
Amateur curmudgeon "kaleun76" (Lakewood, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Israelis - an Apocalyptic, Military Thriller about an Israeli Submarine and a Nuclear Iran (Kindle Edition)
It could easily happen.

What if your country was about to be attacked, possibly annihilated, what if you held your nation's last means of defense, its final means of retaliation, and what if you are isolated, cut off, with no way to confirm the orders that you are given, and even those orders are confusing and contradictory.

This premise was made into a movie, Crimson Tide, with Gene Hackman and Denzel Washington. There is just one major difference: You country is too small to survive a concerted nuclear, chemical and conventional attack.

In fact, there is no country left for you to defend.

What then?

This is an amazing thriller that doesn't fit neatly into categories. It could be a techno-thriller but it does not have the emphasis on weapons systems that characterizes the genre. It is also a drama, with a deep philosophical undertone, and deep political meaning inside, all of it wrapped around a riveting story that will keep you turning pages, either paper or electronic ones.

I cannot wait for more books by Mr. Beck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great timely book, must read for every concerned citizen, 19 July 2012
This review is from: The Last Israelis - an Apocalyptic, Military Thriller about an Israeli Submarine and a Nuclear Iran (Kindle Edition)
This book is a great read for political and news junkies like me who follow geopolitical issues and enjoy a page-turning drama. The first third of the novel gives readers a close look at the men who will ultimately be called on to make the toughest decisions of their lives. It all seemed very realistic to me, and I can only imagine how such a scenario could play out in the disturbing reality that is today's Middle East...

I loved how the beginning and the ending tied together so well and in such an unpredictable way...The book kept me guessing about how all of the suspense was going to climax...The language is also fairly sophisticated -- extremely well written with advanced vocabulary but still very readable.

Overall, a highly recommended book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Account, 16 July 2012
This review is from: The Last Israelis - an Apocalyptic, Military Thriller about an Israeli Submarine and a Nuclear Iran (Kindle Edition)
Let's see. How do you talk about a story like this without spoiling the plot. It's not easy.

This book was amazing. I am an American and a Gentile (Christian). I'm ashamed to admit that my knowledge of modern day Israel is very limited. After our post-9/11 military presence in the Mideast, hopefully most Americans have become much more informed about the region. I certainly try to keep informed, but I'm the first to admit that there are still big gaps in my understanding of the region and all of the players involved.

This book was very enlightening for me. I've been following the developments as Iran continues to build their nuclear arms program. Frankly I've been tensed every day, expecting Iran to move against Israel or Israel to preemptively strike Iran. As much as I hope neither of these outcomes occurs, it feels like that's that track we're on and one of these possible outcomes becomes more inevitable every day.

This story does an amazing job of exploring this precise situation. The characters in this story discuss the background of the problem and argue the pros and cons of Israel's possible options. All of these points are wrapped within a work of fiction. The story plays out as well as any Tom Clancy novel. As an avid Clancy reader, I couldn't put down Noah Beck's story, except that it felt much more real and therefore much sadder than Clancy's novels.

Whatever your opinion of Israel and whatever your current level of understanding, I highly recommend this book. The subject is timely and relevant. As Iran moves closer to becoming a nuclear armed state, we owe it to ourselves to personally consider this subject and evaluate our own positions vis-a-vis our longtime ally. In Beck's story, America behaved badly. Hopefully we will display more honor in real life.

I was provided this book for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book that is Very Hard to Put Down!, 14 July 2012
By 
L. Coleman "Geek Girl" (Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Israelis - an Apocalyptic, Military Thriller about an Israeli Submarine and a Nuclear Iran (Kindle Edition)
Let me start off by saying that if you're a fan of Joel Rosenberg's books like me then you'll really enjoy this book! I literally had a hard time putting this book down even while reading it sick. Mr. Beck writes about a scenario that can soon become all too real if something is not done about Iran's nuclear program. I don't want to go into too much detail about the story because I don't want to give anything away! You can definitely tell that the author did his research. The characters weren't cookie board cutouts and they also had a lot of depth to them. The details about submarine life and it's crew were realistic and believable. These men were humble, brave and true leaders. I actually cared about these characters. I hope that the United States president, and the members of Congress and the Senate read this book! It's a huge eye opener. The novel wasn't boring and the pacing was on point. I also didn't encounter any editing issues. There are 39 chapters including an epilogue. The novel is separated into three parts so it is not a quick read but once you pick it up and get going, you'll find yourself struggling to put it back down!

If you like reading excellent thrillers with realistic plots and characters then I highly recommend reading this book. I truly enjoyed it and hope that you will too. I'm looking forward to reading more from this author in the future!

L. Coleman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read Psychological Thriller!, 14 July 2012
By 
Nelly (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Israelis - an Apocalyptic, Military Thriller about an Israeli Submarine and a Nuclear Iran (Kindle Edition)
The Last Israelis is one of those provocative and haunting books that stays with you long after you're done reading it. There was something really powerful about the way it all came together. I loved the role of dreams in the story -- they were incredibly vivid and disturbingly surreal.

I'm not really into military fiction -- I tend to read psychological thrillers books. But there was so much psychological complexity -- from the way the characters interact with each other and with their own past/memories -- that it made for a fascinating read. I also really enjoyed the way different layers of a character's personality or personal story were revealed as the story progressed. I have a feeling I'm going to read the book again, because it's the type of novel where you learn more about the story, the characters, and the structure each time you pick it up again. I strongly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book of the Year, !, 14 July 2012
This review is from: The Last Israelis - an Apocalyptic, Military Thriller about an Israeli Submarine and a Nuclear Iran (Kindle Edition)
Read thru the first page, and you wont put the book down till the last page. It's a thriller like no other as it resembles the actual situation in the world, and that of which Israel is facing today. The descriptions, the reference to historical facts, the dialogues, the characters chosen, you feel like you're there or in a movie.
Highly Highly recommend.
R.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews